Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 25271-1000 (Eric's vest) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 573 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kathleen Fasanella
photo
Friend of PR
About Kathleen Fasanellastar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/05
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/08 1:16 PM
Last Updated:1/11/08 1:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
What a fantastic job he did- and one lucky guy to learn from the best. Thanks for posting it here, Kathleen.
1/11/08 1:47 PM
Transferred profile said...
Wonderful to see a review from you! I am so very impressed with his vest and really appreciate the tutorial. Thanks!
1/11/08 2:12 PM
cindyann said...
That vest looks really great! Excellent work for a first project. He's training with a master so it's to be expected.
1/11/08 2:39 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an excellent teacher you are. He did a wonderful job on this vest.
1/11/08 4:16 PM
Leora said...
First project looks great. Quite impressive to tackle welt pockets on a first go. I'm not that brave after a few years! But then I don't get to work with you :) Looks so nice.
1/11/08 4:25 PM
Marji said...
This is Very Cool. I must show this to my husband. Who's sewing course is going to commence in 2 years and will include dacron canvas as sails. You should be proud!
1/11/08 5:04 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job! But of course, he has a great teacher!
1/11/08 5:04 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thank you for the review and the tutorials on your blog. Love the zipper tutorials and use them often. I also have your book and love it. :)
1/11/08 6:29 PM
squirrellypoo said...
It's really great to see you writing here as well as the fashion incubator site! I was very impressed with this vest and all the work that went into it.
1/11/08 7:16 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your husband did a great job.
1/11/08 7:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Though clearly he had a master teacher, your DH has outshone himself, too. Imagine a first-timer turning out such a handsome product. I would love to be a 'fly on the wall' during the lesson *he* gives. Congrats to you both. -Lily
1/11/08 7:26 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
He's working on another one this weekend and this time, won't let me help at all. Be sure to see his comments on the experience on fashion-incubator.com. The notes he's doing now, for this weekend, are better. He's figured out a few things. How home sewing is different, where the problems lie, how different jobs should be prioritized, iow, the difference btwn good rtw practices and home processes. That should go up on F-I on monday. I don't think I'm such a great teacher but it's very kind of you all to say so. Having a lot of data points and experience isn't the same thing as being a good educator but I am trying. It helps that he's an engineer and loves me enough to ignore my foibles.
1/12/08 9:35 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent vest. I am also in awe of the fact you are teaching your husband to sew...he seems to be learning on the fast track - how lucky he is!
8/13/08 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us