Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8305 (Vogue Easy Options) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 747 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Babs42
photo
About Babs42star
Member since: 9/8/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/07 8:53 AM
Last Updated:11/28/07 8:53 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
Looks great, despite your trials and tribulations!
11/28/07 9:17 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
So sorry that you had challenges putting this together, but it turned out well! I like the fabric, it looks very cozy.
11/28/07 9:30 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! What a smashing top!! Now that the kinks have been worked out you have a superb wardrobe builder!!! I am going to eliminate the zipper next time I make this pattern. Thanks for the great review!
11/28/07 10:05 AM
kkkkaty said...
What a fun review, thanks for sharing your experience! That is really a gorgeous top, and this is one of those reviews that makes me want to get up, go to the store, and get the pattern and fabric right NOW!
11/28/07 10:06 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful top and I so feel your pain - some days are such bad days int he sewing room makes you want to pitch everything - ever notice it happens more when we rush?? Ask me how I know!
11/28/07 10:06 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful top and I so feel your pain - some days are such bad days int he sewing room makes you want to pitch everything - ever notice it happens more when we rush?? Ask me how I know! OPS - double post
11/28/07 10:07 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks for your review! Sounds like all your struggling was worth it - the top looks awesome! I've wondered why a few of these Vogue patterns for knit tops used zippers...good to know they aren't really necessary. :)
11/28/07 10:47 AM
Izzie said...
Sorry you had so many problems, but your top turned out fantastic! Love it in the velvet.
11/28/07 10:50 AM
cathy45 said...
This is so beautiful! Hopefully you can get past all the pain and truely enjoy wearing it.
11/28/07 11:15 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Well, all the pain sure paid off. What a lovely top! I am drooling over the fabric. So glad it was forgiving!
11/28/07 11:50 AM
Donna H said...
Take heart. This top looks great and your next one will sew up in 1/4 the time, huh? Thanks for this review.
11/28/07 12:09 PM
Kay Y said...
Ouch - sometimes the guy that said if anything can go wrong, it will, is just 100% on the money. Despite this, your top looks fantastic.
11/28/07 12:58 PM
eibhlin said...
This is such a beautiful and classy top, you did a wonderful job! And what a great fabric choice!!
11/28/07 1:00 PM
eibhlin said...
This is such a beautiful and classy top, you did a wonderful job!
11/28/07 1:01 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I'm sure it's not any consolation, but there's never any need for a zipper in a knit... Think of turtlenecks. I just don't know why so many pattern companies insist on telling you to do it. Cut and paste of the instructions maybe doesn't work for them ;-). You were lucky though, in your misery... the result is really gorgeous.
11/28/07 2:13 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Love your review...but sorry you had to rip out so many times...sounds like something that would happen to me! I love your top, it looks great on you ;-)
11/28/07 3:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
This lovely top pattern is in my lineup. If it's any comfort, you've saved me a lot time making the same mistakes you did; I hope I can return the favor soon. Your top is gorgeous. Lily
11/28/07 6:32 PM
Athene said...
The top is beautiful. So sorry you had such a bad time sewing it - I enjoyed your review very much - it made me LOL as we all get bad days like that.
11/28/07 9:13 PM
Angelia74 said...
It looks beautiful!!! I really love what you did with this... even if it sounds like it almost cost your your sanity! But I think we all know how that feels fom time to time.... know I do!
11/29/07 8:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 9505
photo
Review by dynacam on 7/6/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2004-121 Skirt
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/23/06
Read Review

Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us