Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7898 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 526 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/08 5:49 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Oziroo, I'm so glad you've sewn this because I have had my eye on this pattern for a while. I had been waiting for someone to post a review before I did anything further. Your finished dress looks really flattering on you and the design changes you made have worked well. Good job!
2/29/08 6:53 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful dress and it looks wonderful on you! I have this pattern and fabric (panne velvet) and now can't wait to get started on it. Thank you for the great review!
2/29/08 8:25 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great hints in your review--I, too, sometimes try to go my own way and not follow instructions and later regret it. However, your wonderful flouncey hem looks great. You made the dress fit you so well, too. Lovely color, as well.
2/29/08 8:29 AM
LindsayT said...
Very stylish on you. Nice work!
2/29/08 9:26 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress Oziroo! I haven't seen you here for a while so welcome back, I love your reviews.
2/29/08 3:28 PM
KathleenS said...
Your dress looks lovely and fits really well too. It also looks just like the pattern envelope, which says good things about the drafting. I've been put off this pattern by all the darts and seams but maybe I should reconsider.
2/29/08 3:58 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stunning dress, Oziroo. I think the diagonal swirly seams are most flattering on you and add visual curves to your slim shape that you wear beautifully. I would have thought it difficult to adapt the swirly seams to a rectangular shape, but your plan to straighten the overall shape at the side seams was brilliantly straightforward. A lesson to me that 'less cogitation is more effective.' Pretty, pretty dress. -Lily
2/29/08 5:31 PM
ALY said...
I also admired this dress when it first appeared in Burda WOF. It looks great on you. Was your Panne velvet a knit or a woven? I have seen both types and wondered which one was the best choice for this dress.
2/29/08 8:23 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks for the encouraging comments everyone. Yes, you are right, Schnauzer, I have been somewhat absent: lazy would be a more accurate assessment. I seem to have made a lot of t-shirts lately! ALY, My fabric is a knit with about 30-40% stretch. That's why I didn't need a zip. Yippee!
2/29/08 11:02 PM
yummymummy38 said...
thanks for posting Oziroo, I also liked this in the magazine and with your hints will tackle it one of these days. I'll probably need much the same alterations for my rectangular form. Interesting seaming, yet you've shown it to be quite a wearable dress
3/1/08 7:33 AM
Sewingmi said...
Very pretty dress, and I love the fabric.
3/1/08 12:58 PM
Larkin said...
Thanks for sharing you pre-sewing jitters with us. I would have been concerned about keeping a knit under control on this pattern but you've eased my fears. And, you look beautiful in your dress!
3/1/08 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 4003
photo
Review by Immelu on 9/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by mnitts on 10/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us