Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2948 (Twin Sets) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 892 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:TwilaO
photo
About TwilaOstar
MT USA
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 9:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rahayu said...
Maybe I suggest you spice up the cardigan like adding beads or sequins along the front edges and have a tie ribbon at the waist...that way you don't feel like kinda 'old feeling'.... and maybe pair up with a lacy hemmed camisole underneath...oooh...you'll feel young again. I love your dress too, simple and sweet with a touch of elegance...
2/27/08 9:46 PM
Skye said...
Shorten the sleeves to 3/4 , various trims, fold over elastic to bind the edges funky material and like rahayu says a cami looks good underneath too
2/27/08 10:01 PM
CSM--Carla said...
I am so glad you said about the cardigan being too old a style for you....I have felt that they make me look dowdy and have moved away from that style too--And I am much older than you are! Enjoyed your blog. Sweater does look cute on you! Very helpful review. Nice to hear that front band was easier than it seems. Thanks for sharing. Thanks to Skye and rahayu for ideas to "youthen up" the cardigan!! Carla
2/27/08 10:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I agree with your characterization although you sewed this cardigan beautifully. You may able to combine with another young fun item you own to bring it more into your generation. -Lily
2/27/08 11:11 PM
carolynw said...
It fits you well but I agree with the suggestions for making it "younger" to better suit you - I have made this in a really lovely and unusual slinky with lots of sparkle and beading and it looks lovely with a matching cami underneath. On other occasions I made it out of fleece to wear strictly at home because I too feel cardigans as a whole are hmmm??
2/28/08 9:13 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Twila ... thinking ... how about a belt? You could make a wide or narrow leather/suede belt, with your same knit wrapped around to the front of the top and bottom length of your leather suede or belt; add an interesting (to your taste) slide belt closure. This would give you the more fitted silhouette you're seeking, as you could push excess cardigan width to the sides/back of your body. Push the sleeves of your cardigan up to mid-forearm, or leave them sleek to your wrists and trim the sleeve bottom edges in the same leather or suede. Wear a dainty cami or same color lace knit square neck shell under your cardigan. You'd then have both fitted and dainty. (If you like the belt idea, PM me and I'll give you more specific directions and/or sew a tiny sample w/photo for you.) -Lily
2/28/08 10:46 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks great!! I like it actually.
2/28/08 6:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Sense & Sensibility Girls\' Regency Dress
photo
Review by Klinkerpop... on 10/27/09
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by Futuralon on 1/19/14
Read Review

New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6295 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8936 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us