SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 0000 (T-Shirt Quilt with Sashing)

155 more reviews
Viewed 321 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews: 118 (patterns: 100)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/07 2:35 PM
Last Updated:12/27/07 2:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim Winson said... (1/6/08 8:53 PM) Reply
AWESOME! (except for "the good, the bad, the ugly" square, this Blue Devil has a beef with *that* :). Thanks for the tutorial. I have similar "college days" t-shirt quilt in progress for U. of Chicago...you've inspired me to get that quilt finished!
Stitchcakes said... (1/3/08 4:22 PM) Reply
How timely! I was just two days ago thinking of doing this with a bunch of old 'University of...' sweatshirts my husband and I have collected over the years. Thanks!
AnneM said... (1/2/08 7:34 PM) Reply
Yes, it is a great idea. Having the picture with your DBIL gives a great perspective on the actual size of the quilt.
aunt saidee said... (1/2/08 0:14 AM) Reply
How satisfying to make a gift that is SO appreciated!! Sashing does add a new dimension to a quilt, and lots of inches, as you found out! As a quilter who has learned by doing, it's always a good idea to measure your blocks, then decide how big to make your sashing based on how big you want the quilt to be. Check out some quilt books and look at the sashing for ideas. Sashing is usually, but not always, a few inches wide: it depends on the goal and design ideas of the quilter. A friend of mine made a quilt recently with vertical columns of blocks sewn together (no sashing in the columns), with sashing only between each vertical column of blocks. It was very effective, and didn't increase the length of the quilt, only the width. Do you think you might get hooked on quilting??? I am so torn between quilting and making clothing!
EveS said... (12/31/07 1:39 AM) Reply
What an awesome gift! Happy Dave is Lucky Dave!!! Now if only I could get DH to relinquish those old The Who t-shirts! heehee
ryan's mom said... (12/28/07 8:54 PM) Reply
Looks great! If I ever make a t-shirt quilt, Cindy, I'm bringing up your reviews to recheck how you did them. In fact, I sent your first review on a t-shirt quilt to my friend who was interested in doing one also. I thought she might appreciate your book reference.
Grammy Gin said... (12/28/07 4:12 PM) Reply
What a labor of love on your part, Cindy DBIL looks very happy on his picture! Hope he really didn't want to save his tees intact ;-)
Mary Stiefer said... (12/28/07 10:08 AM) Reply
This looks fabulous and it appears that DBIL loves it too. Great job and thorough review.
Deepika said... (12/28/07 9:22 AM) Reply
What a great idea! I love the quilt.
So So said... (12/28/07 8:49 AM) Reply
What a wonderful unique personal gift. Think that probably gave you the extra warm fuzzy feeling too!
khurtdvm said... (12/27/07 9:20 PM) Reply
Very cool!
Tiner W said... (12/27/07 7:55 PM) Reply
This is such a great idea--I'd love to make one of these for DH to get rid of, I mean use some of his extensive T-shirt collection! Thanks for a helpful review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 5581

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Pattern Details