Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5084 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 621 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:SewLil
photo
About SewLilstar
Member since: 7/15/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/07 2:20 AM
Last Updated:12/26/07 2:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - I dont' feel this is as bad as you think it is. Love the style - I just think if you changed and shortened the sleeve and shortened the hemline it might just be fine. Don't get discouraged. You are on your way to a TNT pattern. Sometimes fabric selection is what makes the difference.
12/26/07 11:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I think you look great in your new top! Like Mary said, you are on your way to a TNT top. ;-)
12/26/07 11:59 AM
marjenann said...
I really like this top on you!!! Just a little tweak on the length of the sleeves and hem and you are there!!! The fabric reminds me of a Missoni print!! Lovely!
12/26/07 6:32 PM
Dei said...
Sewlil, don't give up. I am making a second round of this same pattern based on your first reveiw. I loved how it looked on you and decided to give it a try. The first attempt (muslim) didn't fit me either, but I referenced a few books, made pattern alterations and now I love it. I'll post my review later. The top looks great. You can tweak the fit to suit your taste because it's such a straightforward pattern. You did a nice job on the neckline and that was a good decision to eliminate the facing.
12/26/07 10:54 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh what pretty fabric! I don't think it's as bad as you say it is. To me, it looks like if you just too the sides in a little below the waist, you'd like the fit better. Or maybe belt it over the top and see what you think. Hope you find it wearable and end up enjoying it. :-)
12/27/07 0:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 6355
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 12/7/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 08-2010-03 Blouse
photo
Review by treefrog on 10/24/11
Read Review

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us