SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2921 (Montana jacket/pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1400 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/20/08 10:20 AM
Last Updated:1/20/08 5:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said...
What an interesting journey you've been on! The end product is beautiful and I appreciate the extra tips in your review. Thanks!
1/20/08 10:36 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Great review --thanks for the details. Your jacket looks beautiful! Merci!
1/20/08 10:54 AM
Riordan said...
Your jacket is lovely, Mahler! ( I so enjoy seeing your garments--colors, styles, workmanship . . . ) your phrase "giving birth" to the jacket--some projects are almost like a pregnancy and a labor--last as long, and with pains! Thanks for all the information.
1/20/08 11:09 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done. Your persistence has paid off.
1/20/08 11:44 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a well-written Review!! You look FABULOUS in your jacket, too, eh!! Do you feel extra-proud of yourself for your efforts & perseverence?
1/20/08 11:59 AM
cindyann said...
I really like that jacket and love the interesting neckline. It's really chic. Just wondering why you suggest no preshrunk wool for this coat? Great review.
1/20/08 12:01 PM
Mahler said...
To answer Cindyann, I do not suggest preshrunk wool because the tucks are done through all tickness of fabric. This means that tucks are done after sewing the facing. With the binding at the tip, that does not allow great flexibility and with 4 layers of fabric you would end up with big unconfortable tucks around your neck. I think this will not be good.
1/20/08 12:12 PM
sewbehind said...
Enchanting review. Great results.
1/20/08 12:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous jacket! Nice work!
1/20/08 12:36 PM
Kay Y said...
Fabulous review and I love the look of your jacket. Your precise sewing pays off again! Would love to see you wearing this, but perhaps we have to wait until you have finished the skirt?
1/20/08 12:48 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous Jacket and thanks for your story and review.
1/20/08 12:52 PM
Markie1 said...
What a great jacket and a great review! I think you need to upgrade your personal rating, this was difficult! I love your new category: "Are you looking for a challenge?" You wrestled this one to the ground and you won! Thanks for a really precise and entertaining review.
1/20/08 1:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. You really beat that pattern into submission. Your jacket looks beautifully constructed and shaped. The binding/piping is perfect.
1/20/08 2:37 PM
Nancy K said...
Well your persistence and patience certainly paid off! A wonderful jacket.
1/20/08 3:10 PM
Birgitte said...
I can appreciate all the work you put into this- it's stunning!
1/20/08 4:09 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Magnificent results! You look fantastic in your jacket. Congratulations!
1/20/08 5:58 PM
marjenann said...
Truly a magnificent garment! It looks perfect on you!
1/20/08 6:34 PM
LindsayT said...
Thanks for all the detail you put into this review. Fabulous jacket!
1/20/08 8:17 PM
CynthiaSue said...
amazing jacket, amazing review. you look amazing. now stop spending so much time writing reviews and get on those UFO's!
1/20/08 8:28 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Distinctive and very high-end looking. You did a marvelous job! Congratulations on finishing a tough one!
1/20/08 9:40 PM
craftylady66 said...
Beautiful!
1/21/08 2:12 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the great review! I'm sure it will be very helpful to anyone who wants to sew this pattern. PS I wouldn't make one for your friend either! I'm sure she doesn't appreciate how much work it would be.
1/21/08 3:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. Stunning jacket.
1/21/08 7:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
Not much to add to all that is said above: it's a wonderful jacket, and it looks so good on you. Great review.
1/21/08 8:20 AM
carolynw said...
Thank YOU for this wonderful and very helpful review - your jacket is stunning to say the least, I won't be making it as my figure does not support such a close fit but now any member of PR who wants to do so will have your excellent review to help them!! Bythe way if the photo is you without make-up I wonder why you bother - you are beautiful without
1/21/08 9:02 AM
Karine said...
Your jacket is stunning - well worth your hard work, patience, and perseverence. Thank you for the excellent review and the very helpful pictures as well.
1/21/08 4:26 PM
edupraz said...
Beautiful job on the jacket. Looks fabulous!
1/23/08 2:08 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I've been thinking about making this gorgeous jacket, and your very informative review has made my job easy. Thank you so much for displaying all the trouble areas. Others have said it; I repeat it - you look smashing in this jacket! -Lily
1/26/08 11:56 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Congrats on tenacity! You have an excellent jacket to show for your hard work. We're glad you perservered. Great review and thanks for posting.
1/30/08 6:31 AM
Sharon M said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket! and thanks for the detailed review.
1/31/08 10:47 PM
Marji said...
Congratulations on finishing it well! It looks wonderful, and you have a beautifully made jacket. (BTW, your friend who doesn't care to pay you for the jacket should go buy herself RTW.)
2/1/08 4:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is a very beautiful jacket. You have made it your own. Looking forward to seeing the matching pants and skirt.
2/2/08 6:20 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
The jacket looks wonderful. Your persistance has paid off for you. I think I will give the jacket a try.
3/29/08 0:00 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful work, gorgeous jacket.
4/15/08 8:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: Red Dragon

Review