SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> m5583 (Misses Petite Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 3669 times 
Reviewed by:Ms Dish
photo

 
 
About Ms Dishstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/17/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:3/13/08 10:55 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
80 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
GET OUT!! Those sleeves are AMAZING. I think you need to pack this up and send it down to me. Wow.
3/2/08 8:47 PM
Riordan said...
How beautiful!!! Your dress is wonderful--an amazing interpretation of the Trina Turk dress!!
3/2/08 8:54 PM
rosannec said...
Jeez, you ARE a dish! That is definitely a knock off if there ever was one! Amazing dress; be very, very proud of your work!
3/2/08 8:56 PM
CynthiaSue said...
UH-MAY-ZING!! (amazing!) This will be tough to beat! I LOVE the trendy, vintage, style and those black and white cures-stupendous.
3/2/08 10:02 PM
Sew Confused said...
Fabulous!
3/2/08 10:07 PM
gaby said...
WOW, you made such an awesome dress!! LOVE it!
3/2/08 10:25 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
total hotness!! omg, I LOVE those sleeves!
3/2/08 10:43 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a fabulous interpretation! I LOVE the sleeves on your dress!
3/2/08 10:51 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely electrifying! Wonderful knockoff!
3/2/08 10:52 PM
Mahler said...
One word is enough: breath taking... well that is two words. Ok lets do it again: one expression is enough: superbe ! I agree with dvmcindy really, really though to beat. Great, great dress, you look fabulous with it.
3/2/08 11:07 PM
Lori V said...
This is wonderful. The sleeves are fantastic.
3/2/08 11:09 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm sure glad you labeled the orginal and your version; I wouldn't have been able to figure out which was which. Fabulous!
3/2/08 11:16 PM
lmg said...
Totally amazing!
3/2/08 11:26 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is so fabulous, I agree with Karla, it's pretty hard to tell which one is the original!
3/3/08 0:07 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I actually like yours better. The neckline accents the sleeves and shoulders better. Fabulous job on the sleeves.
3/3/08 0:18 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute and trendy. You did a great job with yr interpretation! Those sleeves are fabulous!
3/3/08 3:22 AM
KathleenS said...
Just like the original! How much money did you save by doing it yourself?
3/3/08 4:53 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! Those sleeves are just stunning and you've even got the pose spot on! :)
3/3/08 6:13 AM
Ronda Rae said...
You NAILED it! Great job.
3/3/08 6:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
Amazing dress. I am so impressed with how perfect the sleeves are.
3/3/08 8:00 AM
cindyann said...
That's sooooo cool! It's super fabulous.
3/3/08 8:03 AM
nellc said...
Fabulous dress.
3/3/08 8:19 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous! You look like you belong on the catwalk in that dress!
3/3/08 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Ohmy goodness - I had a hard time figuring out which was the knock off then realised th ebetter one was yours - Bravo Miss Dish!!
3/3/08 8:47 AM
CShelley said...
You nailed it! You should be very pleased with yourself. Enjoy!
3/3/08 8:51 AM
ChristineBR said...
Love the witty label on photo to go with your great dress.
3/3/08 9:23 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I know everybody says this, but yours really is better! The RTW is too 'designer-y' with that sleeve volume at the shoulder. Yours is much more wearable. The sleeve length is better, too.
3/3/08 9:34 AM
Lyudmila said...
Wow, i want that dress! So prettty!!!!!!!!!
3/3/08 10:27 AM
JaneH said...
Wow!!
3/3/08 10:32 AM
Irene Q said...
Love it!!! Any chance of a closeup of those sleeves?
3/3/08 10:38 AM
KrystalL said...
Those sleeves are the business! Get it, girl! ;-D
3/3/08 10:50 AM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a terrific job! All you need is a big necklace and you will look just like the model!
3/3/08 11:17 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a knock out dress. Much better than the original. The sleeves are to die for. Very inspiring.
3/3/08 12:55 PM
Annette1 said...
Dear Hard-Core Crafter: :o) I, as well, LOVE your dress! The black-and-white combination is so striking and the design incorporated into the sleeves gives as nice flow. Just beautiful. Now get to crocheting that cap!
3/3/08 12:59 PM
Sheila457 said...
Strikingly Fabulous.
3/3/08 1:02 PM
Shikisew said...
Love it! You not only interpreted it but made it even better! And I truly believe what is custom made should be BETTER than ready to wear!
3/3/08 1:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well Ms Dish, how you transformed that elemental McCalls pattern into this intricate and stunning dress has to be the Eighth Wonder of the World! To say you have "vision" is to say that Picasso dabbled in paints. Nothing short of breathtaking! -Lily
3/3/08 1:27 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is the hotness! I love that!
3/3/08 1:33 PM
ChristineX said...
OMG I love it!!!!!
3/3/08 1:48 PM
marjenann said...
Unbelievable!! What an incredible dress! A million congratulations!
3/3/08 4:33 PM
Larkin said...
Wow! What beautiful execution of your inspiration! Have fun wearing and get ready for the compliments!
3/3/08 4:50 PM
LindsayT said...
Super stunning. Great choice to knock off.
3/3/08 4:57 PM
Nancy K said...
Fantastic dress! Looks just like the original
3/3/08 5:47 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Love, love, love it! I'm going to look for you to show up in the NY Times "On the Street" section.
3/3/08 7:07 PM
jen_e said...
Now this has "wow factor." Very, very nice.
3/3/08 9:31 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous copy!!!!
3/3/08 9:34 PM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning!!!
3/3/08 9:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic knock off. Great job!
3/4/08 6:47 AM
kim*brown said...
You go girl!
3/4/08 11:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Love those sleeves! I would swear it was the same dress.
3/4/08 11:05 PM
khrome said...
I can't believe you made that!! I mean, it looks like THE EXACT same dress as in the ad! Wonderful job!
3/5/08 6:20 AM
Athene said...
What a beautiful knockoff. You look simply gorgeous in it.
3/5/08 2:43 PM
JulieP said...
Kudos! This is fabulous! I too couldn't tell which was the original and which was the super-duper knock off.
3/5/08 8:32 PM
Lesalicious said...
I love the dress Dish so cute lovely. :) you look so nice in it.
3/6/08 11:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
3/6/08 12:11 PM
Trudy J said...
Wow! You are an inspiration.
3/7/08 0:39 AM
Linda G said...
Absolutley beautiful. You did a great job.
3/7/08 12:52 PM
Birgitte said...
Fantastic! You did an amazing job on those sleeves!
3/7/08 10:10 PM
alethia said...
Awesome, the sleeves are off the chain
3/7/08 11:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Miss Dish, You certainly Dished it! That dress is outstanding!
3/8/08 8:29 AM
Anelie said...
Bravo Ms Dish! Superb effort!
3/12/08 8:14 AM
neuwifesews said...
Wow, your dress is SPOT ON! Wear it with pride. Just curious, do you know how much the Trina Turk original would have cost you?
3/12/08 11:58 PM
alethia said...
Beautiful, job well done
3/13/08 7:26 PM
MarthaH said...
Awesome!! Beautiful! I like yours better. My very picky daughter just said "wow, I'd wear that dress!". Very cool.
3/13/08 8:00 PM
Melody said...
Dang Girl! That is too fabu! It's incredible!!
3/13/08 10:16 PM
EveS said...
Now THAT is IMPRESSIVE...and inspiring!!! Makes me want to go hack up some patterns pieces RIGHT NOW. Trina should be jealous. :)
3/13/08 11:05 PM
barb111 said...
GREAT JOB I now have some inspiration to get my lazy butt up and start to SEW THANKS
3/14/08 3:04 PM
Sew_Creative said...
congratulations on your well deserved win this is really a great job.
3/14/08 3:04 PM
Ms Dish said...
You all are so generous!! Thank you for your lovely comments and votes! What an honor it is to be part of such a AWESOME online community :-)Smooches!!!
3/14/08 4:03 PM
coolobreeze said...
Fabulous!
3/14/08 4:14 PM
Marji said...
Congratulations on a beautifully rendered garment. *question: am I the only one that can't open this picture? I've tried a zillion times and I just cant' open the thumbnail.
3/15/08 9:49 AM
Charlene McGill said...
Excellent!
3/15/08 2:53 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Ms. Dish. Your dress is truly amazing.
3/17/08 9:20 PM
Jasmine54 said...
Very nice!
3/25/08 6:47 PM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful!!!
3/25/08 7:53 PM
Sari said...
I love this dress! I wonder, how difficult was it to make the curved sleeve pieces without stretching? Did Ms. Dish use iron stabilizer???
4/1/08 11:17 AM
Lilianne said...
Congratulations! The dress looks fabulous. How clever to make the design changes that you did. I too would have faced it the way you did. Good luck on your next project.
4/1/08 11:29 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is one HOT dress - congrats on your win!!!!!!
4/1/08 12:40 PM
WJean said...
I don't know when I've read so many compliments about a member's work as I have with your creation. There is not too much to add other than - 'You Go Girl!'
4/1/08 2:28 PM
etaC said...
How wonderful and inspiring!!!
4/3/08 4:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 286481-1009

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now