Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2003-31 (Raglan T-Shirt)

Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews: 224 (patterns: 211)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/07 10:45 PM
Last Updated:12/3/07 10:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
AnneM said... (1/2/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Definitely a useful pattern. Nice style, large size range.
MelissaB in WA said... (12/5/07 11:13 AM) Reply
Lady_Mame, honest the neckline is really easy. I just cut my ribbing to the appropriate length (most patterns have a piece or measurements for this), sew the seam so it's a circle, press the binding in half matching the raw edges, quarter mark the shirt and the binding, pin in place, and sew the seam. I usually machine sew it first to make sure it fits nicely, then I go back with my serger and finish the raw edges. You can topstitch if you'd like, I usually do on the shirts, but not on knit pj's. PM me if you have other questions - I hope this helps and makes sense!
Lady_Mame said... (12/4/07 11:43 PM) Reply
That neckline looks great! Can you tell me how you did it? Serger magic, or a method I can copy on my sewing machine?
slanden99 said... (12/4/07 6:44 PM) Reply
Nice shirt!
pterion said... (12/4/07 11:33 AM) Reply
Nice shirt and the patch is a great touch. He looks pleased!
MelissaB in WA said... (12/4/07 9:29 AM) Reply
Thanks for the sweet words everyone! Yes, that is the reverse of my coverstitch machine for the hemming on the shirt and the sleeves. No varigated thread tho, just plain old orange. :-)
Jeanninem said... (12/4/07 9:27 AM) Reply
Great shirt. I agree, I love the raglan t-shirt from Ottobre. Good looking sons.
JDpenelope said... (12/4/07 8:50 AM) Reply
Great shirt and versatile pattern. I like raglan sleeves for kids, too. Is that a reverse coverstitch on the hems, with variegated thread, by any chance? Nice job!
CynthiaSue said... (12/4/07 2:00 AM) Reply
Didn't know you had kids and sewed Ottobre. me too! Very well sewn shirt. looks completely store bought!
Dei said... (12/3/07 11:19 PM) Reply
Adorable shirt. Adorable kid. Excellent job on the details.
Mary in MS said... (12/3/07 11:13 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt and he looks so happy with it too :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

République du Chiffon Robe Lucie

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
Vogue Patterns 8849

photo
by: marthalamb

Review
Fit For Art Wide Neckline Variations Package for Tee & tunic

Fit For Art Wide Neckline Variations Package for Tee & tunic

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details