SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 94778-1000 (Rock Climber Chalk Bag)

Viewed 377 times 
Reviewed by:GwenC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GwenCstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/08 11:26 AM
Last Updated:1/10/08 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
That's pretty interesting - I never thought about how climber carried the chalk before. Great job at making your own solution to the problem!
1/10/08 12:38 PM
ladybegood said...
That's very cool. I think I am going o take up rock climbing just so I can use one!
1/10/08 1:12 PM
RMJ said...
Where did you get that marvelous fabric with the wolves?
1/10/08 1:40 PM
khurtdvm said...
Cool design!
1/10/08 3:48 PM
JenSews2 said...
This is WAY fun! DH will love it! He'll be the envy of his climbing buddies (who will probably request them too). Thanks for the detailed instructions.
1/10/08 8:06 PM
ChristineBR said...
Cool.
1/11/08 8:53 AM
HeyJane said...
There are several U.S. patents pending for similar designs, it seems most of them are zippered, though. I might look into a patent for that if I were you! That is a great design, extremely useful also for hunting, fishing and other things. Love the bag!
1/11/08 2:40 PM
AnitaJ said...
Clever design! I really like how you made the outer cover interchangeable. Climb on!
1/11/08 9:24 PM
GwenC said...
Thanks everyone! I didn't expect this much interest - compliments from other sewers mean SO much! :)
1/12/08 8:21 AM
GwenC said...
ladybegood - if you are ever in central Florida, you have an open invitation to join us climbing (at our gym - no real rocks around here).
1/12/08 8:23 AM
GwenC said...
RMJ - I kind of hate to admit shopping there, but the fabric is from Walmart.
1/12/08 8:23 AM
GwenC said...
JenSews2 - Oh, I'm so happy to hear that someone else can get some use of this pattern! I hope your DH and friends do love it! I'd love to see some pictures of your chalk bags some day...
1/12/08 8:24 AM
GwenC said...
HeyJane - Thanks so much! I actually looked into patenting it. I did a patent search and consulted with a patent attorney. Turns out that there are a bunch of similar patents that focus on purses, but with minor variations of the same basic idea (interchangeable outer layers). The attorney thought that we could get a patent through, but it would be what is often called a "vanity" patent. Because there are so many similar ones already out there, we'd have to define this one very narrowly (to avoid infringing) and in the end it wouldn't have any real "teeth". In other words, some company could make another minor variation to the design and sell it without infringing on my patent. In the end, I decided it wasn't worth it. But I'm glad I looked into it and learned a bit about the process. It was interesting. :)
1/12/08 8:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Advance Pattern Company 7831

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Onion 1040

photo
by: NinaDeva

Review