Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007--120 (tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 573 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cathy45
photo
About cathy45star
KY USA
Member since: 7/6/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/07 11:50 PM
Last Updated:12/13/07 11:52 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
I don't think the fake camisole 'dickie' part is there just to hide your bra -other Burda tops sure don't :-)! It's there mostly to act as a stay to keep the baggy thing from slithering all over the place. That said, I adore your fabric :-)..
12/14/07 3:01 AM
Annette1 said...
Now there's a pattern that I probably wouldn't have looked twice at, but I really like your version! For one thing, I too like it better without the band at the bottom. Also, I like your idea of leaving off the camisole part so you can wear a variety of tops underneath. And I REALLY like how low the cowl goes, in that you can even wear a fairly long necklace and it frames it beautifully. I would have never thought of this style, but now I'm imagining all kinds of possibilities -- ha! AND I like your idea of extending the stitching line to take in some of the excess fabric under the arms, one of my PET PEEVES! Thanks for the great review!
12/14/07 3:54 AM
marjenann said...
Oh so smashing top! Thanks for the great review! I love your design changes!
12/14/07 8:09 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty fabric for your new tunic! ;-)
12/14/07 10:00 AM
moss said...
that is really pretty and it looks fantastic on you!
12/14/07 11:06 AM
blue mooney said...
Lovely top, and looks great on you! I made this, too, and thought I'd go back and take the band off. Now that I've seen yours, I know that's what I need to do.
12/15/07 9:03 AM
cathy45 said...
Blue mooney, that's so funny because your review was the only reason I seriously looked at doing this top in the first place. Hope you enjoy your revision, thank you for the inspiration.
12/16/07 11:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

New Look 6563 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6014: jochen
photo
Review by Erinaceous on 7/16/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us