SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Other> Online Pattern (Petticoat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1135 times 
Reviewed by:didda

About diddastar
Member since: 3/17/07
Reviews: 11 (patterns: 11)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/22/08 12:49 PM
Last Updated:2/22/08 12:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Jeffer said... (12/16/08 10:00 AM) Reply
Very pretty petticoat! Thanks so much for the link/instructions. I am currently sewing a very full vintage skirt and was looking for a petticoat pattern to fill it out. Terrific job. I love the hem but I cannot imagine binding/sewing the ribbon around a hem that large. In my case, I might just finish the hem with my serger and a rolled hem although I don't know if that would work with netting or tulle. It wouldn't be as pretty at the hem as your ribbon is though.
CyberNewt said... (4/23/08 11:43 PM) Reply
I love your petticoat! It is beautiful! :)
Larkin said... (2/24/08 0:16 AM) Reply
The combination of your dress and the crinoline is something that it's impossible to imagine you could get in RTW. Absolutely fabulous!
Athene said... (2/23/08 10:10 PM) Reply
your petticoat is fantastic. Thank you for the link for instructions. I made myself a copy of those instructions and your review so that I could make my daughter a petticoat. It sounds like a lot of tediuous work but I still really want to make one.
Huldra said... (2/23/08 6:59 AM) Reply
Thank you for reviewing this pattern, I have been curious about it. It sounds like it's as much work as I thought it would be. Crashnquilt, the elastic thread sounds like a good idea!
OP Gal said... (2/22/08 9:45 PM) Reply
Your petticoat is gorgeous. I love the bound ribbon edge. I made one of these for my DIL several years ago and swore that no one should have to make more than one of these in a lifetime. I swear I spent several lifetimes gathering that netting by hand.
Nancy Anne said... (2/22/08 5:08 PM) Reply
I love older designs like this! Yours is almost too pretty to hide under a skirt! After your review, though, it does make you wonder how her mother made one in 3 hours!
Mufffet said... (2/22/08 5:05 PM) Reply
WOW..good work!
washer_woman said... (2/22/08 4:57 PM) Reply
Very pretty! Thank you for sharing a review on these instructions!
crashnquilt said... (2/22/08 2:22 PM) Reply
You did a beautiful job. If ever you need to do gathering of that magnitude again, you may want to consider using elastic thread. Using a cording foot, you can zigzag it on, stretching as you sew. When you're done, poof you have your gathers. If it gathers up too much, just give the elastic thread a snip in a few places.
lilyofthevalley said... (2/22/08 2:05 PM) Reply
What a lovely bit of nostalgia, and so perfectly executed! Any chance we're going to see you in that 50's dress with the crinoline in its full glory? I'm hopeful. -Lily
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Liberty Jane Patterns Heritage Doll Bubblegum

by: Char in KS

Simplicity 3644

by: queenlathe...

Curve Runner 8 inch

Curve Runner 8 inch

Pattern Details
SA Curve 5/8th ruler

SA Curve 5/8th ruler

Pattern Details