SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Online Pattern (Petticoat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1125 times 
Reviewed by:didda
photo

 
 
About diddastar
Member since: 3/17/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/22/08 12:49 PM
Last Updated:2/22/08 12:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
What a lovely bit of nostalgia, and so perfectly executed! Any chance we're going to see you in that 50's dress with the crinoline in its full glory? I'm hopeful. -Lily
2/22/08 2:05 PM
crashnquilt said...
You did a beautiful job. If ever you need to do gathering of that magnitude again, you may want to consider using elastic thread. Using a cording foot, you can zigzag it on, stretching as you sew. When you're done, poof you have your gathers. If it gathers up too much, just give the elastic thread a snip in a few places.
2/22/08 2:22 PM
washer_woman said...
Very pretty! Thank you for sharing a review on these instructions!
2/22/08 4:57 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW..good work!
2/22/08 5:05 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love older designs like this! Yours is almost too pretty to hide under a skirt! After your review, though, it does make you wonder how her mother made one in 3 hours!
2/22/08 5:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Your petticoat is gorgeous. I love the bound ribbon edge. I made one of these for my DIL several years ago and swore that no one should have to make more than one of these in a lifetime. I swear I spent several lifetimes gathering that netting by hand.
2/22/08 9:45 PM
Huldra said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern, I have been curious about it. It sounds like it's as much work as I thought it would be. Crashnquilt, the elastic thread sounds like a good idea!
2/23/08 6:59 AM
Athene said...
your petticoat is fantastic. Thank you for the link for instructions. I made myself a copy of those instructions and your review so that I could make my daughter a petticoat. It sounds like a lot of tediuous work but I still really want to make one.
2/23/08 10:10 PM
Larkin said...
The combination of your dress and the crinoline is something that it's impossible to imagine you could get in RTW. Absolutely fabulous!
2/24/08 0:16 AM
CyberNewt said...
I love your petticoat! It is beautiful! :)
4/23/08 11:43 PM
Jeffer said...
Very pretty petticoat! Thanks so much for the link/instructions. I am currently sewing a very full vintage skirt and was looking for a petticoat pattern to fill it out. Terrific job. I love the hem but I cannot imagine binding/sewing the ribbon around a hem that large. In my case, I might just finish the hem with my serger and a rolled hem although I don't know if that would work with netting or tulle. It wouldn't be as pretty at the hem as your ribbon is though.
12/16/08 10:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-7

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now