SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2960 (Vintage Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1294 times 
Reviewed by:Scarlin3
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Scarlin3star
NY USA
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/08 10:39 PM
Last Updated:2/20/08 10:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marycds said...
I would really be interested in how how did the zipper, sewing it to the lining and getting a neat look for the facing. Maybe you could post that as a hint or technique. Please.
2/22/08 11:23 AM
Scarlin3 said...
Yes, I dreamed about this project many nights and exactly how I was going to tackle each step of the production process. I think it is fair to say I'm an EXPERT on this particular pattern! By the last dress, I learned how to put in a beautiful centered zipper in no time at all. I also learned how to sew the zipper tape to the lining, and the back neckline to the lining & have it come out with a nice crisp corner at the top of the zipper. There was no way I was hand sewing ANYTHING on these dresses!! LOL! Susan
2/21/08 10:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fresh, lovely colors in this pretty dress with lots of fitting locations (and you know every one of those locations). A threatre company would love to get their hands on you and your fitting tape! -Lily
2/21/08 5:40 PM
Annette1 said...
FIFTEEN TIMES! Are you living, breathing, and dreaming about this pattern now? You must be in line for some sort of prize for fitting alterations after all that. :o) They're so pretty. Just looking at the pretty colors and feminine design make me forget it's 19 degrees outside and long for a sundress of my own!
2/21/08 4:33 PM
Scarlin3 said...
It was for a local Winter Guard. The fabric had to be stretch as the routine is quite physical & of course the top had to stay in place. I ended up putting 2 pcs of elastic running from the front, through the crotch and attached to the back so when the dresses rode up during their show, they got pulled back down! Susan
2/21/08 12:28 PM
kim*brown said...
Yeah, what was the occasion, and at least you got alot practice, they look very nice.
2/21/08 10:48 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Those looks sooooo beautiful!!! Yours make me want to sew mine up (real quick). =)
2/21/08 9:45 AM
KathleenS said...
That's my question too - what's the occasion? They look great and look like they fit well.
2/21/08 3:43 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Very cute dress X 15!!!!!! WOW. What was the occasion?
2/20/08 11:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

More Info
BurdaStyle Downloadable 04-2012-118

photo
by: CierraP

Review