SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3849 (Juniors Cropped Pants & Shorts)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1875 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Confused
photo

 
 
About Sew Confusedstar
Member since: 7/13/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/08 6:22 PM
Last Updated:5/29/08 11:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Junior    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
babysewalot said...
The shorts are gorgeous. My daughter would love it.
12/14/10 3:11 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice. You did a fantastic job. The modifications were surperb. I especially love the fabric and belt loops.
2/8/10 4:09 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW. AMAzing! I bet she loves these!
6/3/08 5:08 PM
AmyABQ said...
Awesome, your daughter should be so proud of Mom. What a great job you did on the pockets and construction overall.
5/30/08 10:37 PM
nglalala said...
it looks awesome! great job!
5/30/08 11:39 AM
neuwifesews said...
Your version is much better than the original. Much more sharp, less slouchy and cheap looking!
3/13/08 0:19 AM
Birgitte said...
How completely perfect these shorts came out!!! Just fantastic!
3/8/08 10:42 PM
Annette1 said...
So cute! I'm sure your daughter absolutely loves them. :o)
3/3/08 2:17 PM
Sew Confused said...
Hawke...it's a lot easier if you're willing to do some of the stitching by hand...
3/2/08 10:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW !! Perfect knock off, so cool looking. Your DH must love them ! Bravo and great welt pockets BTW...wish I could master those !
3/2/08 9:18 PM
Sew Confused said...
Thank you, everyone for your kind words. After seeing all the wonderful entries in the RTW contest, I felt a little intimidated about posting this review so your encouragement means a lot to me.
3/2/08 3:51 PM
avancleve said...
These are so adorable! Love it.
3/2/08 1:22 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! You've captured the spirit of your inspiration beautifully. I love the belt loops and ties.
3/2/08 1:10 PM
CharityAK said...
These turned out great, Paula! A very good reproduction! I know that was a lot of work, but you can truly be proud of your end result.
3/2/08 12:51 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderfully detailed review and what a knock-off and knock-out!
3/2/08 12:49 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great review and cool shorts! I'm glad I'm not the only one who stumbled on the fly. I took a "break" after getting to it and they ended up as another UFO. I should bring them back out.
3/2/08 12:03 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great knock-off. You can't tell you did the welt pockets for the first time, they're beautiful. Your daughter will be very, very pleased.
3/2/08 11:27 AM
DorothyK said...
This is the cutest pair of shorts I've ever seen. You've done an impeccable job.
3/2/08 11:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!!!
3/2/08 9:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your DD's short are just stylin' as they can be. Your meticulous and painstaking work has really paid off b/c you've nailed the RTW Designer pair. I especially like your hand stitched welt pocket detail. Lovely, Lily
3/2/08 1:35 AM
Leora said...
These turned out so well, I'm sure she's loving them.
3/2/08 1:16 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute! They look similar to the shorts I just bought my teenager! I will have to try to make these. Thanks for the great review.
3/2/08 1:03 AM
boppingbeth said...
cute shorts! Love the tab details on the waistband.
3/1/08 9:14 PM
BJ1400 said...
Great copy, great fit.
3/1/08 6:40 PM
Sew Confused said...
Oops, double posted.
1/25/08 2:35 PM
Sew Confused said...
Charity and Sarah, that's what I meant when I said machine backstitch. When I use the straight stitch first, then go back over it with the triple stretch stitch it looks fine. The triple stitch by itself was not quite enough. But the pocket design now has the Jennifer seal of approval, so I'm good to go...just have to hand baste the silver cotton to the denim to avoid puckering. Thanks for looking!
1/25/08 1:04 PM
SarahSM said...
Regarding the metallic thread and top stitching: I recently finished up a project with some metallic top stitching, and the stitches weren't thick even for my taste. My solution was to used a triple stretch stitch---the one that you're supposed to use on the crotch of pants, it sews a straight stitch forward, then back, then forward again. It really helped the thread "pop" and look heavier. If your machine has that stitch option, you may want to try that.
1/25/08 9:57 AM
CharityAK said...
The fit is perfect, Paula. Great job! About the topstitching...do you have a two forward, one back stitch on your machine? I use that for my Pfaff and it makes a great looking top-stitching. Other thought...this one might not be do-able...do you think you could get two metallic threads through the eye of the needle if you used a fairly large needle? Charity
1/24/08 10:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Those show real potential. The fit looks great.
1/13/08 5:52 PM
MissCelie said...
very cool. i pitched this pattern from my stash when i realized i was never going to wear them! but, they are ocming out well.
1/13/08 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6236

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review

Pattern

Kwik Sew 3300

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now