Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-116 (Wrap over top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1137 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:1/9/08 4:31 PM
Last Updated:1/9/08 4:31 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
I have this on my very long list of patterns to sew, so when I get to it I will check the ties very carefully before I cut! It still looks nice and now you can make it in your good fabric and it will be fabulous. It is a very flattering top.
1/9/08 4:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks great!
1/9/08 5:18 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for the tip about the ties! Your top turned out really cute!
1/9/08 5:18 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That's it. Now I have to throw aside all other projects and copy this top. The bright colors on a black background are really flattering to you! Thanks for all the tips--they'll come in handy for sure!
1/9/08 5:29 PM
Linda G said...
Your Asian top is very cute. I like the style and if I was your age I would make one.
1/9/08 5:54 PM
Padmé said...
I agree with Leslie, this is definitely a must make.
1/9/08 6:13 PM
Lori V said...
Great top, Melissa. The flowers just pop on this fabric. Another must make BWOF. Thanks for all the tips.
1/9/08 6:19 PM
Karen6790 said...
This may be my next knit top - between your review and Sigrid's, I'm convinced. Thanks for the warning about the ties.
1/9/08 6:19 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your wrap top. This is the one pattern that I really want to make from this issue but I'm still waiting for it to be delivered.
1/9/08 7:03 PM
Birgitte said...
I was already planning on making this for DD- thanks for the tip on the ties and all the other helpful info, your top looks fabulous!
1/9/08 7:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great style and fit, Melissa! I also adore your version!
1/9/08 7:42 PM
MasoumaRose said...
I like how you have centered the chrysanthemum! You look great in the top. This pattern is on my list of things to make.
1/9/08 8:02 PM
Diane E said...
Melissa, this is beautiful! I love the fabric and you look so pretty in this top. Thanks for the excellent review.
1/9/08 8:16 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Really helpful review and your top looks great, perfect fit on you. I have this traced and ready to sew this weekend and will check those ties before I cut!
1/9/08 8:38 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Very cute! You look great in those colors!
1/9/08 9:31 PM
cindy-lou said...
Your top is so cute! Your things always are. Now I want it. Badly. ;)
1/10/08 0:12 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a great top! I just know you're gonna make another... :)
1/10/08 2:00 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great top Melissa. I must check what I did with the tie-length, as I didn't do anything special with that on purpose.
1/10/08 2:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this top.
1/10/08 6:44 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! I love your version of this top! Perfect fabric choice!! This could be a TAT pattern for you!!!
1/10/08 8:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Stylish top! ;-)
1/10/08 9:05 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
The looks like a perfectly wearable muslin...it looks great on you, very flattering. I'm glad burda is putting up additional pictures of the garments, many times I thought the "artistic" layouts of the models, all but eliminated any possibility of seeing the garment lines.
1/10/08 9:23 AM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous top, great print and looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the review - I want to try this one, too!
1/10/08 1:24 PM
EveS said...
Melissa, Melissa, Melissa. Perhaps if you'd stop cranking out such great stuff at the pace you do, I'd actually SEW something myself! As it is, there's not enough time to read all of your reviews AND sew. ;) Love this top! It's just great. Oh...and all of the other things you've just reviewed? They're great, too! That's totally cheating, I know, but hey, time's a'tickin! :) :)
1/10/08 1:47 PM
LindsayT said...
Very RTW-looking. Love the bright colors on you.
1/10/08 2:02 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Yummy! What a nice infusion of florals. I didn't know about the built-in cami and now I'll just have to try this pattern.
1/10/08 2:46 PM
Jane S said...
Wonderful top, great fabric on you. But when did they start selling fabric at Disneyland, LOL. Since we're heading up to Disneyworld in April, I'd enjoy it even more if fabric shopping were included with our daily passes:-)
1/10/08 2:56 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Beautiful fabric! You did a lovely job. I saw this in the magazine and liked it, too, but didn't like the fabric they chose (not a lime green kind of person). You have convinced me to give it a try. And I had no idea they had more pix on the web. Thanks for the tip!
1/10/08 4:47 PM
mudcat said...
Great top. Helpful review. I just got my Burda issue a few days ago and had already planned to make this one.
1/10/08 9:25 PM
slanden99 said...
Looks great on you! Love how it has a built in cami. Thanks for the photos
1/11/08 0:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
Checked my pattern, and I cut the tie in the length for size 44, one size larger than the pattern (not on purpose).
1/13/08 6:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 2233
photo
Review by marykpfist on 12/27/11
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used *n/a
photo
Review by wsu 1 fan on 6/14/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us