Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5519 (One Hour Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1126 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:12/8/07 9:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Its a nice looking dress. You did "make it work" congratulations. I have this pattern to make for me and my DD but just have not found the time yet.
12/8/07 6:31 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Funny" story!! You really came up with a bright solution!! There's experience showing. (Now, you only have to "make up" some "stolen" cookies for your other DD!!)
12/8/07 6:48 PM
fabricrazed said...
Good looking dress. Haven't we all had one of those moments. Now you have created your own design detail. Some mistakes turn out to become something better. I liked your solution.
12/8/07 8:29 PM
PegL said...
Tim Gunn would be so proud of you! The dress is Runway worthy!
12/8/07 9:26 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh my -- I am always worried about accidentally using my pattern pieces as scraps because I sometimes leave them lying about in balls so they look like scraps..I should be more careful. Good save though! Looks like a cute and "easy" (how come those "easy" projects never turn out easy?) pattern!
12/8/07 10:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Great save! Your "design element" worked beautifully. Loved the funny review.
12/8/07 10:52 PM
Nancywin said...
I don't know how anybody makes anything in one hour. It takes me longer than that just to take out the pattern, iron it and make alterations. I think I'm pretty slow at the "prep" part of sewing. This dress looks like it will be very nice. If your daughter is anything like mine, you may end up taking it in! They tend to like negative ease. (of course, they have the bodies for it!)
12/8/07 11:50 PM
bluenines said...
great save !, and yes i to have had sewing miss haps while trying to do more than one thing at a time, i think your dd will love the dress
12/9/07 1:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! Well, those "designer sleeves" look like they were meant to be that way. :o) If you don't confess, your daughter will never know. I think the dress looks great!
12/9/07 3:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice gift.
12/9/07 7:46 AM
marjenann said...
Lemons to lemonaide!! Great looking dress!
12/9/07 8:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job and great story. We've all been there, and misery loves company.
12/9/07 8:11 AM
blue mooney said...
Been there, done that! You came up with a good save, and great results. What a nice pattern - no zipper! I hope it suits your DD.
12/9/07 8:46 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking dress and a great save!! Why these things happen I will never know - many of us feel your pain with the misadventure 'cos we been there and done that!!
12/9/07 10:05 AM
Leora said...
Nice design change and a lovely gift!
12/9/07 8:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great save! In fact, I think the two piece sleeve is a great design element on such a simple (aka not fussy) dress. Bravo!
12/10/07 9:22 AM
millonthefloss said...
Really like this dress. Simple and plain enough to add any scarf, pin, or accent. Even though you had some difficulty you worked through it and came up with a dress nonetheless. My best to you.
12/17/07 8:25 PM
AnneM said...
Well, you know, design changes are the name of the game. And they never take an hour, even without mistakes! (Or at least they don't for me.) (The large pictures aren't coming up for me, but it looks nice in the small pic.)
1/2/08 4:58 PM
angelt841 said...
one of the funniest reviews I have read! great job
12/27/09 1:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

HotPatterns 1089
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/29/09
Read Review

Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )
Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7911
photo
Review by goosegreen on 3/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us