SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2987 (Vogue Designer - Anne Klein)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1569 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/08 2:14 PM
Last Updated:2/21/08 2:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 42 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Congratulations, Ann! I am sorry this jacket caused so much anguish, but it turned out great. You wear all of your clothes so well!
2/21/08 2:31 PM
Re Becca said...
Congratulations on completing the journey! I think it looks nice, I hope that you can forgive it and wear it, I think you will be glad you did. It looks fine without buttons, how often would you button it anyway? You did a great job making the back look fabulous! Thanks for the recap, and please try to get past the bumps and wear this great looking jacket.
2/21/08 3:41 PM
carolynw said...
Congratulatiosn on stickign with this - it looks nice so your hard work has paid off - you did a super job on correcting the "ugly back". If you had this much trouble with it then this is a pattern I do not need to get!!
2/21/08 4:11 PM
Peggy L said...
What a journey! Glad you persevered because it turned out great. The lines in the back or gorgeous.
2/21/08 4:31 PM
marjenann said...
A true work of art!! You look sensational!!
2/21/08 4:46 PM
annie11 said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you for doing this review! I have the pattern and fabric bought, but had not started it yet. It looks fantastic on you. Great save!
2/21/08 5:09 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my gosh, the AGONY of it all! But look what a nice garment you have for all your trouble. (And it's a darn good thing, too, right?) I really admire not only your workmanship but your stick-to-it-ive-ness. (I made that word up.) Now my only problem is I just can't decide if you look better coming or going in this jacket!
2/21/08 5:10 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your jacket looks lovely, but what an ordeal! You deserve a medal just for finishing.
2/21/08 6:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It must be such a relief to have it finished! Congratulations on your persistance. From here it looks pretty good. I hope you can enjoy wearing it.
2/21/08 6:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I know that you suffered greatly (..it hurt me just to read it..) to beat this beauty into submission, but I'm grateful that you got stubborn, because the sculptured back seams are unspeakably divine. Thank goodness you decided against rubber cement and have persistent friends, or we'd never be seeing this showstopper. Breathtaking! -Lily
2/21/08 6:38 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
This is a beautiful jacket...I too have the pattern and fabric...thanks so much for the review and what to watch for!
2/21/08 6:39 PM
JuliaS said...
"like a peplum but ugly"--- oh, you have me rolling in the aisles on this one! It did turn out great, despite your troubles.
2/21/08 7:54 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank goodness you had a positive reward at the end of that torture. It really does look good. I hope you can enjoy it. I love the line too, but I think if I want them I will transfer them to a similar design that is drafted better. Thanks for another lovely work and your frank informative review.
2/21/08 8:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a colossal pain! Thanks goodness you were able to fix it because the lines really are lovely. I want to make this, but will definitely refer to your excellent review before I do. And, oh yes, I will not use Ultrasuede.
2/21/08 8:22 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful jacket. It looks so very good on you - line, fit, color - all of it. Worth all the trouble? Only you can say -
2/21/08 8:55 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket despite all the problems! I love the color.
2/21/08 8:56 PM
DorothyK said...
I think it's great that you actually finished it. I would have abandoned it long ago. Bottom line is it looks fantastic. Congratulations.
2/21/08 9:18 PM
j222b said...
Nice! Wear it with the necklace you are wearing with the purple dress.
2/21/08 9:33 PM
Athene said...
A very beautiful look on you. I have the pattern and will certainly be referring to your review when I make it up - but I must admit I am very hesitant about this pattern now that I know you had difficulties with it because I know I am no where near as talented as you are.
2/21/08 9:49 PM
SandraB said...
What a beautiful jacket Ann. I always admire your work. Your perseverance with this project has certainly paid off.
2/21/08 9:54 PM
ButtonFaith said...
Well, at least you're smiling! :-) Seriously Ann, it's a wonderful jacket and what an accomplishment plugging through and finishing it with all the obstacles you had! I would have dumped it!
2/21/08 10:15 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a classy jacket - I'm so glad you trudged ahead and finished it!
2/22/08 0:10 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow. Sounds like making this jacket was quite a "journey," but the result is fabulous!
2/22/08 0:39 AM
Erica B. said...
What a fantastic review. This is jacket has been on my list for a while and I decided to just wait until fall this year to make it. With all of your modifications, yours looks fantastic! I'm printing out this review and putting it with my pattern.
2/22/08 0:56 AM
Schnauzer said...
Well worth the persistence Ann. your jacket is lovely!
2/22/08 1:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
In spite of of the trouble you had, this jacket turned out well with all your alterations. Lovely fabric color and it does look great on you.
2/22/08 5:21 AM
inkstain said...
Extremely helpful. Wow, sometimes a review is so good, you realize how the author saved you time, money and grief. I won't sew the pattern, but you came out in the end with a nice jacket.
2/22/08 5:46 AM
LindsayT said...
What a well-written review and fantastic jacket. Thanks for taking the time on both.
2/22/08 8:53 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Looks great - you fixed all the 'issues' and it came out well!!
2/22/08 9:40 AM
SusiM said...
Thank you for taking the time to write that very informative review. I've recently had some issues with Vouge designs, too. I appreciate having these things pointed out. The jacket looks good on you!
2/22/08 10:11 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oh, wow. It sounds like you had to turn an Anne Klein Original into an Ann Smith Original! You did great though. Thanks for all the warnings.
2/22/08 10:24 AM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos to you! After all is said and done, the jacket looks lovely on you. A lovely reward for your patience and perserverance. I have that pattern but it might become one of those things you look at longingly (and then read the review which I will print out and put with said pattern) and rethink. Or maybe wait until a time when a true challenge is needed.
2/22/08 10:56 AM
Kelly D. said...
Hooray Ann! I'm so glad you finished this jacket. It looks really good on you and all the problems seem to have been solved. You are mistress of your sewing and showed that jacket who is boss!!!
2/22/08 1:42 PM
Sigrid. said...
It turned out great, worth sticking to it. It was a realy journey. I started making this jacket but threw it out because I didn't like the result half way (for fabric reasons), and this review doesn't help to get the pattern back on my "to sew" list.
2/22/08 5:21 PM
Barbara V said...
It looks elegant Ann! Your persistence turned the challenging and frustrating fabric and pattern into a success. Kudos on that!
2/22/08 6:25 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful, classy, gorgeous jacket. I hope you not only wear it but enjoy doing so. And thank you so much for this review. If someone like you has the occasional struggle it gives me encouragement with mine.
2/22/08 8:15 PM
Maggie Cat said...
Ann, I am so sorry you had such a hard time with this jacket. Your finished work looks really good and looks great on you.
2/22/08 8:17 PM
Nancy K said...
You deserve an award for finishing this jacket! Sometimes I think that they just don't get how to translate a designer piece for the home sewer, even one as good as you are. The color is great on you and it is lovely and elegant.
2/22/08 9:20 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I left a message on your picture album before I read the review...After all that work you went through, you have an absolutely stunning jacket. Makes me feel not as inadequate....;)
2/22/08 11:14 PM
Dei said...
This qualifies as "UPD", unanticipated pattern drama. You probably had no idea that it would be so much work. But the old adage holds true, "No Pain, No Gain". You look absolutely fabulous and you get all the wear out of it you can for all your hard work. I learned quite a bit from your review about seaming ultra-suede. Well done!
2/23/08 0:04 AM
Mahler said...
Though you went to all that trouble, it looks great on you. May be with time, you will forget a little bit all the hard time you had sewing the jacket and you will learn to enjoy it more. I am certain you have fantastic clothes to wear with it. Congratulations on your persistance. Your friends were right in encouraging you ot finish it. More skills developped in your already very impressive sewing skills list.
2/23/08 8:49 AM
sewlucky said...
I'm so glad I read this review before tackling this jacket. I was going to use some expensive fabric, but will save it for another project. I will try this jacket in a soft wool or something like that. The lines on the back are so different, and you managed to make it work in spite of all the difficulties. Very inspiring!
3/9/08 10:33 AM
SewTwin said...
Wow Ann!It looks verry professional, as all your garments..Your persistence paid off!The color is fab!You have the bod of a 30 yr old, sigh...Did you make the jeans, also or they RTW?Thanks to your friends, also...I need sewing buddies like that!
3/11/08 6:30 PM
shaggy said...
Well it looks pretty good but what a lot of work!!
10/22/08 3:11 PM
HolleyM said...
I bought this pattern because of the beautiful lines on the jacket. I would never have stuck to it like you did and my sewing skills are not advanced
1/27/10 0:58 AM
bindu1 said...
Thanks for the in-depth sharing of your experience and tips. I have some lightly striped suiting fabric with some stretch in it and wonder how the back will look and whether the size I cut is going to be right so I am going to make a muslin/toile first. On the hunt for a funky lining too... Thanks again excellent photos. Love your finished piece!!!
11/25/11 5:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now