SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5053 (C Crawford Jacket, Top, Pants)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2062 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/07 8:18 PM
Last Updated:11/12/07 8:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
Thanks for the detailed review on the pants.
11/3/10 10:01 AM
Nancy K said...
If you watch What not to Wear, the tapered pant is 'what not to wear' Especially if you are hippy or plus sized. This reminds me of the Project Runway episode where no one could design anything more than a tent for the plus sized women. Bulky, blocky designs are not flattering to anyone.
11/13/07 10:34 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very helpful review Debbie - thank you for taking the time to post it!
11/13/07 4:16 PM
marycds said...
I have not been happy with the 3 Crawford patterns I've tried (ordered from the website, not Butterick). I just don't see how any pattern without a bust dart of some sort can fitt a plus sized figure. She claims some special way of drafting the bodice but it didn't work for me. So disappointing.
11/13/07 1:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Your pants look very nice, as do all of your pants I've ever seen you sew. :o) As for your "rant," I feel refreshed just reading it! I couldn't agree more, on all points!
11/13/07 12:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the very funny and informative review. That sure is one weird back.
11/13/07 11:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, I got a kick out of your review, too, and this one was devilishly better than usual. To echo zeoplum, I'm sure glad you're still having a ball and sharing your fun with us.
11/13/07 11:30 AM
OP Gal said...
Love the review, Debbie. Lots of chuckles. I say, stick with your TNT pattern. Who needs the headaches this one presented, right?
11/13/07 10:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you!
11/13/07 10:32 AM
cecelia said...
I'd be thrilled to get my pants to fit as good as this. Thanks for the tips and things to look out for with this pattern and also for offering so much info on your blog.
11/13/07 10:08 AM
moss said...
What a good review! Very informative and thorough, everything a review should be!
11/13/07 8:32 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have been waiting for this review ever since I saw on your blog that you were trying this out. I may try this one at some point as I do not have a tnt pants pattern. I liked the concept of these with the fly and the elastic as that is a comfy type pant for plus folks. Thanks for sharing all your knowledge with those of us that can sew but know little about fit for the plus sizes.
11/13/07 8:12 AM
KiwiWendy said...
ooh, very helpful ... especially as my rear view wrinkles look remarkably similar to yours prior to your wedge adjustments. I'd feel really ripped off to find that the larger size patterns don't have the options that the smaller sizes have.
11/13/07 2:18 AM
zeoplum said...
Debbie, I'm so glad you're here on PR. :-)
11/12/07 11:33 PM
BjP said...
Thanks for a very thorough and entertaining review! There was tons of good info in this!
11/12/07 11:01 PM
PVA said...
Debbie, thank you for another great review! You make me want to try this pattern, even with its drawbacks! Hmmmm. . . .
11/12/07 10:33 PM
Patti B said...
Debbie, Connie C was just the host on Creative Machine list and said that Butterick left out the slanted pocket and other details. Apparently, they won't do that again. At least you didn't waste any 'good' fabric on it!
11/12/07 9:13 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Well, at least it kept you entertained. ;D It kept me entertained as well. Thanks for trying it out for us.
11/12/07 8:39 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very helpful & funny review, Debbie!! With 4 Stars & you're still having fits with the fitting, I'd stay away. SOUNDS like a "this pattern didn't work for me but I like trying new things" category...
11/12/07 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Simplicity 2648

photo
by: AST

Review
Lutterloh 1950s Lutterloh

photo
by: JetSetSewi...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

More Info