SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-101 

1 more reviews
Viewed 863 times 
Reviewed by:avancleve
photo

 
 
About avanclevestar
AZ USA
Member since: 7/11/07
Reviews written: 17
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/08 11:00 AM
Last Updated:2/6/08 11:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely dress - I really like the plaid you used!
2/6/08 11:06 AM
CharityAK said...
I don't know how this dress could not look great, you're so stinking cute! Love the shape of the dress and the use of plaid. Fabulous results.
2/6/08 11:07 AM
Mermie said...
Darling dress and great job with the plaid.
2/6/08 11:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Cute dress. You did such a good job with the plaid too.
2/6/08 11:36 AM
nicegirl said...
You are crazy to make this one in plaid! (In a good way, of course.) This came out really cute!
2/6/08 11:48 AM
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very cute. I am short too so I make all of my skirts either above the knee or mid knee or past the biggest point of my calf. Otherwise I just look stumpy.
2/6/08 1:01 PM
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very cute. I am short too so I make all of my skirts either above the knee or mid knee or past the biggest point of my calf. Otherwise I just look stumpy.
2/6/08 1:01 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute, I have looked at that pattern but I am way too old for the balloon skirt, I was thinking of morping the lining pattern onto the top of the dress so that the bottom was the width that the lining was intended to be...is that what you did?
2/6/08 1:45 PM
Deepika said...
Perfect matching and a lovely dress. You did a great job. I like your dress more than the one pictured in the magazine. It would look great as a top too. Would love to see it when you make it up.
2/6/08 2:01 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I am so glad you made this lovely dress, it looks so FAB. I am planning on making it too and was so happy to see your review and great results. Bravo re the plaid ! I also am ditching those front pockets ....duuh!!.... and funny bubble. Love your sleeve variation...did you just slash and spread sleeve hem? Did you line ? Probably with the wool. Did you follow their suggestions re bias on sleeve armseye edges? That seems tricky to me...thanks for your help!
2/6/08 3:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress. Basting the pieces together was well worth it.
2/6/08 3:56 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
I've been wanting to make this dress! thanks for sharing your dress :) it turned out really nice!
2/6/08 4:22 PM
LindsayT said...
Very saucy dress!
2/6/08 5:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is adorable!
2/6/08 5:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The changes you've made add to the charm of this dress. It fits you perfectly and really enhances your slim petite figure. Your plaid matchings are superb. Thanks for the review. -Lily
2/6/08 5:49 PM
avancleve said...
I did not change the pattern at all, as far as the bubble skirt is concerned. When I had it sewed up, I didn't like the way the bubble looked so I took the lining and the dress apart at the bottom and just did a regular hem and it looked better. I also forgot to mendion I did not add the bias strips to the sleeves either. I did not see the need as the dress is lined, and adding bias to the sleeves would just add extra work. For the sleeves I did a slash and spread.
2/6/08 7:33 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
thank you avan cleve re the bias strips...seemed kinda silly in the instructions. That slash and spread in the sleeves is really nice. May i borrow it? Hope mine turns out even half as good as yours!
2/6/08 11:49 PM
Sigrid. said...
This is a cute dress, lovely on you. And the plaids are so good with it.
2/7/08 2:04 AM
KathleenS said...
I'd forgotten about this pattern! Good work with the plaid.
2/7/08 4:15 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fab dress and will look wonderful on you at the wedding! Thanks for a great review, may consider this myself now....
2/7/08 4:34 AM
patrica said...
Very nice dress, very trendy.You look great in it. Great job matching the plaids.
2/7/08 9:38 AM
Marji said...
Very nicely done. Great work on the plaid, and the dress is really cute on you.
2/7/08 9:41 AM
Nancywin said...
I have loved this ever since I saw it in the magazine. Yours looks absolutely beautiful. and how brave you are to do it in a bold plaid. Nice job.
2/7/08 4:04 PM
Bonnie O said...
That is a wonderful dress. I missed this design in the August issue. I will have to revisit!
2/12/08 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Kwik Sew 3672

photo
by: Ripple Dan...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now