SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2987 (Vogue Designer - Anne Klein)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1246 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/08 8:54 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 8:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 38 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
snowflakemouse said...
You did a fantastic job on this jacket, and it looks great on you. I'm a beginner sewer, so I won't be trying this quite yet, but it gives me something to aspire to. Thanks.
6/10/10 9:47 PM
judysim said...
very impressed
3/4/10 6:31 AM
sewlucky said...
You did a great job. I have the pattern and will try it w/a different fabric before using my suede. Hope it turns out as good as yours!
3/9/08 10:39 AM
SandraB said...
What a gorgeous jacket.
2/21/08 10:00 PM
slt said...
I love your jacket! That is exactly the type of jacket I've been looking for and is very hard to find in RTW w/ so much detailing.
1/27/08 11:43 AM
mosew said...
Beautiful jacket - I'm so impressed with your use of suede! I agree with you on the sizing difficulties in the circumference, but I had to add 3/4" in the length too. I pin fit it on my paper tape dummy too and then made it from a light jacket fabric with lycra, figuring I'd have a little insurance with the stretch. Thought your idea of denim with topstitching was great. I made a 2nd one with black moleskin with topstitching and, IMHO, I think it looks great! I may have to think about denim now :-) Thanks for the fantastic, detailed review!
1/26/08 5:05 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations!! You did a superb job fitting this jacket, it looks fantastic. And your review was very thorough and helpful, thank you.
1/16/08 4:39 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is wonderful!
1/15/08 11:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is amazing and beautiful!
1/15/08 9:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Saw photos on Flickr this AM. You really did a great job. Love the fabric.
1/15/08 8:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Aly, your jacket is a knockout and has a lot of panache! I enjoyed your blog and appreciate the useful information (i.e. great use of binder clips)! I like your version (and the cool model, of course) better than Vogey's!
1/15/08 8:16 PM
ALY said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. Annie 11, I am 5 ft 8 in tall but most of that is in my legs. I don't typically lengthen tops, but I do check where the pattern waist mark hits the waist on my dress form. Ann S. I hope you finish yours. I had some of the same fitting issues you did, like the flaring back, until I pulled it in at the side seams. Cheryl, I have no clue as to why the only fabric recommendation for the jacket was synthetic suede. I am tempted to write to Vogue and ask them, but am not optimistic on getting a reply.
1/15/08 8:11 PM
Morisot said...
Great style. Beautifully made. You look fabulous.
1/15/08 7:56 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Stunning and your techniques are what makes this so perfect.
1/15/08 7:19 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the detailed fitting information. This is a sharp looking jacket. The detailing is great and the fit looks good.
1/15/08 5:42 PM
Nancy K said...
Looks great! A great review. I am so happy that you reviewed a suede project as I am in the throes of making a muslin for my first leather project and the tips on your blog will be very helpful. I like how you showed fitting on your dressform in particular and your other suggestions are noted.
1/15/08 1:50 PM
Marji said...
It looks great. I sincerely wish the pattern co's would get their act together on the sizing and ease issues. It sounds as if they really missed on this one. So glad you fit this first in muslin.
1/15/08 10:25 AM
PegL said...
Very pretty and classy jacket! Great review!
1/15/08 9:25 AM
seweibhlin said...
I have this pattern and found your tips very helpful before I start it. thanks for the idea about using denim too
1/15/08 8:42 AM
Physics Girl said...
Wow -- Your completed look is amazing! I especially like it with the top underneath! Your useful review (and dedication getting this to work) makes me glad I passed this one up, since time is limited for my sewing lately. I hope the lining holds up... let us know (I have some red pig-suede in my stash). Thanks also for the leather tips on your blog, I also have a Husky-V with lots of different feet (including quilting and teflon, and was surprised you recommended the quilting, I'll have to test them on scraps!).
1/15/08 8:36 AM
Shrazzy said...
Great jacket, and thanks for the wonderful review. I have had this pattern for a while and this review helps a lot.
1/15/08 7:33 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Thanks for a helpful review and terrific photos. Love the jacket, especially the color and the snaps. I want to sew this pattern but it seems quite daunting.
1/15/08 7:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful jacket. Glad your result is so good after your fitting issues. I started this one but it was no success (mostly due to the fabric I used). Might try again now I see one finished with such great results.
1/15/08 2:59 AM
Karen8320 said...
Aly, this is a fabulous piece of work! I love everything about it. You've really done justice to a very intriguing and contemporary design. Your review is thorough and exceptionally helpful. Your jacket looks fantastic on you and I'm sure you'll receive many compliments.
1/15/08 2:17 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your finished jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for such a thorough review!
1/15/08 0:48 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is so lovely. I have this pattern and have been intrigued by it since it first came out. I love the seaming designs in the front and the back. You did such a wonderful job on this one. I think I will make my in another fabric besides suede. Is there any reason it has to be made up in suede? Great job, Aly.
1/15/08 0:20 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacketwith great fit. Great job.
1/14/08 10:25 PM
annie11 said...
Great jacket and love the color! I am so glad to read your review as I have this one planned but not cut out yet. Since you are fairly tall, did you have to make any length adjustments to it?
1/14/08 10:21 PM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful Jacket. Thanks for the hint on the fitting. I to shall make a muslin for this one. I have ultrasuede for my jacket and at the price of that I wnat all my fitting done prior to cutting. Thanks again for the tip and I love your jacket. Hope mine is just as nice.
1/14/08 10:15 PM
Riordan said...
Your jacket is absolutely wonderful!! It is a work of art.
1/14/08 10:06 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This is gorgeous! And it fits you perfectly!
1/14/08 9:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Congratulations on your success with this jacket. Mine sits unfinished since September due to problems I've encountered (plus that I haven't been able to do any sewing since then!!). I found several drafting errors, sleeve cap too tall to ease with the recommended fabric for example. Perhaps soon I can finish it now that I'm inspired by your creation. Mine is green also.
1/14/08 9:33 PM
marjenann said...
Divine!! What a fabulous jacket!! I am sure this will be a go-to piece in your wardrobe.
1/14/08 9:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
I am dying to make this pattern, and your sizing information will be very helpful when I do. I love the way yours turned out in the suede.
1/14/08 9:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely jacket. It really has interesting lines.
1/14/08 9:28 PM
pterion said...
What a stunning jacket. Love the styling. Love the fabric and color. And it looks like you achieved a wonderful fit. Kudos!
1/14/08 9:22 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous! darwlin! Simply fabulous!
1/14/08 9:16 PM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern and thank you for the fitting and fabric recommendations. Your jacket is beautiful!
1/14/08 9:11 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a cool jacket! I just love the seaming in the back. Well done!
1/14/08 9:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

McCall's 9172

photo
by: ThreadsofF...

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

More Info
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info