SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-116 (Wrap over top)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1138 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:1/9/08 4:31 PM
Last Updated:1/9/08 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
I have this on my very long list of patterns to sew, so when I get to it I will check the ties very carefully before I cut! It still looks nice and now you can make it in your good fabric and it will be fabulous. It is a very flattering top.
1/9/08 4:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks great!
1/9/08 5:18 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for the tip about the ties! Your top turned out really cute!
1/9/08 5:18 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That's it. Now I have to throw aside all other projects and copy this top. The bright colors on a black background are really flattering to you! Thanks for all the tips--they'll come in handy for sure!
1/9/08 5:29 PM
Linda G said...
Your Asian top is very cute. I like the style and if I was your age I would make one.
1/9/08 5:54 PM
Padmé said...
I agree with Leslie, this is definitely a must make.
1/9/08 6:13 PM
Lori V said...
Great top, Melissa. The flowers just pop on this fabric. Another must make BWOF. Thanks for all the tips.
1/9/08 6:19 PM
Karen6790 said...
This may be my next knit top - between your review and Sigrid's, I'm convinced. Thanks for the warning about the ties.
1/9/08 6:19 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your wrap top. This is the one pattern that I really want to make from this issue but I'm still waiting for it to be delivered.
1/9/08 7:03 PM
Birgitte said...
I was already planning on making this for DD- thanks for the tip on the ties and all the other helpful info, your top looks fabulous!
1/9/08 7:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great style and fit, Melissa! I also adore your version!
1/9/08 7:42 PM
MasoumaRose said...
I like how you have centered the chrysanthemum! You look great in the top. This pattern is on my list of things to make.
1/9/08 8:02 PM
Diane E said...
Melissa, this is beautiful! I love the fabric and you look so pretty in this top. Thanks for the excellent review.
1/9/08 8:16 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Really helpful review and your top looks great, perfect fit on you. I have this traced and ready to sew this weekend and will check those ties before I cut!
1/9/08 8:38 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Very cute! You look great in those colors!
1/9/08 9:31 PM
cindy-lou said...
Your top is so cute! Your things always are. Now I want it. Badly. ;)
1/10/08 0:12 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a great top! I just know you're gonna make another... :)
1/10/08 2:00 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great top Melissa. I must check what I did with the tie-length, as I didn't do anything special with that on purpose.
1/10/08 2:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this top.
1/10/08 6:44 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! I love your version of this top! Perfect fabric choice!! This could be a TAT pattern for you!!!
1/10/08 8:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Stylish top! ;-)
1/10/08 9:05 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
The looks like a perfectly wearable muslin...it looks great on you, very flattering. I'm glad burda is putting up additional pictures of the garments, many times I thought the "artistic" layouts of the models, all but eliminated any possibility of seeing the garment lines.
1/10/08 9:23 AM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous top, great print and looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the review - I want to try this one, too!
1/10/08 1:24 PM
EveS said...
Melissa, Melissa, Melissa. Perhaps if you'd stop cranking out such great stuff at the pace you do, I'd actually SEW something myself! As it is, there's not enough time to read all of your reviews AND sew. ;) Love this top! It's just great. Oh...and all of the other things you've just reviewed? They're great, too! That's totally cheating, I know, but hey, time's a'tickin! :) :)
1/10/08 1:47 PM
LindsayT said...
Very RTW-looking. Love the bright colors on you.
1/10/08 2:02 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Yummy! What a nice infusion of florals. I didn't know about the built-in cami and now I'll just have to try this pattern.
1/10/08 2:46 PM
Jane S said...
Wonderful top, great fabric on you. But when did they start selling fabric at Disneyland, LOL. Since we're heading up to Disneyworld in April, I'd enjoy it even more if fabric shopping were included with our daily passes:-)
1/10/08 2:56 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Beautiful fabric! You did a lovely job. I saw this in the magazine and liked it, too, but didn't like the fabric they chose (not a lime green kind of person). You have convinced me to give it a try. And I had no idea they had more pix on the web. Thanks for the tip!
1/10/08 4:47 PM
mudcat said...
Great top. Helpful review. I just got my Burda issue a few days ago and had already planned to make this one.
1/10/08 9:25 PM
slanden99 said...
Looks great on you! Love how it has a built in cami. Thanks for the photos
1/11/08 0:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
Checked my pattern, and I cut the tie in the length for size 44, one size larger than the pattern (not on purpose).
1/13/08 6:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 60432-1025

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now