SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2038 (Issey Miyake Coat)

Viewed 568 times 
Reviewed by:Marilyn N.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Marilyn N.star
WA USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/09 9:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said...
Excellent review. I just purchased this pattern on eBay and am excited to see how it comes out. I may make a muslin first!
1/14/14 8:08 AM
katie lynne said...
Thank you for such a useful review! Lovely coat, you did a splendid job.
1/3/09 9:03 PM
PhyllisC said...
Stunning - what year is the copyright? Is it vintage?
1/3/09 5:50 PM
Beek said...
Super coat! Issey does make big clothes, but they are so avant-garde! Nice job!
1/3/09 12:42 PM
MaryDB said...
What a nice construction job and a great coat! I appreciate the tip about washing wool - I'm going to do it for my next project.
1/3/09 11:58 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! And the inside is so nicely finished!
1/3/09 9:53 AM
Diane333 said...
I LOVE this coat. I like the idea of prewashing wool and will try this. Good review.
1/3/09 9:37 AM
Judy Wentz said...
A coat is really an undertaking. Great job!
1/3/09 9:30 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - I need one like that!! Your work is impeccable
1/3/09 9:21 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely coat and great review. I have had this pattern sitting in my stash for years and hesitated making it because it is so huge! I'll have to consider it for the gorgeous piece of coating I picked up a while back half price at Michael's .
1/3/09 8:52 AM
BetsyV said...
Nice job, Lois. Love the buttons!
1/3/09 8:36 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous coat and now I want one! You found the perfect fabric. Now to find that oop pattern. I remember the Marcy Tilton article and I wanted the coat then, LOL. Guess I'll just have to hope that someone on ebay will put it up for sale. Thanks for reviewing it. Sue
1/3/09 6:32 AM
Athene said...
This is a great coat.
1/2/09 11:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, look at this neat site. (I was just MOURNING the fact that I no longer have this pattern, so searched for it online and found this site instead.) There's little page numbers near the top you have to click on (which I almost missed): http://groehm.tripod.com/miyake/
1/2/09 10:37 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful job you've done on this coat. I know what you mean about the sizing, as I made it quite some time ago, and I mean it was HUGE, EVEN ON ME! I took the FUNNIEST picture of me standing with my arms straight out in that coat, and my mom can look at the picture even TODAY and start laughing. :o) It's GREAT for layering, though, and you've used the perfect fabric such that it will have some drape to it (which is where I went wrong). This WOULD make a good raincoat! GREAT review and WONDERFUL coat!
1/2/09 10:31 PM
solosmocker said...
Looks great!
1/2/09 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info