SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> m5583 (Misses Petite Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 3669 times 
Reviewed by:Ms Dish
photo

 
 
About Ms Dishstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/17/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:3/13/08 10:55 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
80 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
etaC said...
How wonderful and inspiring!!!
4/3/08 4:09 AM
WJean said...
I don't know when I've read so many compliments about a member's work as I have with your creation. There is not too much to add other than - 'You Go Girl!'
4/1/08 2:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is one HOT dress - congrats on your win!!!!!!
4/1/08 12:40 PM
Lilianne said...
Congratulations! The dress looks fabulous. How clever to make the design changes that you did. I too would have faced it the way you did. Good luck on your next project.
4/1/08 11:29 AM
Sari said...
I love this dress! I wonder, how difficult was it to make the curved sleeve pieces without stretching? Did Ms. Dish use iron stabilizer???
4/1/08 11:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful!!!
3/25/08 7:53 PM
Jasmine54 said...
Very nice!
3/25/08 6:47 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Ms. Dish. Your dress is truly amazing.
3/17/08 9:20 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Excellent!
3/15/08 2:53 PM
Marji said...
Congratulations on a beautifully rendered garment. *question: am I the only one that can't open this picture? I've tried a zillion times and I just cant' open the thumbnail.
3/15/08 9:49 AM
coolobreeze said...
Fabulous!
3/14/08 4:14 PM
Ms Dish said...
You all are so generous!! Thank you for your lovely comments and votes! What an honor it is to be part of such a AWESOME online community :-)Smooches!!!
3/14/08 4:03 PM
Sew_Creative said...
congratulations on your well deserved win this is really a great job.
3/14/08 3:04 PM
barb111 said...
GREAT JOB I now have some inspiration to get my lazy butt up and start to SEW THANKS
3/14/08 3:04 PM
EveS said...
Now THAT is IMPRESSIVE...and inspiring!!! Makes me want to go hack up some patterns pieces RIGHT NOW. Trina should be jealous. :)
3/13/08 11:05 PM
Melody said...
Dang Girl! That is too fabu! It's incredible!!
3/13/08 10:16 PM
MarthaH said...
Awesome!! Beautiful! I like yours better. My very picky daughter just said "wow, I'd wear that dress!". Very cool.
3/13/08 8:00 PM
alethia said...
Beautiful, job well done
3/13/08 7:26 PM
neuwifesews said...
Wow, your dress is SPOT ON! Wear it with pride. Just curious, do you know how much the Trina Turk original would have cost you?
3/12/08 11:58 PM
Anelie said...
Bravo Ms Dish! Superb effort!
3/12/08 8:14 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Miss Dish, You certainly Dished it! That dress is outstanding!
3/8/08 8:29 AM
alethia said...
Awesome, the sleeves are off the chain
3/7/08 11:01 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic! You did an amazing job on those sleeves!
3/7/08 10:10 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutley beautiful. You did a great job.
3/7/08 12:52 PM
Trudy J said...
Wow! You are an inspiration.
3/7/08 0:39 AM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
3/6/08 12:11 PM
Lesalicious said...
I love the dress Dish so cute lovely. :) you look so nice in it.
3/6/08 11:50 AM
JulieP said...
Kudos! This is fabulous! I too couldn't tell which was the original and which was the super-duper knock off.
3/5/08 8:32 PM
Athene said...
What a beautiful knockoff. You look simply gorgeous in it.
3/5/08 2:43 PM
khrome said...
I can't believe you made that!! I mean, it looks like THE EXACT same dress as in the ad! Wonderful job!
3/5/08 6:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Love those sleeves! I would swear it was the same dress.
3/4/08 11:05 PM
kim*brown said...
You go girl!
3/4/08 11:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic knock off. Great job!
3/4/08 6:47 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning!!!
3/3/08 9:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous copy!!!!
3/3/08 9:34 PM
jen_e said...
Now this has "wow factor." Very, very nice.
3/3/08 9:31 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Love, love, love it! I'm going to look for you to show up in the NY Times "On the Street" section.
3/3/08 7:07 PM
Nancy K said...
Fantastic dress! Looks just like the original
3/3/08 5:47 PM
LindsayT said...
Super stunning. Great choice to knock off.
3/3/08 4:57 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! What beautiful execution of your inspiration! Have fun wearing and get ready for the compliments!
3/3/08 4:50 PM
marjenann said...
Unbelievable!! What an incredible dress! A million congratulations!
3/3/08 4:33 PM
ChristineX said...
OMG I love it!!!!!
3/3/08 1:48 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is the hotness! I love that!
3/3/08 1:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well Ms Dish, how you transformed that elemental McCalls pattern into this intricate and stunning dress has to be the Eighth Wonder of the World! To say you have "vision" is to say that Picasso dabbled in paints. Nothing short of breathtaking! -Lily
3/3/08 1:27 PM
Shikisew said...
Love it! You not only interpreted it but made it even better! And I truly believe what is custom made should be BETTER than ready to wear!
3/3/08 1:26 PM
Sheila457 said...
Strikingly Fabulous.
3/3/08 1:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Dear Hard-Core Crafter: :o) I, as well, LOVE your dress! The black-and-white combination is so striking and the design incorporated into the sleeves gives as nice flow. Just beautiful. Now get to crocheting that cap!
3/3/08 12:59 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a knock out dress. Much better than the original. The sleeves are to die for. Very inspiring.
3/3/08 12:55 PM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a terrific job! All you need is a big necklace and you will look just like the model!
3/3/08 11:17 AM
KrystalL said...
Those sleeves are the business! Get it, girl! ;-D
3/3/08 10:50 AM
Irene Q said...
Love it!!! Any chance of a closeup of those sleeves?
3/3/08 10:38 AM
JaneH said...
Wow!!
3/3/08 10:32 AM
Lyudmila said...
Wow, i want that dress! So prettty!!!!!!!!!
3/3/08 10:27 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I know everybody says this, but yours really is better! The RTW is too 'designer-y' with that sleeve volume at the shoulder. Yours is much more wearable. The sleeve length is better, too.
3/3/08 9:34 AM
ChristineBR said...
Love the witty label on photo to go with your great dress.
3/3/08 9:23 AM
CShelley said...
You nailed it! You should be very pleased with yourself. Enjoy!
3/3/08 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Ohmy goodness - I had a hard time figuring out which was the knock off then realised th ebetter one was yours - Bravo Miss Dish!!
3/3/08 8:47 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous! You look like you belong on the catwalk in that dress!
3/3/08 8:26 AM
nellc said...
Fabulous dress.
3/3/08 8:19 AM
cindyann said...
That's sooooo cool! It's super fabulous.
3/3/08 8:03 AM
CarolynGM said...
Amazing dress. I am so impressed with how perfect the sleeves are.
3/3/08 8:00 AM
Ronda Rae said...
You NAILED it! Great job.
3/3/08 6:21 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! Those sleeves are just stunning and you've even got the pose spot on! :)
3/3/08 6:13 AM
KathleenS said...
Just like the original! How much money did you save by doing it yourself?
3/3/08 4:53 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute and trendy. You did a great job with yr interpretation! Those sleeves are fabulous!
3/3/08 3:22 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I actually like yours better. The neckline accents the sleeves and shoulders better. Fabulous job on the sleeves.
3/3/08 0:18 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is so fabulous, I agree with Karla, it's pretty hard to tell which one is the original!
3/3/08 0:07 AM
lmg said...
Totally amazing!
3/2/08 11:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm sure glad you labeled the orginal and your version; I wouldn't have been able to figure out which was which. Fabulous!
3/2/08 11:16 PM
Lori V said...
This is wonderful. The sleeves are fantastic.
3/2/08 11:09 PM
Mahler said...
One word is enough: breath taking... well that is two words. Ok lets do it again: one expression is enough: superbe ! I agree with dvmcindy really, really though to beat. Great, great dress, you look fabulous with it.
3/2/08 11:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely electrifying! Wonderful knockoff!
3/2/08 10:52 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a fabulous interpretation! I LOVE the sleeves on your dress!
3/2/08 10:51 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
total hotness!! omg, I LOVE those sleeves!
3/2/08 10:43 PM
gaby said...
WOW, you made such an awesome dress!! LOVE it!
3/2/08 10:25 PM
Sew Confused said...
Fabulous!
3/2/08 10:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
UH-MAY-ZING!! (amazing!) This will be tough to beat! I LOVE the trendy, vintage, style and those black and white cures-stupendous.
3/2/08 10:02 PM
rosannec said...
Jeez, you ARE a dish! That is definitely a knock off if there ever was one! Amazing dress; be very, very proud of your work!
3/2/08 8:56 PM
Riordan said...
How beautiful!!! Your dress is wonderful--an amazing interpretation of the Trina Turk dress!!
3/2/08 8:54 PM
MissCelie said...
GET OUT!! Those sleeves are AMAZING. I think you need to pack this up and send it down to me. Wow.
3/2/08 8:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: CypGrl

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now