Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2987 (Vogue Designer - Anne Klein) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1241 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/08 8:54 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 8:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a cool jacket! I just love the seaming in the back. Well done!
1/14/08 9:11 PM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern and thank you for the fitting and fabric recommendations. Your jacket is beautiful!
1/14/08 9:11 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous! darwlin! Simply fabulous!
1/14/08 9:16 PM
pterion said...
What a stunning jacket. Love the styling. Love the fabric and color. And it looks like you achieved a wonderful fit. Kudos!
1/14/08 9:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely jacket. It really has interesting lines.
1/14/08 9:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
I am dying to make this pattern, and your sizing information will be very helpful when I do. I love the way yours turned out in the suede.
1/14/08 9:28 PM
marjenann said...
Divine!! What a fabulous jacket!! I am sure this will be a go-to piece in your wardrobe.
1/14/08 9:29 PM
Ann Smith said...
Congratulations on your success with this jacket. Mine sits unfinished since September due to problems I've encountered (plus that I haven't been able to do any sewing since then!!). I found several drafting errors, sleeve cap too tall to ease with the recommended fabric for example. Perhaps soon I can finish it now that I'm inspired by your creation. Mine is green also.
1/14/08 9:33 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This is gorgeous! And it fits you perfectly!
1/14/08 9:46 PM
Riordan said...
Your jacket is absolutely wonderful!! It is a work of art.
1/14/08 10:06 PM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful Jacket. Thanks for the hint on the fitting. I to shall make a muslin for this one. I have ultrasuede for my jacket and at the price of that I wnat all my fitting done prior to cutting. Thanks again for the tip and I love your jacket. Hope mine is just as nice.
1/14/08 10:15 PM
annie11 said...
Great jacket and love the color! I am so glad to read your review as I have this one planned but not cut out yet. Since you are fairly tall, did you have to make any length adjustments to it?
1/14/08 10:21 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacketwith great fit. Great job.
1/14/08 10:25 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is so lovely. I have this pattern and have been intrigued by it since it first came out. I love the seaming designs in the front and the back. You did such a wonderful job on this one. I think I will make my in another fabric besides suede. Is there any reason it has to be made up in suede? Great job, Aly.
1/15/08 0:20 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your finished jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for such a thorough review!
1/15/08 0:48 AM
Karen8320 said...
Aly, this is a fabulous piece of work! I love everything about it. You've really done justice to a very intriguing and contemporary design. Your review is thorough and exceptionally helpful. Your jacket looks fantastic on you and I'm sure you'll receive many compliments.
1/15/08 2:17 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful jacket. Glad your result is so good after your fitting issues. I started this one but it was no success (mostly due to the fabric I used). Might try again now I see one finished with such great results.
1/15/08 2:59 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Thanks for a helpful review and terrific photos. Love the jacket, especially the color and the snaps. I want to sew this pattern but it seems quite daunting.
1/15/08 7:03 AM
Shrazzy said...
Great jacket, and thanks for the wonderful review. I have had this pattern for a while and this review helps a lot.
1/15/08 7:33 AM
Physics Girl said...
Wow -- Your completed look is amazing! I especially like it with the top underneath! Your useful review (and dedication getting this to work) makes me glad I passed this one up, since time is limited for my sewing lately. I hope the lining holds up... let us know (I have some red pig-suede in my stash). Thanks also for the leather tips on your blog, I also have a Husky-V with lots of different feet (including quilting and teflon, and was surprised you recommended the quilting, I'll have to test them on scraps!).
1/15/08 8:36 AM
seweibhlin said...
I have this pattern and found your tips very helpful before I start it. thanks for the idea about using denim too
1/15/08 8:42 AM
PegL said...
Very pretty and classy jacket! Great review!
1/15/08 9:25 AM
Marji said...
It looks great. I sincerely wish the pattern co's would get their act together on the sizing and ease issues. It sounds as if they really missed on this one. So glad you fit this first in muslin.
1/15/08 10:25 AM
Nancy K said...
Looks great! A great review. I am so happy that you reviewed a suede project as I am in the throes of making a muslin for my first leather project and the tips on your blog will be very helpful. I like how you showed fitting on your dressform in particular and your other suggestions are noted.
1/15/08 1:50 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the detailed fitting information. This is a sharp looking jacket. The detailing is great and the fit looks good.
1/15/08 5:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Stunning and your techniques are what makes this so perfect.
1/15/08 7:19 PM
Morisot said...
Great style. Beautifully made. You look fabulous.
1/15/08 7:56 PM
ALY said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. Annie 11, I am 5 ft 8 in tall but most of that is in my legs. I don't typically lengthen tops, but I do check where the pattern waist mark hits the waist on my dress form. Ann S. I hope you finish yours. I had some of the same fitting issues you did, like the flaring back, until I pulled it in at the side seams. Cheryl, I have no clue as to why the only fabric recommendation for the jacket was synthetic suede. I am tempted to write to Vogue and ask them, but am not optimistic on getting a reply.
1/15/08 8:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Aly, your jacket is a knockout and has a lot of panache! I enjoyed your blog and appreciate the useful information (i.e. great use of binder clips)! I like your version (and the cool model, of course) better than Vogey's!
1/15/08 8:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Saw photos on Flickr this AM. You really did a great job. Love the fabric.
1/15/08 8:46 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is amazing and beautiful!
1/15/08 9:20 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is wonderful!
1/15/08 11:59 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations!! You did a superb job fitting this jacket, it looks fantastic. And your review was very thorough and helpful, thank you.
1/16/08 4:39 PM
mosew said...
Beautiful jacket - I'm so impressed with your use of suede! I agree with you on the sizing difficulties in the circumference, but I had to add 3/4" in the length too. I pin fit it on my paper tape dummy too and then made it from a light jacket fabric with lycra, figuring I'd have a little insurance with the stretch. Thought your idea of denim with topstitching was great. I made a 2nd one with black moleskin with topstitching and, IMHO, I think it looks great! I may have to think about denim now :-) Thanks for the fantastic, detailed review!
1/26/08 5:05 PM
slt said...
I love your jacket! That is exactly the type of jacket I've been looking for and is very hard to find in RTW w/ so much detailing.
1/27/08 11:43 AM
SandraB said...
What a gorgeous jacket.
2/21/08 10:00 PM
sewlucky said...
You did a great job. I have the pattern and will try it w/a different fabric before using my suede. Hope it turns out as good as yours!
3/9/08 10:39 AM
judysim said...
very impressed
3/4/10 6:31 AM
snowflakemouse said...
You did a fantastic job on this jacket, and it looks great on you. I'm a beginner sewer, so I won't be trying this quite yet, but it gives me something to aspire to. Thanks.
6/10/10 9:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Kwik Sew 3473 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Marilyn N. on 7/28/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1049 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Annette1 on 3/29/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5942 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5942 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us