SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5276 (Misses' Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 813 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/08 9:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
This looks wonderful on you! I love that wool--what a great color!
2/23/08 9:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty jacket!
2/23/08 9:24 AM
Enid E said...
Well, your jacket was worth all the changes you needed to make, because it looks wonderful on you, and it fits you so well! Thank you for such a thorough review and enjoy your suit!
2/23/08 9:34 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Tremendous teal swing jacket that enhances your coloring and beckons back to the 40's. You look beautiful! Lovely, unique buttons. Excellent instructive review showing your progression thru the fit and structure process. Thanks, Lily
2/23/08 10:01 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket, I love the swingy back!
2/23/08 10:25 AM
didda said...
great outfit! once again, you look like a barbie doll (except that barbie has permanently pointed toes). wonderful choice of buttons, too.
2/23/08 10:42 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, what a cute outfit. And you did a lot of alterations. The final version shows how much work went into it. I love it!
2/23/08 11:01 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooooooooh! I am speechless! Your entire outfit is ooooooooozing with classy Hollywood glamour, modern appeal and haute couture! You and your jacket should be on the cover of McCall's! Great work! ;-}
2/23/08 12:04 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket.
2/23/08 12:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
topstitching looks so good. this is adorable. I love it and will pick up the pattern.
2/23/08 1:23 PM
Puppy said...
Very cute, looks very well sewn and I'm enjoying your '50's kick!
2/23/08 2:21 PM
Chanel said...
Very cute! I love how this turned out.
2/23/08 3:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
This jacket with that skirt makes for a very classy outfit. Love the color on you.
2/23/08 5:46 PM
Annette1 said...
You swinger, you! I just saw the skirt review, and now here's the jacket. What a FANTASTIC outfit! I really love the two pieces together, and especially with the tights. Move over, Project Runway models, Ryan's Mom is in the hoooooouuuuuse!
2/23/08 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
Classy and stylish and thanks for this review - very helpful - I have the pattern and will make use of your review when I get around to sewing it.
2/23/08 9:08 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is fab! Looks wonderful on you. Great color. I see you've been busy....enjoy reading your reviews. :)
2/23/08 9:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Most helpful review. Great jacket!
2/24/08 7:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
Looks great. I too was a little disappointed in the actual size of the collar for this view. It looks much bigger on the pattern than it turns out to be.
2/24/08 8:55 AM
marjenann said...
Just perfect! The look is fantastic and you wear it very well!!!
2/24/08 4:15 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for your kind comments everyone! I was having the sewing blues after spending an entire day on a wadder right after finishing this suit so the comments cheered me up.
2/25/08 10:03 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Great jacket! I love the vintage look of the cut. Your blog is very nice!
2/25/08 12:00 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty jacket....color looks great on you, very flattering! ;)
2/25/08 5:45 PM
kim*brown said...
You look so cute! I love this on you! Wonderfully constructed!!
3/29/08 6:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 5519

photo
by: caper81

Review
Other Tape Measure/Pincushion

photo
by: jannw

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now