Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5053 (C Crawford Jacket, Top, Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2054 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/07 8:18 PM
Last Updated:11/12/07 8:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very helpful & funny review, Debbie!! With 4 Stars & you're still having fits with the fitting, I'd stay away. SOUNDS like a "this pattern didn't work for me but I like trying new things" category...
11/12/07 8:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Well, at least it kept you entertained. ;D It kept me entertained as well. Thanks for trying it out for us.
11/12/07 8:39 PM
Patti B said...
Debbie, Connie C was just the host on Creative Machine list and said that Butterick left out the slanted pocket and other details. Apparently, they won't do that again. At least you didn't waste any 'good' fabric on it!
11/12/07 9:13 PM
PVA said...
Debbie, thank you for another great review! You make me want to try this pattern, even with its drawbacks! Hmmmm. . . .
11/12/07 10:33 PM
BjP said...
Thanks for a very thorough and entertaining review! There was tons of good info in this!
11/12/07 11:01 PM
zeoplum said...
Debbie, I'm so glad you're here on PR. :-)
11/12/07 11:33 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ooh, very helpful ... especially as my rear view wrinkles look remarkably similar to yours prior to your wedge adjustments. I'd feel really ripped off to find that the larger size patterns don't have the options that the smaller sizes have.
11/13/07 2:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have been waiting for this review ever since I saw on your blog that you were trying this out. I may try this one at some point as I do not have a tnt pants pattern. I liked the concept of these with the fly and the elastic as that is a comfy type pant for plus folks. Thanks for sharing all your knowledge with those of us that can sew but know little about fit for the plus sizes.
11/13/07 8:12 AM
moss said...
What a good review! Very informative and thorough, everything a review should be!
11/13/07 8:32 AM
cecelia said...
I'd be thrilled to get my pants to fit as good as this. Thanks for the tips and things to look out for with this pattern and also for offering so much info on your blog.
11/13/07 10:08 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you!
11/13/07 10:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Love the review, Debbie. Lots of chuckles. I say, stick with your TNT pattern. Who needs the headaches this one presented, right?
11/13/07 10:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, I got a kick out of your review, too, and this one was devilishly better than usual. To echo zeoplum, I'm sure glad you're still having a ball and sharing your fun with us.
11/13/07 11:30 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the very funny and informative review. That sure is one weird back.
11/13/07 11:55 AM
Annette1 said...
Your pants look very nice, as do all of your pants I've ever seen you sew. :o) As for your "rant," I feel refreshed just reading it! I couldn't agree more, on all points!
11/13/07 12:13 PM
marycds said...
I have not been happy with the 3 Crawford patterns I've tried (ordered from the website, not Butterick). I just don't see how any pattern without a bust dart of some sort can fitt a plus sized figure. She claims some special way of drafting the bodice but it didn't work for me. So disappointing.
11/13/07 1:47 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very helpful review Debbie - thank you for taking the time to post it!
11/13/07 4:16 PM
Nancy K said...
If you watch What not to Wear, the tapered pant is 'what not to wear' Especially if you are hippy or plus sized. This reminds me of the Project Runway episode where no one could design anything more than a tent for the plus sized women. Bulky, blocky designs are not flattering to anyone.
11/13/07 10:34 PM
4u2cme said...
Thanks for the detailed review on the pants.
11/3/10 10:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8489 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by heatherose... on 7/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )
Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5679 Misses' Top
photo
Review by valerie se... on 6/18/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us