Online Sewing Class: Understanding Sheer Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5084 

6 more reviews
Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:SewLil
photo

 
 
About SewLilstar
Member since: 7/15/06
Reviews: 81 (patterns: 75)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/07 2:20 AM
Last Updated:12/26/07 2:22 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by SewLil using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
MelissaB in WA said... (12/27/07 0:10 AM) Reply
Oh what pretty fabric! I don't think it's as bad as you say it is. To me, it looks like if you just too the sides in a little below the waist, you'd like the fit better. Or maybe belt it over the top and see what you think. Hope you find it wearable and end up enjoying it. :-)
Dei said... (12/26/07 10:54 PM) Reply
Sewlil, don't give up. I am making a second round of this same pattern based on your first reveiw. I loved how it looked on you and decided to give it a try. The first attempt (muslim) didn't fit me either, but I referenced a few books, made pattern alterations and now I love it. I'll post my review later. The top looks great. You can tweak the fit to suit your taste because it's such a straightforward pattern. You did a nice job on the neckline and that was a good decision to eliminate the facing.
marjenann said... (12/26/07 6:32 PM) Reply
I really like this top on you!!! Just a little tweak on the length of the sleeves and hem and you are there!!! The fabric reminds me of a Missoni print!! Lovely!
Grammy Gin said... (12/26/07 11:59 AM) Reply
I think you look great in your new top! Like Mary said, you are on your way to a TNT top. ;-)
Mary Stiefer said... (12/26/07 11:00 AM) Reply
Wow - I dont' feel this is as bad as you think it is. Love the style - I just think if you changed and shortened the sleeve and shortened the hemline it might just be fine. Don't get discouraged. You are on your way to a TNT pattern. Sometimes fabric selection is what makes the difference.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: Sandjjdesi...

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
SA Curve 3/8th ruler

SA Curve 3/8th ruler

Pattern Details
Simplicity 7583

photo
by: Amy Jeanne

Review