SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8408 (Misses/Petite Dress and Belt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1480 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/08 4:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
IOM315 said...
Hi there, your dress is great and very well done. I am struggling with this pattern and the collar. Of all of the pictures of finished garments yours is the only one that the collar lays like the sketch, yet it is not falling off your shoulders. Any tips on how you achieved this? The fabric I am using is very fragile so instead of trying to rip everything out I am going to continue as is. But I would like to try this pattern again if I could get the collar to fall as open at the neckline as yours does. Perhaps it has something to do with the width of my shoulders in relation to the outer edge of the collar. I've been sewing for over 45 years and can't believe I haven't figured this one out, but then my body has changed alot over all those years! YUK! DL Dixon
3/28/10 8:56 AM
sallyted said...
You look fantastic! I am in the middle of making this dress and your review really inspired me. I adore the cuffs but I'm not quite at that stage of sewing yet!
7/9/09 4:00 PM
tangolover said...
This looks awesome. I can imagine why you were hestitant about wearing it with the collar, but I think it makes the dress & fabric stand out & is a very individual dress. I think you did a marvelous job in matching the plaid as well!
7/6/09 6:36 PM
anncie1 said...
you are tooo funny! I loved your reivew! I'm just the opposite - I just can't seam to do the "classic" thing. But I to am trying! - A white shirt? what the heck is that!!
9/5/08 1:14 AM
MissLauren said...
I'm just toying with buying this and your review and gorgeous photo sealed the deal and ive bought it!
5/22/08 8:53 AM
lcavagnolo said...
I fell in love with this pattern immediately, and your version is absolutely stunning. Thanks for the great review!
4/13/08 10:13 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Gorgeous in plaid, how striking! You make it vogue :)
4/4/08 8:00 AM
Seamstars said...
Okay, so I'm in the process of making this dress right now... I love it so far but I need to adjust the back (too big). If anyone has tips, give me a buzz! Otherwise, I'm digging out the Reader's Digest.
2/12/08 11:22 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You look lovely in this dress! Keep wearing it.
1/30/08 3:00 PM
mrs quickly said...
I've always been mad about plaid so I just LOVE the dress. And it's looks absolutely fabulous on you! Thanks for the review. I never would have given this pattern a second look but now I'm eyeing a plaid from the Wool House in Toronto that's been sitting in my stash far too long...
1/24/08 8:50 PM
Deepika said...
I love this dress on you! Vogue patterns havent worked for me in the past but after reading your review, I want to give them a second chance. Thanks for your review!
1/24/08 9:10 AM
Deb Thompson said...
Debbie Cook - you're so witty!! tee hee
1/23/08 5:40 PM
SewVeryTall said...
'the lazy milliner' took the words right out of my mouth! I think you did a great job on this outfit...I do agree with you that the fake buttonholes are needed, to truly finish it. The cuffs and piping are a very nice touch.
1/23/08 5:07 PM
edupraz said...
I love your dress. I've been meaning to make this pattern up myself.
1/23/08 2:00 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great dress! I have this in my queue, but am making it in a solid. And I completely agree that either you are Markie Post from Night Court or you're her twin! :-) I loved Night Court and got a total kick out of how even the most normal characters had their eccentric loopy moments! Great job, on the dress, and on the show!
1/23/08 11:52 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! I think Posh Spice better watch out - you look super wonderful in this outfit - am not surprised you are getting loads of compliments - all well deserved
1/23/08 9:34 AM
said...
I love it. All of it. Thank you for the review - I'm off to get that pattern.
1/23/08 9:11 AM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, Markie. This is a problem. A real, real problem. I am IN LOVE WITH YOUR DRESS! Now it's like a siren's call to me: 'make me...make me in that great wool plaid you bought in NYC... make me... you won't be sorry...' -- Thank You for the wonderful review-- I loved it and I love your sense of style!
1/23/08 9:05 AM
inkstain said...
This review is a BIG philosophical persuader--I shared your hesitations about the portrait collar, but it's more, if you hesitate about this dress, like "What Aren't We Thinking?" Why not wear a gorgeous dress with confidence, drama and style--not to mention exquisite cuffs? Aren't we all the main protagonists of our once-in-a-lifetime novel of life? Or do we want to cast ourselves in our own movie as the mousey walk-ons no one notices? I think PR is teaching me, at least, that conformity is cowardice. I am really inspired by the variations people come up with--both as indicators of their own style or test-drives of something that shows another side of their personality. No wonder you got mobbed in London--they have a much greater appreciation of individualistic clothes, not to mention plaid, than Stateside, the world of Gap, Talbots and Banana Republic. Great review!
1/23/08 8:47 AM
marjenann said...
Divine dress!! And your workmanship is top notch!! What a really great look!
1/23/08 8:03 AM
Heatherrique said...
Glad that you are back, Markie and looking great! Your dress is much better than Vogey's and super chic! As Austin would say, "Groovy, baby!"
1/23/08 0:14 AM
Dmd4106 said...
You look sew chic! Luv the details, especially the collar. So glad your back to posting and thanks for the encouragement to post. I just got a camera and look forward to posting soon. If only I could produce something wearable :-)
1/22/08 10:41 PM
Dei said...
Markie, well done! The plaid make the dress. Goes to show what a little courage. I think like you do and have to push myself to get out of my comfort zone. The cuff detail is a great addded touch.
1/22/08 10:41 PM
aperiolat said...
Wow! What a brave soul to try plaid...I'm scared to death to match plaid at this stage in my sewing. I can see why you picked this design --it looks fantastic on you!
1/22/08 9:15 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love your choices of fabrics. The attention to detail on the cuffs and collar makes this dress truly special. Thanks for sharing. You look great!
1/22/08 8:26 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in that whole outfit- be very, very proud!
1/22/08 8:25 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the plaid and the collar in incredible - beautiful work and details. I see why you were flooded with compliments!
1/22/08 7:48 PM
Debbie Cook said...
The dress looks wonderful on you! I really like the plaid. And as long as you keep your undergarments in place, I don't think you'll have that headline over you in a tabloid ... though you probably have a much greater chance of appearing in them (again) than most of us. ;-)
1/22/08 7:19 PM
CShelley said...
Yes indeed it all helps! Your dress is awesome. I have looked at that pattern many times and thought the same thing about the collar. Very distinctive but it looks great on you and the detailing is a beautiful touch. I would think this is a dress you have to be in a certain mood to wear as there is no way you fade into the background with it. Bravo to you for sticking with it and coming out with a winner. Let that be a lesson to us all to go outside our comfort zone every once in awhile.
1/22/08 7:19 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Ok, tell me you're not Markie Post, the actress who appeared in Night Court. You look sooo much like her. And you live in L.A.. But if you are the one and the same, you're one fabulous actress and seamstress! If not, you're still quite talented.
1/22/08 6:36 PM
Peggy L said...
It looks fabulous! The tights and boots look great with it. Great review.
1/22/08 6:32 PM
merry-one said...
Very pretty! Love the collar.
1/22/08 6:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Your dress looks amazing! I love the plaid that you chose, and the collar really does help to make the dress!
1/22/08 6:21 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
This dress is fabulous and must be worn often!! Although it is unique and dramatic, it doesn't "wear you" at all. The details are terrific, too.
1/22/08 6:16 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Gorgeous! I love it! Nice fabric choice.
1/22/08 6:14 PM
SewLil said...
The dress is beautiful! And not knowing you, would never have known that it isn't your typical style. You wear it well.
1/22/08 6:04 PM
Lori V said...
Markie, you look fantastic in your dress. The plaid fabric makes this dress pop, I can see why you received so many compliments.
1/22/08 5:55 PM
ButtonFaith said...
Great dress! I've been looking at this pattern and I'm so glad to see it made up. I thought the collar would make up smaller but I really like the 'dramatic-'ness of the large collar! You did a great job accenting with the piping, buttons and what looks to be hand-stitched top-stitching on the collar and princess seams...it gives it a real 'couture' look!
1/22/08 5:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Love your dress. It is beautiful and you can definitely carry it off.
1/22/08 5:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I'm a big fan of dramatic collars, and I love this one. The bias collar against the straight grain dress makes a very nice effect. Well done, both your dress and your review.
1/22/08 5:29 PM
Morisot said...
Love the dress. Love the plaid. Love the collar (very brave--I would have been afraid of it.) You look great in this dress.
1/22/08 5:25 PM
LBJ said...

1/22/08 4:41 PM
LBJ said...
Your dress is very chic, and it looks wonderful on you. I loved your review. It really does pay off to take chances now and then. Clothes are such a great metaphor for life!
1/22/08 4:41 PM
Tiner W said...
Wonderful dress! I must get this pattern!
1/22/08 4:31 PM
echolalia said...
Great dress - I especially like the cuffs. It is like a dress I had in the '80s, but without the huge shoulder pads & also more fitted. For that reason I would have skipped over it in the pattern catalogue but your review is enough to make me look at it more closely. Thanks for contributing.
1/22/08 4:26 PM
valerie sews said...
Your dress looks wonderful. wear it with pride.
1/22/08 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-121

photo
by: dawn

Review
Simplicity 2593

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

More Info
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info