SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6617 (New Look)

8 more reviews
Viewed 802 times 
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/07 11:21 AM
Last Updated:12/24/07 11:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
You got it finished! Yeah! Love all the pics so you can see all the angles!
12/24/07 12:08 PM
michellep74 said...
Your jacket looks great, and it looks like you got a really nice fit!
12/24/07 12:30 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks really good on you. I'm sure you'll wear it lots!
12/24/07 1:07 PM
LBJ said...
The jackets looks nice on you and I love the photo montage. Good job!
12/24/07 1:38 PM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket on you!! Your workmanship is wonderful!
12/24/07 2:24 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks all for the beautiful compliments. Although it was a challenge, I'm so glad I finished it. So glad that I didn't put buttons on it yet...lol. However, I just took a closer look at my machine and finally found the auto-buttonhole - so off to find six buttons. Have a Happy Holiday All.
12/24/07 2:55 PM
carolynw said...
I think you must do more than "really like it" - this is wonderful and for your first jacket hats off to you! Great work and sewing a jacket with fabric that has spandex is not the easiest!!
12/24/07 5:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Are you sure you are a beginner. Looks very good to me!
12/24/07 7:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks wonderful!
12/24/07 7:38 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I like your jacket you did a great job making it. Have added it to my list of 'to do's'. Did you make your pants? I really like the style and would love to know what pattern it is if so. Thanks
12/24/07 11:15 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Your jacket looks really good on you. I know what you mean about all those pieces - I find I have to be extra careful with labeling on those projects if I don't want to end up scratching my head :-).. But for the next time, you might consider something else. Your fabric looks good once you're done - but any sort of wool would be much easier to work with. Sticks together, presses easily, stretches a bit and eases well.. Get my drift? Nobody's first jackets should be from anything else.
12/25/07 5:25 AM
BillieJean said...
Very professional looking jacket. Well done!
12/25/07 5:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job on your first jacket. You certainly did not pick an easy one and it is apparent that you worked very hard to make it successful. Congrats to you for your success and now you can tackle even more.
12/25/07 7:23 AM
Hilary said...
Great coat! It looks like a perfect fit, too.
12/25/07 8:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice jacket! The only way to learn is to push our sewing limits and obviously it worked well for you.
12/25/07 10:04 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks Again for the beautiful compliments. I definitely look forward to make another jacket and taking Fuzzygalores suggestion about using wool.
12/25/07 10:53 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket, it fits perfectly.
12/25/07 4:48 PM
ChristineBR said...
Great choices for fabric and color, great sewing. You should be proud of yourself.
12/25/07 5:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Courageous attempt for a Beginner and your resulting jacket is really lovely. Great color, great fit; great technique. Extremely flattering. -Lily
12/25/07 11:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Contest 0000

photo
by: nosila

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now