Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3559 (Retro '60s Dress (Swell Dress)) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1114 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/08 10:35 PM
Last Updated:2/3/08 10:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrs quickly said...
You look amazing in that color! The dress is beautiful. Love the look of the tights and boots.
2/3/08 11:05 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow! That is a great dress. Love the lines, love your fabric. I can't believe it was only $1.99/yd.! Perfect color for you and looks expertly sewn. One of my favorite vintage details is a diamond-shaped underarm gusset. That would have solved the ease problem, too. Love your fashion shoot location, too!
2/3/08 11:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Very flattering style on you - and what a great deal on that beautiful fabric. I remember sewing something very similar - when it wasn't vintage!:)
2/3/08 11:30 PM
SarahSM said...
svenskaflicka: Thanks for the tip about the gusset. I googled it and that makes sense. I'm completely ignorant about vintage patterns, so I was at a loss. I wonder if the original had that element and it was edited out of the re-issue? Hmmm...
2/4/08 0:11 AM
CharityAK said...
This is meticulously executed and looks fabulous on you. The color is perfect for your beautiful eyes. And what a deal! Beautiful job.
2/4/08 0:20 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous - the color, construction, fabric and fit! Thank you for the review - I recently re-discovered this pattern while browsing my stash last week and now am motivated to make it!
2/4/08 7:39 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress looks amazing on you! It is perfect for winter - love that wool!!
2/4/08 11:04 AM
moss said...
Gorgeous dress. And the pictures are great too :)
2/4/08 11:53 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review of a beautiful blue dress which you sewed to perfection. Killer color for you! And your photo is really gorgeous; how did you arrange for the plane 'fly by'? You look great. -Lily
2/4/08 12:37 PM
michellep74 said...
That color is gorgeous on you! You really did a nice job both fitting and sewing this!
2/4/08 1:10 PM
SarahSM said...
Lily: The "fly-by" is, I guess one, of the advantages of living near the airport---fortuitous photo ops!
2/4/08 2:21 PM
Lana E said...
Great review! You have alot of useful information here. I'm about to sew this dress and appreciate your input on the sleeve problems. Your dress turned out so lovely, and you look beautiful in it too!
12/9/08 8:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6620
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 1/15/07
Read Review

New Look 6352 Pattern
New Look 6352 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Adele - Violette Field Th
photo
Review by thornberry on 1/5/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us