SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5043 (Misses Skirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:emo
photo

 
 
About emostar
IL USA
Member since: 8/27/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/08 8:19 AM
Last Updated:3/10/08 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuliaS said...
I made a bubble skirt last summer and also didn't like it too much. I don't know; maybe it's an exaggerated style not suited to real life and real women? So sorry about the disappointment.
3/7/08 8:58 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Ha ha! Are we married to the same man?! I'm sorry you didn't like the skirt...but I must say that it looks really pretty on you.
3/7/08 10:07 AM
CharityAK said...
Okay...my taste must be warped because I LIKE the skirt. :) I do agree that a fabric with more drape would be preferably. A rayon or challis would be pretty. But I do like it. And, no, I'm not an MC Hammer fan.
3/7/08 10:20 AM
greenandlilac said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out but you should save it for a costume, when I first saw the picture I thought immediately of Turkish soldiers or the Pope's Swiss Guards.
3/7/08 10:32 AM
anuprabhu said...
I actually agree with Julia S - I think bubble skirts just aren't for real women. I've tried RTW versions and get the same "MC Hammer - Can't Touch This effect" (can we coin that term?). The top looks great though!
3/7/08 10:39 AM
CShelley said...
My first though...Anna and the King of Siam. I think some fashions are meant to be worn by 6 foot tall, very very thin women. Bummer.
3/7/08 11:36 AM
Physics Girl said...
Just in today: According to the New York Times, MC Hammer pants may be back (although this is the men's fashion spring 2008)!http://www.nytimes.com/indexes/2008/03/09/style/t/index.html#pageName=09Hammer Yikes. I've been tempted by the bubble skirt myself... but looks like the bubble might be bust. Glad to see, however, that the Vogue pants worked well for your wardrobe!
3/7/08 11:53 AM
emo said...
Physics girl -- yes, thanks for the help on the pants; they are great. I am thrilled to hear that Hammer pants are back, of course; perhaps I will alter this pattern and make a pair for DH :)
3/7/08 12:08 PM
Jennifer Czuprynski said...
In the words of M.C. Hammer, "Ya Cant Touch This!"
3/7/08 6:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
My thoughts were running parallel with those of CShelley, as I too pictured Lady Chiang in the King and I. I do think they're cute, just kinda weird at the same time. If you retry them in knit, please share the result with us. -Lily
3/7/08 8:23 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for the heads-up. Those skirts look cute on the models, but I always feared I'd look like I'd blow away in one. Think it's best to for me to avoid this style right now.
3/8/08 8:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, if Charity is warped, then I am too. I can easily see this skirt with a cute little white eyelet top (fitted, not too long) and some strappy white or flesh-colored flat sandals in the summer. I think it'd be really cute. :o) I love balloon skirts, and I most DEFINITELY don't have the figure for them, but I'm by-gosh going to make one one of these days anyway. :o) Mine'll have to be LONG, to hide a multitude of sins that you don't have to worry about. :o)
3/9/08 5:21 AM
VtMartha said...
Wow! What a difference! I was never quite clear if the earlier garment was pants or a skirt ;-) but this one is wonderful.
3/10/08 10:36 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Good for you trying it again! You are braver than me, and it looks like it paid off. Very cute skirt, and your fabric is very attractive!
3/10/08 10:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Okay, now this is a world of difference. Suddenly, it looks sleek and subtle but still retains a bit of mystery. Lovely, elegant, chic. (Send your first one to CharityAK and we'll demand a fashion show.) Truly, this one is superb! -Lily
3/11/08 0:45 AM
Kbenco said...
This version is a wonderful save, and I am really glad you have a nice garment from a pattern that started out as a "terrible" ranking. It is clever of you to try a knit, I would not have thought of a knit skirt if the pattern had not suggested it first.
3/11/08 5:31 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow, that is way better. I'm glad the story had a happy ending! (apart from the MCHammer songs)
3/11/08 6:09 AM
HeyJane said...
I already don't trust pattern makers' instructions. Now I can add I don't trust their fabric suggestions, either. What a great skirt when you did it your way, excellent !!
3/11/08 10:06 AM
Athene said...
I love the knit skirt.
3/11/08 3:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Perfect! I like your first skirt too, but this one is really sleek looking. It ends at just the right spot on your leg, too. Beautiful!
3/11/08 6:19 PM
anetJay said...
you're hilarious and your skirt is very cool !! love it :)
3/27/08 4:05 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice in your new fabric. And I love that fabric. As for that 1st version: well, sometimes the pattern designers don't know what they are talking about when they recommend a fabric!
5/9/08 11:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Stitch Magazine 12-2011-dahliapurse

photo
by: the thread...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now