Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6617 (New Look) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 801 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/07 11:21 AM
Last Updated:12/24/07 11:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
You got it finished! Yeah! Love all the pics so you can see all the angles!
12/24/07 12:08 PM
michellep74 said...
Your jacket looks great, and it looks like you got a really nice fit!
12/24/07 12:30 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks really good on you. I'm sure you'll wear it lots!
12/24/07 1:07 PM
LBJ said...
The jackets looks nice on you and I love the photo montage. Good job!
12/24/07 1:38 PM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket on you!! Your workmanship is wonderful!
12/24/07 2:24 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks all for the beautiful compliments. Although it was a challenge, I'm so glad I finished it. So glad that I didn't put buttons on it yet...lol. However, I just took a closer look at my machine and finally found the auto-buttonhole - so off to find six buttons. Have a Happy Holiday All.
12/24/07 2:55 PM
carolynw said...
I think you must do more than "really like it" - this is wonderful and for your first jacket hats off to you! Great work and sewing a jacket with fabric that has spandex is not the easiest!!
12/24/07 5:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Are you sure you are a beginner. Looks very good to me!
12/24/07 7:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks wonderful!
12/24/07 7:38 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I like your jacket you did a great job making it. Have added it to my list of 'to do's'. Did you make your pants? I really like the style and would love to know what pattern it is if so. Thanks
12/24/07 11:15 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Your jacket looks really good on you. I know what you mean about all those pieces - I find I have to be extra careful with labeling on those projects if I don't want to end up scratching my head :-).. But for the next time, you might consider something else. Your fabric looks good once you're done - but any sort of wool would be much easier to work with. Sticks together, presses easily, stretches a bit and eases well.. Get my drift? Nobody's first jackets should be from anything else.
12/25/07 5:25 AM
BillieJean said...
Very professional looking jacket. Well done!
12/25/07 5:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job on your first jacket. You certainly did not pick an easy one and it is apparent that you worked very hard to make it successful. Congrats to you for your success and now you can tackle even more.
12/25/07 7:23 AM
Hilary said...
Great coat! It looks like a perfect fit, too.
12/25/07 8:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice jacket! The only way to learn is to push our sewing limits and obviously it worked well for you.
12/25/07 10:04 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks Again for the beautiful compliments. I definitely look forward to make another jacket and taking Fuzzygalores suggestion about using wool.
12/25/07 10:53 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket, it fits perfectly.
12/25/07 4:48 PM
ChristineBR said...
Great choices for fabric and color, great sewing. You should be proud of yourself.
12/25/07 5:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Courageous attempt for a Beginner and your resulting jacket is really lovely. Great color, great fit; great technique. Extremely flattering. -Lily
12/25/07 11:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us