SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8311 (Gloves)

Viewed 945 times 
Reviewed by:crisford
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About crisfordstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/08 1:19 PM
Last Updated:2/5/08 2:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, I never would have thought of making gloves, but these are fabulous! :)
2/5/08 2:45 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Your gloves are beautiful. I've always wanted to make some, but have been scared off by other reviews. Think I'll give this pattern a try.
2/5/08 3:58 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Interesting! I may never make gloves but your review was very encouraging that I COULD make them if I wanted to! LOVE your photograph! Thanks for sharing.
2/5/08 4:19 PM
Athene said...
I love the gloves. I have had this pattern for quite some time but have not had the courage to try it . After seeing your review I may give it a try.
2/5/08 4:57 PM
Athene said...
I love the gloves. I have had this pattern for quite some time but have not had the courage to try it . After seeing your review I may give it a try.
2/5/08 4:57 PM
Dee2 said...
Your gloves are beautiful! I always thought they were difficult to make--glad to hear otherwise. This is a great gift idea too!
2/5/08 5:49 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A moment of silence for making gloves ... very impressive. Excellent review with lots of important tips for success. I'll be curious to know how your first attempt at leather gloves goes; please check back and update us. -Lily
2/5/08 5:51 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the review. I have the other Vogue glove pattern and some stretch suede cloth to make them out of. Thanks for the tips.
2/5/08 8:52 PM
Sic said...
Lovely! Thank you for the review!
2/5/08 10:20 PM
marjenann said...
I am coveting those gloves! They are masterpieces!
2/6/08 8:14 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I love gloves! I sooo wish little white gloves would make a comeback. I am encouraged by your review, and will probably attempt these. Such a nice way to use small amounts of fabrics, plus play with leather in a relatively cheap way. I'll bet there are all sorts of things lying around or in thrift shops that could be recycled into nifty gloves due to the small fabric requirements. Hmmm....
2/6/08 9:31 AM
Annette1 said...
Great gloves and a very interesting review!
2/6/08 6:41 PM
Kay Y said...
I am so impressed that you tried this! They do look wonderful. (Love the pose). I think the time is ripe for elegant gloves since there are so many retro look jackets with 3/4 length and glove length sleeves out there.
2/6/08 7:57 PM
Beek said...
Thanks for this review. I have been wanting to tackle this pattern and now I will! Your gloves are great.
2/7/08 1:42 PM
nancy2001 said...
I'm very impressed that you were able to make these gloves. I tried this pattern and made the wadder to end all wadders. Glove making is next to impossible.
2/7/08 3:42 PM
Joni2 said...
Ditto on all comments. I haven't had the nerve to try these, too, so now I may. Please tell me more about Saral tracing paper; thanks.
2/7/08 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8666

photo
by: kkmatti

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now