SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8307 (Armani-style Coat)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1325 times 
Reviewed by:Tom P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tom Pstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/07 6:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Just wow!!!
11/21/10 1:00 AM
SewTwin said...
Wowzer! You PR'ers make me laugh, with all the envy vibes! It is rare to find a man that is nice enuf to do things for you, and sew to boot! We female PR'ers are lucky to have a male counterpart! Wish we had more!..
1/20/08 5:07 PM
layla said...
Beautiful .... Thank You For The Info On This Pattern ....You Are So Talented !!
12/13/07 3:33 AM
KatyH said...
Back off ladies, he's taken! :-) I do love the coat. I am very very lucky.
12/10/07 10:32 PM
busy bee said...
Wonderful! I envy your girlfriend. (But if I ever need someone to watch football for me, my husband's all over it!)
12/10/07 8:04 PM
loohoo44 said...
Tom everything you make looks so professional! You seem to think of everything. Great job, and what a lucky girl!
12/10/07 8:00 PM
Tom P said...
Thanks, everyone. ReBecca, the interfacing at the hem gives a little more body, and makes the bottom of the coat hold it's shape better. Adding the interfacing and reducing the width at the bottom makes Katy's coat look sort of like she just did a spin. Thisphoto shows the two treatments side-by-side. Mary's fabric is nicer :(.
12/10/07 5:07 PM
Allison said...
Hi: you are right, this Vogue pattern is a copy of an Armani from last season. You did a FAB job! Might need one myself!
12/10/07 4:52 PM
nicegirl said...
After seeing this (and Mary Cargill's) at PR Weekend I got the pattern too. It would be so much more convenient if I had a boyfriend to make it for me...
12/10/07 3:16 PM
Nancy K said...
You made a wonderful coat. What a lucky girlfriend. Your review covering your constructions changes is very helpful and creative. I have this pattern in my stash and will definitely refer back to your review .
12/10/07 2:37 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful coat, Tom. You are very good at sewing coats....must be your specialty ;-) Very flattering on your girlfriend, too.
12/10/07 1:37 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very professional tailoring - awesome skills!
12/10/07 11:42 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I'm impressed once again!
12/10/07 11:35 AM
marjenann said...
Yikes!!! This garment is as fantastic as the last one!!! Very, very impressive workmanship and design!!
12/10/07 10:28 AM
Karine said...
Love the coat - very professionally done. Especially like the lining strap to hold the left front - nice touch!
12/10/07 10:09 AM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful coat--I love the closures and the bright, happy lining, also the welt pocket you designed. Very nice job.
12/10/07 8:33 AM
MissCelie said...
Ok. So, I saw this coat at PR Weekend and bought pattern at the very next sale. A-mazing.
12/10/07 7:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
great looking coat!
12/10/07 5:17 AM
Karen8320 said...
Tom, I am honestly so impressed by your work! The coat looks gorgeous. Once again, your review is exceptionally helpful.
12/10/07 4:10 AM
Lori V said...
Great coat, wonderful construction and lucky Katy.
12/9/07 10:10 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this jacket looked very designery, you've made it v wearable and versatile
12/9/07 9:35 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a stunning coat! I'm impressed with you putting the pockets in to accomodate her commuting needs. Great job!
12/9/07 8:49 PM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work - I so admire your efforts!! Thanks for a really helpful review with some really good ideas we can use
12/9/07 8:14 PM
Re Becca said...
Another great coat! Thanks for the great construction details. Tell me, why did you chose to use the 4" interfacing strips on the hem and collar? Great job on the pocket too, aren't welt pockets fun!
12/9/07 8:03 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous!!
12/9/07 7:44 PM
Kristen said...
Great coat - she is a lucky woman!...I think that if you and Katy break up you won't be on the market for long!!! Plus, that appears to be a Sox cap you are wearing..
12/9/07 7:25 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous coat - lucky Katy!
12/9/07 7:07 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Fabulous coat and wonderfully crafted. Kudos to you!
12/9/07 7:01 PM
PegL said...
Great looking coat! I love that yellow lining! Excellent review with lots of great tips! Nicely done Tom!
12/9/07 7:00 PM
Sic said...
Wonderful construction and love the closures!
12/9/07 7:00 PM
mad4sewing said...
Wow...can you clone yourself cause I have friends who would love to have you as a boyfriend! Love it!
12/9/07 6:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 302398-1000

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-119

photo
by: sewingsvet...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

More Info