SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-126 (Simple Hooded Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1116 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/28/07 12:27 PM
Last Updated:2/19/08 9:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely.
12/28/07 12:35 PM
cecelia said...
This is so cute and looks very comfy and warm too.
12/28/07 12:44 PM
MissCelie said...
I'm so excited you've made your first BWOF! Welcome my child, welcome.
12/28/07 1:30 PM
bluenines said...
congratulations on your first bwof!.. your jacket looks very comfy to wear ,, and of course warm
12/28/07 1:56 PM
cmarie12 said...
Its a funky and fun jacket
12/28/07 2:31 PM
LindsayT said...
Fun jacket, fun review!
12/28/07 5:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great, fun jacket! And yes, I'm in the never-used-Burda-before crowd :) .
12/28/07 8:57 PM
Nancywin said...
Great review CL - now you'll be hooked like the est of us BWOF fans :-)
12/28/07 9:03 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Yay! I'm glad your first BWOF experience was a good one. That's a really cute jacket. I want to go back and make that.
12/28/07 10:12 PM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the encouraging words abojut taking the Burday risk!
12/28/07 10:51 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cute jacket, BWOF patterns are my preference mostly. You'll enjoy them now you've made your first one.
12/29/07 7:01 AM
Linda G said...
Thanks for the nice review. This pattern has appealed to me but I was always kind of afraid it would hang like a sack because of so few pieces. but you proved that wrong....I may just have to make it after seeing your review. Maybe I will make it out of waterproofed twill to have a rain type coat for spring.
12/29/07 7:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have yet to make anything from BWOF. It just sounds so painful to do all the tracing, etc. The sewing part does not bother me. I really should take the plunge. Great jacket style. Congrats on your first BWOF project.
12/29/07 7:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Congrats on your first BWOF! Waiting for my first issue to come since Sept. ;-( That's a really cute jacket.
12/30/07 3:37 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Lovely jacket! I have been thinking of sewing this but can't decide fabric, you have made lovely choice! Thank you for the review!
1/4/08 4:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Yeah, your first BWOF - great work!!!! That jacket looks like a great first project to conquer. :-)
1/23/08 0:02 AM
lmg said...
Great work on your first BWOF project! I too thought it would hang like a sack but yours has style!
2/19/08 10:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, the new button pulls this look into the forefront. Good choice. I love the jacket and am glad that you're BWOF acclimated. Look forward to many more traced treasures in the future. Excellent review, too. -Lily
2/20/08 0:47 AM
Markie1 said...
OK Cindy-Lou, you've done it again. You've made me "see" a pattern I passed over and covet it. We may well be the queens of the wearable muslins! I love this and will be making it as soon as I make the tunic you reviewed first!
2/20/08 6:46 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can see why you liked it before, but that closure really adds the right touch. Beautiful.
2/20/08 11:32 PM
EveS said...
Somehow I missed this review the first time around...I must've been busy hacking up a faux furball. :) What a great coat, and a muslin at that!! It looks so comfy and I love that button!! Thanks for the Burda-coaxing, too. :)
2/21/08 11:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fantastic! And an inspirational review to get going on my Burda coat and pant :) .
2/22/08 7:46 AM
Birgitte said...
I can see how this has become your go-to jacket- it's just fab and so hip. And you look stunning. Thanks for this great review.
12/23/08 1:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1059

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Graca

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now