Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5276 (Misses' Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 810 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/08 9:10 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
This looks wonderful on you! I love that wool--what a great color!
2/23/08 9:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty jacket!
2/23/08 9:24 AM
Enid E said...
Well, your jacket was worth all the changes you needed to make, because it looks wonderful on you, and it fits you so well! Thank you for such a thorough review and enjoy your suit!
2/23/08 9:34 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Tremendous teal swing jacket that enhances your coloring and beckons back to the 40's. You look beautiful! Lovely, unique buttons. Excellent instructive review showing your progression thru the fit and structure process. Thanks, Lily
2/23/08 10:01 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket, I love the swingy back!
2/23/08 10:25 AM
didda said...
great outfit! once again, you look like a barbie doll (except that barbie has permanently pointed toes). wonderful choice of buttons, too.
2/23/08 10:42 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, what a cute outfit. And you did a lot of alterations. The final version shows how much work went into it. I love it!
2/23/08 11:01 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooooooooh! I am speechless! Your entire outfit is ooooooooozing with classy Hollywood glamour, modern appeal and haute couture! You and your jacket should be on the cover of McCall's! Great work! ;-}
2/23/08 12:04 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket.
2/23/08 12:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
topstitching looks so good. this is adorable. I love it and will pick up the pattern.
2/23/08 1:23 PM
Puppy said...
Very cute, looks very well sewn and I'm enjoying your '50's kick!
2/23/08 2:21 PM
Chanel said...
Very cute! I love how this turned out.
2/23/08 3:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
This jacket with that skirt makes for a very classy outfit. Love the color on you.
2/23/08 5:46 PM
Annette1 said...
You swinger, you! I just saw the skirt review, and now here's the jacket. What a FANTASTIC outfit! I really love the two pieces together, and especially with the tights. Move over, Project Runway models, Ryan's Mom is in the hoooooouuuuuse!
2/23/08 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
Classy and stylish and thanks for this review - very helpful - I have the pattern and will make use of your review when I get around to sewing it.
2/23/08 9:08 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is fab! Looks wonderful on you. Great color. I see you've been busy....enjoy reading your reviews. :)
2/23/08 9:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Most helpful review. Great jacket!
2/24/08 7:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
Looks great. I too was a little disappointed in the actual size of the collar for this view. It looks much bigger on the pattern than it turns out to be.
2/24/08 8:55 AM
marjenann said...
Just perfect! The look is fantastic and you wear it very well!!!
2/24/08 4:15 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for your kind comments everyone! I was having the sewing blues after spending an entire day on a wadder right after finishing this suit so the comments cheered me up.
2/25/08 10:03 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Great jacket! I love the vintage look of the cut. Your blog is very nice!
2/25/08 12:00 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty jacket....color looks great on you, very flattering! ;)
2/25/08 5:45 PM
kim*brown said...
You look so cute! I love this on you! Wonderfully constructed!!
3/29/08 6:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Sally Sews on 1/14/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-106
photo
Review by becca a on 4/16/09
Read Review

McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6544 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us