SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 09-2004-404 (Leather Pants/Jeans)

Viewed 2353 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/08 8:05 AM
Last Updated:2/1/08 10:08 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 45 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Great looking jeans, I know what you mean about straying from tried and true pant patterns. I just can't resist doing it and everytime I end up digging out the TNT and trying to reshape after the fact. Just did that with a pair of wool pants.
2/1/08 8:15 AM
dbsewer said...
Your jeans look great on you. I still can't make pants but it's encouraging to find another curvy girl who makes them work.
2/1/08 8:40 AM
Elaray said...
Lots of useful information in this review. The jeans look good!
2/1/08 9:00 AM
ConnieBJ said...
GRRReat jeans Debbie! The fit is awesome. Love the fabric- It can be so difficult to find the perfect denim!
2/1/08 9:01 AM
christine A said...
I would love to take a "jeans" class with you as the instructor! Your details are soooo cute, and you make it look easy.
2/1/08 9:13 AM
Sherril Miller said...
A lot of work, but now you know. I really like the back pockets.
2/1/08 9:33 AM
beangirl said...
Ha!! Your pattern alteration scenario made me laugh out loud at work (which is always dangerous). Well, I guess we now know what looks good on you at any rate. These are definitely FABULOUS. And as always, a wonderfully detailed review too!
2/1/08 9:36 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Those are some great looking jeans! I really enjoy all the detail you give in your reviews. Maybe one day I'll be able to make a pair of pants that fit me! : )
2/1/08 9:46 AM
Charlene McGill said...
Debbie, your jeans look awesome on you. Excellent review as always. Thanks for all the pictures and detail information. I truely appreciate it.
2/1/08 9:47 AM
Mermie said...
Your jeans are terrific. They look great on you. Excellent review too!
2/1/08 9:51 AM
RLL said...
Your jeans are yet another masterpiece. I have Debbie Cook envy. You are such a prolific sewer, and so detailed with the reviews. Your detailed alterations are extremely helpful to alot of us. Thank you!
2/1/08 10:12 AM
MissCelie said...
Very, very nice Debbie!
2/1/08 10:13 AM
Marji said...
Debbie, they look great on you. I had to laugh about the re-inventing the wheel portion. At least you keep coming out in the same place. Glad you ended up with a pant you love so much. PS, that dogbone print is a funny one for a fly facing!
2/1/08 10:14 AM
greenmommie said...
Those look great on you and I love that dark denim. It's hard to find good denim.
2/1/08 10:27 AM
muffie11 said...
Debbie - your review is great - thanks for all the info, and these pants are really nice on you!
2/1/08 10:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great review and great pants. That topstitching is awesome. You look very good in these.
2/1/08 10:35 AM
NoraNora said...
As usual a wonderfully detailed review...almost a mini (or not so mini) class in Good Fit. One of the things I was struck by is your muslin back picture. How many women who have jeans that look great from the front have exactly that look in the back. I'm amazed how often this exact fit is seen. You'd think plus size jeans manufacturers would take notice and make the changes you've made to your wonderfully fitting jeans. Maybe they should hire you as a consultant!
2/1/08 10:40 AM
PVA said...
I too had to laugh out-loud at the "moment of clarity" when you discovered you had duplicated the "altered" Simplicity pattern! I love your reviews & your wonderful sense of humor! Thanks again for a tutorial on making a pattern work for you.
2/1/08 11:05 AM
Melody said...
Great jeans, great review. Thanks, I know I'll use this as a reference when I make jeans. You look fab!
2/1/08 11:20 AM
sewbehind said...
Debbie, your reviews are always informative and the results are always fantastic! (because you never give up!) You look great.
2/1/08 11:36 AM
Em's Summer said...
Those jeans fit you perfectly! And what a great review!
2/1/08 11:52 AM
Lori V said...
Debbie, incredible jeans. They look fantastic and thanks for the very detailed review.
2/1/08 12:59 PM
lauraborealis said...
I am really impressed with the fit of your jeans... great job!
2/1/08 1:01 PM
said...
Great Review Debbie. I always learn so much and have a good laugh while reading your reviews. The jeans look great and very cute cotton print for the facing.
2/1/08 1:12 PM
Grammy Gin said...
As usual, a terrific review with loads of info on fitting. I need a larger size for the tummy, but nowhere else! Guess I just have to keep trying ;-( BTW you look great in these too! ;-)
2/1/08 1:12 PM
moushka said...
Always a treat to read your reviews, Debbie. Your jeans look great. Thanks for a terrific, detailed review. Sue
2/1/08 1:16 PM
featherweight48 said...
I always said I would give my first born to fix that back pants wrinkle. Thanks for the Minott pics. It is exactly what I needed! I'll send that first born soon! (it's o.k.--he's a cabinetmaker. What do you want in your sewing room? )
2/1/08 1:43 PM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous jeans! I love the pockets!
2/1/08 2:31 PM
LindsayT said...
So impressive, Debbie! I really like these jeans on you.
2/1/08 2:43 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking jeans, Debbie. I'm going to have to save up and buy that Minot book if I can find it. I love the reference to heart or diamond shaped hips. Since I have a heart shaped butt, I wonder if I fit the category. Your reviews are always so informative. Thanks for another great one.
2/1/08 2:44 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I think you look d*mned good in these jeans, and the back view is to die for! And your review ... ooo, so instructive. I think there should be a tiny DVD with you speaking and instructing attached to each and every BWOF entry in the magazine. -Lily
2/1/08 3:03 PM
sewsue said...
Your jeans look so comfortable and well fitted! Thanks for another informative and fun review.
2/1/08 3:52 PM
Nancy K said...
they look terrific Debbie. Your detail pictures are very helpful.
2/1/08 3:58 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Great looking pants/jeans, Debbie! And your efforts to make a complete Review are always appreciated--even by Advanced Beginner sewers!!
2/1/08 4:06 PM
solosmocker said...
Great pants!
2/1/08 5:19 PM
Deepika said...
Love those jeans. Perfection!
2/1/08 5:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jeans! The topstitching, especially on the back pockets is nicely done. Your dogs may not appreicate the pocket lining with dog bones (from where they will receive their doggie treats), but I like it. It made me smile.
2/1/08 5:35 PM
Birgitte said...
The fit is absolutely fabulous!! Thanks for an inspiring and well-written review!
2/1/08 7:17 PM
Shrazzy said...
Now you have inspire me to definitely make a pair of jeans--yours turned out great!
2/2/08 7:22 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Debbie, I really have to take my hat off to you and bow:-) seems like you enjoy making the difficult to work, not to mention that you are graceful enough to share it with us. Your jeans looks really good on you.
2/2/08 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Superb fit - that's ahoot - allthat work then to find they are the identical to your TNT - but the bottom line is you made a great fitting pair of jeans!!
2/2/08 9:10 AM
nicegirl said...
Those look fantastic on you! Excellent job with fit and finish. I'm ashamed to say that I tried SB's fly front method last year....the result was too horrible to post.
2/2/08 10:00 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bravo on those jeans Debbie!!!! I hope the denim you ordered is the ticket for more fabulous pairs!!!! :-)
2/2/08 11:24 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Cute jeans. They look so nice.
2/2/08 12:09 PM
Caroly72 said...
Beautiful fit! Great job. I love the printed fabric for the zipper facing and pocket lining!
2/2/08 4:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Very inspirational! I love the topstitching. Great fit. I'm going off to read your blog now...
2/3/08 0:57 AM
jhansby said...
Awesome jeans and they look awesome on you, too!! I love reading your reviews and I love the "fun" fabric touch for the lining pieces....have to do that on some of my own projects!! Thanks for the great review!!
2/3/08 1:10 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Very flattering jeans. Love your whimsical touches and entertaining review!
2/3/08 9:09 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank you for your well writen and detailed review! You pants look great on you. Perfect fit.
2/3/08 10:37 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice job!
2/8/08 10:25 AM
TexasPat said...
I use it all the time.
6/24/08 7:27 PM
Audrey Middleton said...
It took until I was a senior citizen, before I was aware of fitting issues similar to your. After so many trials with frustrating results..I have just found your blog and your review has me so excited to try again! I'm almost there!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
8/20/08 5:04 PM
starlite said...
Great information. Everything I read by Debbie Cook is very helpful.
4/13/09 4:33 PM
AltaB said...
A great review, with lots of detail! I like the idea of a cross between jeans and slacks. Debbie, I "discovered" you on Google just this past weekend and I've learned so much from you already. I've been sewing for many years, ball gowns for my daughter included, but could never muster the courage to sew pants for myself, because of my plus size fitting issues! So I hope to have my own TNT pant pattern soon...
4/15/09 9:45 AM
kajero said...
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. The way your pants fit and top stitching are awesome. Your details are extremely helpful. I will try this alteration! Nothing else has worked so far! I took the Craftsy Pant fitting alteration class and never did come out with anything that fit right.
2/2/14 10:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now