Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5384 (Easy McCall's) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 873 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/07 11:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Congratulations for sticking with this through so many muslins! It is a pretty top, and deceptively simple in the way it looks made up. The adjustments are not so simple. I'm glad you plan to wear the top because it does look very nice on you.
11/22/07 11:35 PM
Donna H said...
Wow, great job on your blouse. I love the fabric, too. Way to stick with it!!! :)
11/23/07 1:45 AM
Trinity. said...
I think it looks very pretty on you, and I love the eyelet!
11/23/07 1:46 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely blouse, worth your perseverance. I would have given up after two muslins!
11/23/07 2:12 AM
ITAdmin said...
I'd call it a success, very pretty in that fabric.
11/23/07 6:23 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Don't worry about the way it comes over your tummy like that it really is a nice top, as a matter of fact I was on Bravo.com looking at the project runway stuff last night, and they have an online contest , you have to send in a picture by the 28th of every month and the winner will receive a larger chocolate bar and a dvd of previous seasons I know it's not a big prize but how many people can say they won an on line contest with project runway, and your top could win,anyway u should ck it out. Debbie
11/23/07 6:42 AM
Peggy L said...
Cute top - you really worked with this pattern to your advantage.
11/23/07 8:21 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You ended up with great results! You look very nice!
11/23/07 9:14 AM
carolynw said...
You deserve a "star" for sticking with this and you can now rest on your laurels as it looks really nice.
11/23/07 9:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Great job. Good for you for sticking with it and getting it to fit. I've been sewing for years, but feel I'm a beginner at fitting. You're starting out on the right foot by concentrating on fitting. Keep up the good work!
11/23/07 9:57 AM
mastdenman said...
Cute. I have this pattern and have been thinking about making it up.
11/23/07 10:18 AM
Mufffet said...
After all that effort you have a really pretty top! I love your fabric! It is so soft and pretty! Congratulations on a job well done. :)
11/23/07 1:17 PM
Leora said...
You really put the work into creating this great top. Very pretty!!
11/23/07 4:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful job! Being meticulous has its rewards (not that I would know...) :)
11/23/07 5:13 PM
Annette1 said...
I was sitting here with my hair up in a towel reading your review, looking at all your pictures and going to the thread you linked, when I finally decided I'd better go comb out my hair. Then I was thinking so hard about all the alterations you've made, etc., I pulled my DEODERANT out of the medicine cabinet instead of the MOUSSE, and stood there in a stuper, wondering what I was supposed to be doing with that deoderant. :o) With that in mind, you may not want to listen to anything I have to say at all -- ha! At any rate, YES, this most certainly IS a success, and I certainly do admire your perseverence. "I made all three before I got it right." :o)) As for your comment about it "poking out" too much when it hangs naturally, I would guess that's a combination of the fabric having some degree of crispness to it and that perhaps the gathers are a little bit too close to the bustline. IF you ever decided to make this top again, you might try making that top piece slightly longer in the front to alleviate that. You could just free-hand draw it so that by the time you got to the center front, your top piece was about an inch or inch and a half longer than it currently is. That should lower the elastic slightly (if I'm envisioning the pattern pieces right). I know, I know, who asked me anyway? I think this top looks great on you just the way it is anyway! It's not nearly as easy as one would think to make these extremely loose-fitting tops look flattering. I know I've caught myself a couple times making so many alterations that I was practically making a different thing altogether, so I finally had to ask myself, well then, why DON'T you just MAKE something else altogether and forget it? :o) (A pair of pants, most recently, comes to mind.) Your stick-to-it-iveness has certainly paid off on this one. I love your fabric, and you've managed to actually build some shape into what would have otherwise (in the XXL and XL sizes) just been an overabundance of fabric. Bravo!
11/24/07 1:00 AM
Annette1 said...
Geez ... how embarrassing. Look how LONG my comment (above) was! Sorry about that. :o)
11/24/07 1:01 AM
meanjean said...
I bought this pattern but haven't tried it yet. Thanks for a very thorough review. Your end result is very, very pretty. By the way, no one but you will notice if it pokes out in front, so wear it with confidence. Those of us who spend a lot of time fitting (me! me!) are our own worst critics sometimes (me! me!). :-)
11/25/07 8:44 AM
Cody7 said...
I think the end result is very pretty. The fabric you chose is perfect for this type of top. I have just finished making it myself and encountered the same problems you did. I wish I had read your review first!
12/25/07 5:19 PM
Wilzmom said...
You are talented! The final top looks great. Thanks for the details on how to make it fit properly!!
1/10/08 8:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5366
photo
Review by Mauude on 1/6/13
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Truly Victorian TV463
photo
Review by sezza899 on 5/4/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us