Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3849 (Juniors Cropped Pants & Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1871 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Confused
photo
Friend of PR
About Sew Confusedstar
Member since: 7/13/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/08 6:22 PM
Last Updated:5/29/08 11:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Junior    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
very cool. i pitched this pattern from my stash when i realized i was never going to wear them! but, they are ocming out well.
1/13/08 4:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Those show real potential. The fit looks great.
1/13/08 5:52 PM
CharityAK said...
The fit is perfect, Paula. Great job! About the topstitching...do you have a two forward, one back stitch on your machine? I use that for my Pfaff and it makes a great looking top-stitching. Other thought...this one might not be do-able...do you think you could get two metallic threads through the eye of the needle if you used a fairly large needle? Charity
1/24/08 10:41 PM
SarahSM said...
Regarding the metallic thread and top stitching: I recently finished up a project with some metallic top stitching, and the stitches weren't thick even for my taste. My solution was to used a triple stretch stitch---the one that you're supposed to use on the crotch of pants, it sews a straight stitch forward, then back, then forward again. It really helped the thread "pop" and look heavier. If your machine has that stitch option, you may want to try that.
1/25/08 9:57 AM
Sew Confused said...
Charity and Sarah, that's what I meant when I said machine backstitch. When I use the straight stitch first, then go back over it with the triple stretch stitch it looks fine. The triple stitch by itself was not quite enough. But the pocket design now has the Jennifer seal of approval, so I'm good to go...just have to hand baste the silver cotton to the denim to avoid puckering. Thanks for looking!
1/25/08 1:04 PM
Sew Confused said...
Oops, double posted.
1/25/08 2:35 PM
BJ1400 said...
Great copy, great fit.
3/1/08 6:40 PM
boppingbeth said...
cute shorts! Love the tab details on the waistband.
3/1/08 9:14 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute! They look similar to the shorts I just bought my teenager! I will have to try to make these. Thanks for the great review.
3/2/08 1:03 AM
Leora said...
These turned out so well, I'm sure she's loving them.
3/2/08 1:16 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your DD's short are just stylin' as they can be. Your meticulous and painstaking work has really paid off b/c you've nailed the RTW Designer pair. I especially like your hand stitched welt pocket detail. Lovely, Lily
3/2/08 1:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!!!
3/2/08 9:51 AM
DorothyK said...
This is the cutest pair of shorts I've ever seen. You've done an impeccable job.
3/2/08 11:00 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great knock-off. You can't tell you did the welt pockets for the first time, they're beautiful. Your daughter will be very, very pleased.
3/2/08 11:27 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Great review and cool shorts! I'm glad I'm not the only one who stumbled on the fly. I took a "break" after getting to it and they ended up as another UFO. I should bring them back out.
3/2/08 12:03 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderfully detailed review and what a knock-off and knock-out!
3/2/08 12:49 PM
CharityAK said...
These turned out great, Paula! A very good reproduction! I know that was a lot of work, but you can truly be proud of your end result.
3/2/08 12:51 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! You've captured the spirit of your inspiration beautifully. I love the belt loops and ties.
3/2/08 1:10 PM
avancleve said...
These are so adorable! Love it.
3/2/08 1:22 PM
Sew Confused said...
Thank you, everyone for your kind words. After seeing all the wonderful entries in the RTW contest, I felt a little intimidated about posting this review so your encouragement means a lot to me.
3/2/08 3:51 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW !! Perfect knock off, so cool looking. Your DH must love them ! Bravo and great welt pockets BTW...wish I could master those !
3/2/08 9:18 PM
Sew Confused said...
Hawke...it's a lot easier if you're willing to do some of the stitching by hand...
3/2/08 10:08 PM
Annette1 said...
So cute! I'm sure your daughter absolutely loves them. :o)
3/3/08 2:17 PM
Birgitte said...
How completely perfect these shorts came out!!! Just fantastic!
3/8/08 10:42 PM
neuwifesews said...
Your version is much better than the original. Much more sharp, less slouchy and cheap looking!
3/13/08 0:19 AM
nglalala said...
it looks awesome! great job!
5/30/08 11:39 AM
AmyABQ said...
Awesome, your daughter should be so proud of Mom. What a great job you did on the pockets and construction overall.
5/30/08 10:37 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW. AMAzing! I bet she loves these!
6/3/08 5:08 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice. You did a fantastic job. The modifications were surperb. I especially love the fabric and belt loops.
2/8/10 4:09 PM
babysewalot said...
The shorts are gorgeous. My daughter would love it.
12/14/10 3:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by lnwmelon on 8/11/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by cairncrew on 2/25/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us