SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-115B (jacket)

Viewed 732 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 9:08 PM
Last Updated:1/3/08 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Great outfit, love the lining as well.
1/6/08 1:37 AM
Nancywin said...
I love your save on the lining. Everything looks great. And, lucky you with those thrift store fabrics!
1/5/08 5:36 PM
Lori V said...
Great outfit and less than $30, very impressive.
1/4/08 5:29 PM
ITAdmin said...
Great outfit. I, too, especially like the buttons.
1/4/08 10:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You do such beautiful work! I love the lining. ;-)
1/4/08 10:00 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking outfit
1/4/08 9:59 AM
nicegirl said...
I say always get the boots, the outfit will come. `-) I love the way your jacket turned out--that pattern really caught my eye and it is at the back of my head for a really fun piece.
1/4/08 9:57 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! I love this outfit!! It looks like a Neiman Marcus number. The buttons are just the perfect touch!!!
1/4/08 8:49 AM
JuliaS said...
I recently finished this jacket and just love the pattern. Don't tell anyone, but I think yours looks better on you than mine does on me... :)
1/4/08 7:50 AM
Linda G said...
fuzzygalore, I rated it difficult because of all of the long darts that shape the pleats, the point in the middle of the yoke in the back that has to be perfect to look good and also the collor was difficult, it has a stand and is then sewn on like a lapel type collar. The jacket took me a lot longer than I would have anticipated that it would. Each sleeve has three pieces also that is how the pleat is made in the sleeves and also just pressing the darts so that they made nice little unpressed pleats.
1/4/08 7:31 AM
trinicity said...
this rocks, I love it, it looks so vintage but so trendy, you did an awesome job
1/4/08 7:06 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Why did you rate this difficult? I get the impression it was because you had to jiggle the fabric and piece the lining, just wanted to check whether it was the pattern that had anything unusually tricky :-). Fabulous results in any case, good fabric always pays doesn't it?
1/4/08 6:25 AM
Sigrid. said...
You've got good results with this jacket. I made a muslin and it didn't look good on me. But on you this is a great jacket. Like your buttons.
1/4/08 3:46 AM
pterion said...
What a smart-looking outfit. And so beautifully crafted. Lovely!
1/4/08 0:24 AM
Dei said...
Love everything about the ensemble! And you are wearing it with style.
1/3/08 10:58 PM
tomed said...
Thanks for reviewing this! This is something I would not have considered before but you have changed my mind. It looks great on you!
1/3/08 10:50 PM
Seaspur said...
What a great looking outfit! Nice job.
1/3/08 10:34 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great outfit! The seaming in the back is cool. Very nice.
1/3/08 9:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
Thanks for this review - this pattern is sitting with its fabric just waiting to be cut out. Now I know it has to move up the list. Beautiful fabric - don't you love thrift stores sometimes? Can't believe someone got rid of it, but good for you for finding it and doing such a beautiful job making it up.
1/3/08 9:32 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
This is a great-looking ensemble. What a fantastic fabric find! You look terrific in your $30 outfit!
1/3/08 9:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

HotPatterns 1142

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 1972-5478

photo
by: pyrxtc

Review