SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5053 (C Crawford Jacket, Top, Pants)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2058 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/07 8:18 PM
Last Updated:11/12/07 8:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very helpful & funny review, Debbie!! With 4 Stars & you're still having fits with the fitting, I'd stay away. SOUNDS like a "this pattern didn't work for me but I like trying new things" category...
11/12/07 8:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Well, at least it kept you entertained. ;D It kept me entertained as well. Thanks for trying it out for us.
11/12/07 8:39 PM
Patti B said...
Debbie, Connie C was just the host on Creative Machine list and said that Butterick left out the slanted pocket and other details. Apparently, they won't do that again. At least you didn't waste any 'good' fabric on it!
11/12/07 9:13 PM
PVA said...
Debbie, thank you for another great review! You make me want to try this pattern, even with its drawbacks! Hmmmm. . . .
11/12/07 10:33 PM
BjP said...
Thanks for a very thorough and entertaining review! There was tons of good info in this!
11/12/07 11:01 PM
zeoplum said...
Debbie, I'm so glad you're here on PR. :-)
11/12/07 11:33 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ooh, very helpful ... especially as my rear view wrinkles look remarkably similar to yours prior to your wedge adjustments. I'd feel really ripped off to find that the larger size patterns don't have the options that the smaller sizes have.
11/13/07 2:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have been waiting for this review ever since I saw on your blog that you were trying this out. I may try this one at some point as I do not have a tnt pants pattern. I liked the concept of these with the fly and the elastic as that is a comfy type pant for plus folks. Thanks for sharing all your knowledge with those of us that can sew but know little about fit for the plus sizes.
11/13/07 8:12 AM
moss said...
What a good review! Very informative and thorough, everything a review should be!
11/13/07 8:32 AM
cecelia said...
I'd be thrilled to get my pants to fit as good as this. Thanks for the tips and things to look out for with this pattern and also for offering so much info on your blog.
11/13/07 10:08 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you!
11/13/07 10:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Love the review, Debbie. Lots of chuckles. I say, stick with your TNT pattern. Who needs the headaches this one presented, right?
11/13/07 10:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, I got a kick out of your review, too, and this one was devilishly better than usual. To echo zeoplum, I'm sure glad you're still having a ball and sharing your fun with us.
11/13/07 11:30 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the very funny and informative review. That sure is one weird back.
11/13/07 11:55 AM
Annette1 said...
Your pants look very nice, as do all of your pants I've ever seen you sew. :o) As for your "rant," I feel refreshed just reading it! I couldn't agree more, on all points!
11/13/07 12:13 PM
marycds said...
I have not been happy with the 3 Crawford patterns I've tried (ordered from the website, not Butterick). I just don't see how any pattern without a bust dart of some sort can fitt a plus sized figure. She claims some special way of drafting the bodice but it didn't work for me. So disappointing.
11/13/07 1:47 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very helpful review Debbie - thank you for taking the time to post it!
11/13/07 4:16 PM
Nancy K said...
If you watch What not to Wear, the tapered pant is 'what not to wear' Especially if you are hippy or plus sized. This reminds me of the Project Runway episode where no one could design anything more than a tent for the plus sized women. Bulky, blocky designs are not flattering to anyone.
11/13/07 10:34 PM
4u2cme said...
Thanks for the detailed review on the pants.
11/3/10 10:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now