Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3559 (Retro '60s Dress (Swell Dress))

7 more reviews
Viewed 1117 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 38)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/08 10:35 PM
Last Updated:2/3/08 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lana E said... (12/9/08 8:25 PM) Reply
Great review! You have alot of useful information here. I'm about to sew this dress and appreciate your input on the sleeve problems. Your dress turned out so lovely, and you look beautiful in it too!
SarahSM said... (2/4/08 2:21 PM) Reply
Lily: The "fly-by" is, I guess one, of the advantages of living near the airport---fortuitous photo ops!
michellep74 said... (2/4/08 1:10 PM) Reply
That color is gorgeous on you! You really did a nice job both fitting and sewing this!
lilyofthevalley said... (2/4/08 12:37 PM) Reply
Excellent review of a beautiful blue dress which you sewed to perfection. Killer color for you! And your photo is really gorgeous; how did you arrange for the plane 'fly by'? You look great. -Lily
moss said... (2/4/08 11:53 AM) Reply
Gorgeous dress. And the pictures are great too :)
gatorgirl4325 said... (2/4/08 11:04 AM) Reply
That dress looks amazing on you! It is perfect for winter - love that wool!!
Sic said... (2/4/08 7:39 AM) Reply
Gorgeous - the color, construction, fabric and fit! Thank you for the review - I recently re-discovered this pattern while browsing my stash last week and now am motivated to make it!
CharityAK said... (2/4/08 0:20 AM) Reply
This is meticulously executed and looks fabulous on you. The color is perfect for your beautiful eyes. And what a deal! Beautiful job.
SarahSM said... (2/4/08 0:11 AM) Reply
svenskaflicka: Thanks for the tip about the gusset. I googled it and that makes sense. I'm completely ignorant about vintage patterns, so I was at a loss. I wonder if the original had that element and it was edited out of the re-issue? Hmmm...
Peggy L said... (2/3/08 11:30 PM) Reply
Very flattering style on you - and what a great deal on that beautiful fabric. I remember sewing something very similar - when it wasn't vintage!:)
svenskaflicka said... (2/3/08 11:06 PM) Reply
Wow! That is a great dress. Love the lines, love your fabric. I can't believe it was only $1.99/yd.! Perfect color for you and looks expertly sewn. One of my favorite vintage details is a diamond-shaped underarm gusset. That would have solved the ease problem, too. Love your fashion shoot location, too!
mrs quickly said... (2/3/08 11:05 PM) Reply
You look amazing in that color! The dress is beautiful. Love the look of the tights and boots.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2009-18

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8771

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review