Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7942 (Vogue Basic Design Coat (OOP)) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1175 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/08 8:59 PM
Last Updated:2/2/08 10:36 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
What an incredible accomplishment! Your coat turned out beautifully. When you recover from the trauma, you will appreciate it. Great review, too!
2/1/08 9:09 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Truly Brilliant. We should all be so proud to make just one garment like this in our lifetime. You deserve some kind of award. I feel similar to you about charging more. I was a patternmaker. When I hear people complain about paying 15 dollars for a pattern, I want to scream - You should be happy to pay ONLY 15 dollars - that is dirt cheap for all my mind blowing suffering - it should cost 3 x's that amount . Shamefully, I feel like I'm stealing when I happily buy tons of Joann's patterns for $1.00.
2/1/08 9:45 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a great knockoff. Can't wait for some close up shots ;))
2/1/08 10:50 PM
PegL said...
Fabulous coat! Fantastic review!
2/1/08 11:26 PM
inkstain said...
WOW! I made this coat some years ago in a dark green wool gabardine which a local shop was giving away by the bolt. Turned out it was reject Swiss Army uniform stock! With pants from Vogue Woman, it's a basic ensemble. I'll go back now to this pattern inspired by your creativity to rethink new versions. Thanks for your extraordinary vision and stamina.
2/2/08 1:50 AM
DivaQ said...
This is gorgeous! The topstitching is BEAUTIFUL!! I love it!
2/2/08 3:00 AM
Janice C. said...
WOW !!!!!!!
2/2/08 4:47 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This looks great!
2/2/08 7:33 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Lovely! Now I really feel like making this pattern! Can't wait for the full review!
2/2/08 9:06 AM
OP Gal said...
What a great knockoff! You should be proud of yourself for having done such a good job.
2/2/08 9:20 AM
Betsybobbin said...
This is beautiful!! What an accomplishment! The topstitching is perfect. I love complicated labor intensive projects too and this inspires me.
2/2/08 9:45 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a great knockoff you have accomplished! Your coat is absolutely stunning. I'm sure you will be wearing with pride.
2/2/08 11:00 AM
Markie1 said...
What an AMAZING accomplishment! Not just that you got it done, but that it is beautifully done as well. The buttons are brilliant, the topstitching is perfect. There is some serious whimsy to this coat, and you captured it perfectly. Your review was a perfect guide through your journey. Congratulations.
2/2/08 12:04 PM
carolynw said...
My goodness gracious girl - you have turned out a masterpiece - you can tell anyone who asks that you paid over $5,000 for the ensemble and they would believe you. This is what I call top of the line work and bravo for sticking with it.
2/2/08 12:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful topstitching and hemstitching detail on your lovely coat. Really fine work.
2/2/08 12:14 PM
Birgitte said...
What a truly REMARKABLE job you did here... the details are simply exquisite!
2/2/08 2:04 PM
rivergum said...
Wow, I am so impressed! That is a beautiful coat, but the story of how it was made really shows of some awesome IT problem solving skills. You're obviously a loss to the profession. Congratulations on a superb garment!
2/2/08 3:16 PM
marjenann said...
Exquisite workmanship! Your are truly a designer, to work out the many details in this garment. Extraordinary!
2/2/08 3:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm glad you finished it as it is stunning!
2/2/08 5:04 PM
echolalia said...
i truly admire you for following through on your vision, despite the frustration. What a wonderful result!
2/2/08 6:01 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the close ups. beautiful work!
2/2/08 6:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A spectacular review to track the design process of a stupendous result, with lots of humor throw in. Your handwork leaves me breathless; your patience I cannot fathom. Take a bow. Brava! -Lily
2/2/08 6:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Spectacular knockoff! Great color and fit!
2/2/08 7:41 PM
busy bee said...
Beautiful color and beautiful work-woman-ship.
2/3/08 2:52 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very, very nice and much more attractive color than the black and white RTW!
2/8/08 10:40 AM
cindyann said...
I love this! You did a fantastic job.
2/29/08 1:16 PM
So So said...
Another fantastic entry! I agree with some of the others, a once in a lifetime project etc.
3/4/08 5:23 PM
So So said...
Another fantastic entry! I agree with some of the others, a once in a lifetime project etc.
3/4/08 5:24 PM
moushka said...
Incredible outfit. You did a wonderful job. Wear it with pride. Now we know why couturiers get the big bucks :-) Thanks for sharing your fabulous project. Sue
3/5/08 8:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2766
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/1/09
Read Review

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7044
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/22/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us