Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-101 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 862 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:avancleve
photo
About avanclevestar
AZ USA
Member since: 7/11/07
Reviews written: 17
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/08 11:00 AM
Last Updated:2/6/08 11:05 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely dress - I really like the plaid you used!
2/6/08 11:06 AM
CharityAK said...
I don't know how this dress could not look great, you're so stinking cute! Love the shape of the dress and the use of plaid. Fabulous results.
2/6/08 11:07 AM
Mermie said...
Darling dress and great job with the plaid.
2/6/08 11:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Cute dress. You did such a good job with the plaid too.
2/6/08 11:36 AM
nicegirl said...
You are crazy to make this one in plaid! (In a good way, of course.) This came out really cute!
2/6/08 11:48 AM
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very cute. I am short too so I make all of my skirts either above the knee or mid knee or past the biggest point of my calf. Otherwise I just look stumpy.
2/6/08 1:01 PM
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very cute. I am short too so I make all of my skirts either above the knee or mid knee or past the biggest point of my calf. Otherwise I just look stumpy.
2/6/08 1:01 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute, I have looked at that pattern but I am way too old for the balloon skirt, I was thinking of morping the lining pattern onto the top of the dress so that the bottom was the width that the lining was intended to be...is that what you did?
2/6/08 1:45 PM
Deepika said...
Perfect matching and a lovely dress. You did a great job. I like your dress more than the one pictured in the magazine. It would look great as a top too. Would love to see it when you make it up.
2/6/08 2:01 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I am so glad you made this lovely dress, it looks so FAB. I am planning on making it too and was so happy to see your review and great results. Bravo re the plaid ! I also am ditching those front pockets ....duuh!!.... and funny bubble. Love your sleeve variation...did you just slash and spread sleeve hem? Did you line ? Probably with the wool. Did you follow their suggestions re bias on sleeve armseye edges? That seems tricky to me...thanks for your help!
2/6/08 3:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress. Basting the pieces together was well worth it.
2/6/08 3:56 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
I've been wanting to make this dress! thanks for sharing your dress :) it turned out really nice!
2/6/08 4:22 PM
LindsayT said...
Very saucy dress!
2/6/08 5:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is adorable!
2/6/08 5:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The changes you've made add to the charm of this dress. It fits you perfectly and really enhances your slim petite figure. Your plaid matchings are superb. Thanks for the review. -Lily
2/6/08 5:49 PM
avancleve said...
I did not change the pattern at all, as far as the bubble skirt is concerned. When I had it sewed up, I didn't like the way the bubble looked so I took the lining and the dress apart at the bottom and just did a regular hem and it looked better. I also forgot to mendion I did not add the bias strips to the sleeves either. I did not see the need as the dress is lined, and adding bias to the sleeves would just add extra work. For the sleeves I did a slash and spread.
2/6/08 7:33 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
thank you avan cleve re the bias strips...seemed kinda silly in the instructions. That slash and spread in the sleeves is really nice. May i borrow it? Hope mine turns out even half as good as yours!
2/6/08 11:49 PM
Sigrid. said...
This is a cute dress, lovely on you. And the plaids are so good with it.
2/7/08 2:04 AM
KathleenS said...
I'd forgotten about this pattern! Good work with the plaid.
2/7/08 4:15 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fab dress and will look wonderful on you at the wedding! Thanks for a great review, may consider this myself now....
2/7/08 4:34 AM
patrica said...
Very nice dress, very trendy.You look great in it. Great job matching the plaids.
2/7/08 9:38 AM
Marji said...
Very nicely done. Great work on the plaid, and the dress is really cute on you.
2/7/08 9:41 AM
Nancywin said...
I have loved this ever since I saw it in the magazine. Yours looks absolutely beautiful. and how brave you are to do it in a bold plaid. Nice job.
2/7/08 4:04 PM
Bonnie O said...
That is a wonderful dress. I missed this design in the August issue. I will have to revisit!
2/12/08 9:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book Knit pants
photo
Review by Ahuva on 1/12/06
Read Review

Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7976
photo
Review by Karen8320 on 8/23/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us