SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2003-31 (Raglan T-Shirt)

Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/07 10:45 PM
Last Updated:12/3/07 10:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (1/2/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Definitely a useful pattern. Nice style, large size range.
MelissaB in WA said... (12/5/07 11:13 AM) Reply
Lady_Mame, honest the neckline is really easy. I just cut my ribbing to the appropriate length (most patterns have a piece or measurements for this), sew the seam so it's a circle, press the binding in half matching the raw edges, quarter mark the shirt and the binding, pin in place, and sew the seam. I usually machine sew it first to make sure it fits nicely, then I go back with my serger and finish the raw edges. You can topstitch if you'd like, I usually do on the shirts, but not on knit pj's. PM me if you have other questions - I hope this helps and makes sense!
Lady_Mame said... (12/4/07 11:43 PM) Reply
That neckline looks great! Can you tell me how you did it? Serger magic, or a method I can copy on my sewing machine?
slanden99 said... (12/4/07 6:44 PM) Reply
Nice shirt!
pterion said... (12/4/07 11:33 AM) Reply
Nice shirt and the patch is a great touch. He looks pleased!
MelissaB in WA said... (12/4/07 9:29 AM) Reply
Thanks for the sweet words everyone! Yes, that is the reverse of my coverstitch machine for the hemming on the shirt and the sleeves. No varigated thread tho, just plain old orange. :-)
Jeanninem said... (12/4/07 9:27 AM) Reply
Great shirt. I agree, I love the raglan t-shirt from Ottobre. Good looking sons.
JDpenelope said... (12/4/07 8:50 AM) Reply
Great shirt and versatile pattern. I like raglan sleeves for kids, too. Is that a reverse coverstitch on the hems, with variegated thread, by any chance? Nice job!
CynthiaSue said... (12/4/07 2:00 AM) Reply
Didn't know you had kids and sewed Ottobre. me too! Very well sewn shirt. looks completely store bought!
Dei said... (12/3/07 11:19 PM) Reply
Adorable shirt. Adorable kid. Excellent job on the details.
Mary in MS said... (12/3/07 11:13 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt and he looks so happy with it too :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-112

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Butterick Free

photo
by: HanPanda

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Pattern Details