Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 94778-1000 (Rock Climber Chalk Bag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 377 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:GwenC
photo
Friend of PR
About GwenCstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/08 11:26 AM
Last Updated:1/10/08 11:26 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
That's pretty interesting - I never thought about how climber carried the chalk before. Great job at making your own solution to the problem!
1/10/08 12:38 PM
ladybegood said...
That's very cool. I think I am going o take up rock climbing just so I can use one!
1/10/08 1:12 PM
RMJ said...
Where did you get that marvelous fabric with the wolves?
1/10/08 1:40 PM
khurtdvm said...
Cool design!
1/10/08 3:48 PM
JenSews2 said...
This is WAY fun! DH will love it! He'll be the envy of his climbing buddies (who will probably request them too). Thanks for the detailed instructions.
1/10/08 8:06 PM
ChristineBR said...
Cool.
1/11/08 8:53 AM
HeyJane said...
There are several U.S. patents pending for similar designs, it seems most of them are zippered, though. I might look into a patent for that if I were you! That is a great design, extremely useful also for hunting, fishing and other things. Love the bag!
1/11/08 2:40 PM
AnitaJ said...
Clever design! I really like how you made the outer cover interchangeable. Climb on!
1/11/08 9:24 PM
GwenC said...
Thanks everyone! I didn't expect this much interest - compliments from other sewers mean SO much! :)
1/12/08 8:21 AM
GwenC said...
ladybegood - if you are ever in central Florida, you have an open invitation to join us climbing (at our gym - no real rocks around here).
1/12/08 8:23 AM
GwenC said...
RMJ - I kind of hate to admit shopping there, but the fabric is from Walmart.
1/12/08 8:23 AM
GwenC said...
JenSews2 - Oh, I'm so happy to hear that someone else can get some use of this pattern! I hope your DH and friends do love it! I'd love to see some pictures of your chalk bags some day...
1/12/08 8:24 AM
GwenC said...
HeyJane - Thanks so much! I actually looked into patenting it. I did a patent search and consulted with a patent attorney. Turns out that there are a bunch of similar patents that focus on purses, but with minor variations of the same basic idea (interchangeable outer layers). The attorney thought that we could get a patent through, but it would be what is often called a "vanity" patent. Because there are so many similar ones already out there, we'd have to define this one very narrowly (to avoid infringing) and in the end it wouldn't have any real "teeth". In other words, some company could make another minor variation to the design and sell it without infringing on my patent. In the end, I decided it wasn't worth it. But I'm glad I looked into it and learned a bit about the process. It was interesting. :)
1/12/08 8:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/17/10
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2054
photo
Review by ssmills on 11/6/12
Read Review

New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us