SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2003-31 (Raglan T-Shirt)

Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/07 10:45 PM
Last Updated:12/3/07 10:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary in MS said...
Very nice shirt and he looks so happy with it too :)
12/3/07 11:13 PM
Dei said...
Adorable shirt. Adorable kid. Excellent job on the details.
12/3/07 11:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Didn't know you had kids and sewed Ottobre. me too! Very well sewn shirt. looks completely store bought!
12/4/07 2:00 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great shirt and versatile pattern. I like raglan sleeves for kids, too. Is that a reverse coverstitch on the hems, with variegated thread, by any chance? Nice job!
12/4/07 8:50 AM
Jeanninem said...
Great shirt. I agree, I love the raglan t-shirt from Ottobre. Good looking sons.
12/4/07 9:27 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thanks for the sweet words everyone! Yes, that is the reverse of my coverstitch machine for the hemming on the shirt and the sleeves. No varigated thread tho, just plain old orange. :-)
12/4/07 9:29 AM
pterion said...
Nice shirt and the patch is a great touch. He looks pleased!
12/4/07 11:33 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice shirt!
12/4/07 6:44 PM
Lady_Mame said...
That neckline looks great! Can you tell me how you did it? Serger magic, or a method I can copy on my sewing machine?
12/4/07 11:43 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Lady_Mame, honest the neckline is really easy. I just cut my ribbing to the appropriate length (most patterns have a piece or measurements for this), sew the seam so it's a circle, press the binding in half matching the raw edges, quarter mark the shirt and the binding, pin in place, and sew the seam. I usually machine sew it first to make sure it fits nicely, then I go back with my serger and finish the raw edges. You can topstitch if you'd like, I usually do on the shirts, but not on knit pj's. PM me if you have other questions - I hope this helps and makes sense!
12/5/07 11:13 AM
AnneM said...
Definitely a useful pattern. Nice style, large size range.
1/2/08 7:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: craftsanct...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8028

photo
by: LizJaneB

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now