SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 5004 (Misses & Childrens Hunt Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:Elle D
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elle Dstar
CT USA
Member since: 4/12/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/08 7:52 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 7:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. And thank you, Pattern Hacker, for the heads up on Kathleen's welt pocket tutorial. And then Kathleen chimes in. I'm just overwhelmed, but encouraged to try welt pockets. On scraps first!
1/16/08 8:29 AM
Kay Y said...
Well, that looks wonderful on your daughter!
1/15/08 6:35 PM
avancleve said...
What a wonderful jacket!
1/15/08 10:16 AM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
Elle, don't fear welt pockets. There's a multipart free tutorial on my site (fashion-incubator.com) that makes them easily. DH had never sewn anything in his life but his first set were perfect.
1/15/08 9:22 AM
cindyann said...
It looks fantastic! The pics of your daugher are super.
1/15/08 8:36 AM
MelC said...
Great job. Isn't it wonderful to have a pattern where you can choose the fabric and not have to go with what RTW offers. Plus I have no doubt that a RTW hunt coat is expensive. Before kids, I used to ride and show in Western events. My mom made chaps and things for me too. Lucky girl! Thanks for the nice review of this pattern.
1/15/08 4:40 AM
MichelleE said...
What a wonderful job and congrats to your daughter on winning the class. I have made a couple of suitability patterns and the instructions are superb!
1/15/08 0:44 AM
Lori V said...
Great jacket and very impressive project to start back into sewing.
1/14/08 11:13 PM
Transferred profile said...
Elle, how very satisfying it must be to produce such a lovely jacket, as well as to start a sewing blog. Your SWAP selections are very elegant - I'm looking forward to seeing what you do with all of that ivory wool crepe! BTW you may want to take a look at Kathleen Fasanella's PR review from 1/11/08 - she refers to a template on her blog that she used to teach her husband how to make flawless welt pockets. (Would that I had such a tutor...)
1/14/08 9:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-106

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review