SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2960 (Vintage Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1297 times 
Reviewed by:Scarlin3
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Scarlin3star
NY USA
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/08 10:39 PM
Last Updated:2/20/08 10:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marycds said... (2/22/08 11:23 AM) Reply
I would really be interested in how how did the zipper, sewing it to the lining and getting a neat look for the facing. Maybe you could post that as a hint or technique. Please.
Scarlin3 said... (2/21/08 10:25 PM) Reply
Yes, I dreamed about this project many nights and exactly how I was going to tackle each step of the production process. I think it is fair to say I'm an EXPERT on this particular pattern! By the last dress, I learned how to put in a beautiful centered zipper in no time at all. I also learned how to sew the zipper tape to the lining, and the back neckline to the lining & have it come out with a nice crisp corner at the top of the zipper. There was no way I was hand sewing ANYTHING on these dresses!! LOL! Susan
lilyofthevalley said... (2/21/08 5:40 PM) Reply
Fresh, lovely colors in this pretty dress with lots of fitting locations (and you know every one of those locations). A threatre company would love to get their hands on you and your fitting tape! -Lily
Annette1 said... (2/21/08 4:33 PM) Reply
FIFTEEN TIMES! Are you living, breathing, and dreaming about this pattern now? You must be in line for some sort of prize for fitting alterations after all that. :o) They're so pretty. Just looking at the pretty colors and feminine design make me forget it's 19 degrees outside and long for a sundress of my own!
Scarlin3 said... (2/21/08 12:28 PM) Reply
It was for a local Winter Guard. The fabric had to be stretch as the routine is quite physical & of course the top had to stay in place. I ended up putting 2 pcs of elastic running from the front, through the crotch and attached to the back so when the dresses rode up during their show, they got pulled back down! Susan
kim*brown said... (2/21/08 10:48 AM) Reply
Yeah, what was the occasion, and at least you got alot practice, they look very nice.
Meggie LuLu said... (2/21/08 9:45 AM) Reply
Those looks sooooo beautiful!!! Yours make me want to sew mine up (real quick). =)
KathleenS said... (2/21/08 3:43 AM) Reply
That's my question too - what's the occasion? They look great and look like they fit well.
Mandolin82 said... (2/20/08 11:25 PM) Reply
Very cute dress X 15!!!!!! WOW. What was the occasion?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 3392-1007

photo
by: cln

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Pattern Details
StyleArc Elita

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review