SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2948 (Twin Sets)

42 more reviews
Viewed 895 times 
Reviewed by:TwilaO
photo

 
 
About TwilaOstar
MT USA
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 9:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
this looks great!! I like it actually.
2/28/08 6:53 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Twila ... thinking ... how about a belt? You could make a wide or narrow leather/suede belt, with your same knit wrapped around to the front of the top and bottom length of your leather suede or belt; add an interesting (to your taste) slide belt closure. This would give you the more fitted silhouette you're seeking, as you could push excess cardigan width to the sides/back of your body. Push the sleeves of your cardigan up to mid-forearm, or leave them sleek to your wrists and trim the sleeve bottom edges in the same leather or suede. Wear a dainty cami or same color lace knit square neck shell under your cardigan. You'd then have both fitted and dainty. (If you like the belt idea, PM me and I'll give you more specific directions and/or sew a tiny sample w/photo for you.) -Lily
2/28/08 10:46 AM
carolynw said...
It fits you well but I agree with the suggestions for making it "younger" to better suit you - I have made this in a really lovely and unusual slinky with lots of sparkle and beading and it looks lovely with a matching cami underneath. On other occasions I made it out of fleece to wear strictly at home because I too feel cardigans as a whole are hmmm??
2/28/08 9:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I agree with your characterization although you sewed this cardigan beautifully. You may able to combine with another young fun item you own to bring it more into your generation. -Lily
2/27/08 11:11 PM
CSM--Carla said...
I am so glad you said about the cardigan being too old a style for you....I have felt that they make me look dowdy and have moved away from that style too--And I am much older than you are! Enjoyed your blog. Sweater does look cute on you! Very helpful review. Nice to hear that front band was easier than it seems. Thanks for sharing. Thanks to Skye and rahayu for ideas to "youthen up" the cardigan!! Carla
2/27/08 10:33 PM
Skye said...
Shorten the sleeves to 3/4 , various trims, fold over elastic to bind the edges funky material and like rahayu says a cami looks good underneath too
2/27/08 10:01 PM
rahayu said...
Maybe I suggest you spice up the cardigan like adding beads or sequins along the front edges and have a tie ribbon at the waist...that way you don't feel like kinda 'old feeling'.... and maybe pair up with a lacy hemmed camisole underneath...oooh...you'll feel young again. I love your dress too, simple and sweet with a touch of elegance...
2/27/08 9:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Tamanegi-kobo 10AW-S01

photo
by: Sarsez

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now