Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5043 (Misses Skirts) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1102 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:emo
photo
About emostar
IL USA
Member since: 8/27/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/08 8:19 AM
Last Updated:3/10/08 9:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuliaS said...
I made a bubble skirt last summer and also didn't like it too much. I don't know; maybe it's an exaggerated style not suited to real life and real women? So sorry about the disappointment.
3/7/08 8:58 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Ha ha! Are we married to the same man?! I'm sorry you didn't like the skirt...but I must say that it looks really pretty on you.
3/7/08 10:07 AM
CharityAK said...
Okay...my taste must be warped because I LIKE the skirt. :) I do agree that a fabric with more drape would be preferably. A rayon or challis would be pretty. But I do like it. And, no, I'm not an MC Hammer fan.
3/7/08 10:20 AM
greenandlilac said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out but you should save it for a costume, when I first saw the picture I thought immediately of Turkish soldiers or the Pope's Swiss Guards.
3/7/08 10:32 AM
anuprabhu said...
I actually agree with Julia S - I think bubble skirts just aren't for real women. I've tried RTW versions and get the same "MC Hammer - Can't Touch This effect" (can we coin that term?). The top looks great though!
3/7/08 10:39 AM
CShelley said...
My first though...Anna and the King of Siam. I think some fashions are meant to be worn by 6 foot tall, very very thin women. Bummer.
3/7/08 11:36 AM
Physics Girl said...
Just in today: According to the New York Times, MC Hammer pants may be back (although this is the men's fashion spring 2008)!http://www.nytimes.com/indexes/2008/03/09/style/t/index.html#pageName=09Hammer Yikes. I've been tempted by the bubble skirt myself... but looks like the bubble might be bust. Glad to see, however, that the Vogue pants worked well for your wardrobe!
3/7/08 11:53 AM
emo said...
Physics girl -- yes, thanks for the help on the pants; they are great. I am thrilled to hear that Hammer pants are back, of course; perhaps I will alter this pattern and make a pair for DH :)
3/7/08 12:08 PM
Jennifer Czuprynski said...
In the words of M.C. Hammer, "Ya Cant Touch This!"
3/7/08 6:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
My thoughts were running parallel with those of CShelley, as I too pictured Lady Chiang in the King and I. I do think they're cute, just kinda weird at the same time. If you retry them in knit, please share the result with us. -Lily
3/7/08 8:23 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for the heads-up. Those skirts look cute on the models, but I always feared I'd look like I'd blow away in one. Think it's best to for me to avoid this style right now.
3/8/08 8:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, if Charity is warped, then I am too. I can easily see this skirt with a cute little white eyelet top (fitted, not too long) and some strappy white or flesh-colored flat sandals in the summer. I think it'd be really cute. :o) I love balloon skirts, and I most DEFINITELY don't have the figure for them, but I'm by-gosh going to make one one of these days anyway. :o) Mine'll have to be LONG, to hide a multitude of sins that you don't have to worry about. :o)
3/9/08 5:21 AM
VtMartha said...
Wow! What a difference! I was never quite clear if the earlier garment was pants or a skirt ;-) but this one is wonderful.
3/10/08 10:36 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Good for you trying it again! You are braver than me, and it looks like it paid off. Very cute skirt, and your fabric is very attractive!
3/10/08 10:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Okay, now this is a world of difference. Suddenly, it looks sleek and subtle but still retains a bit of mystery. Lovely, elegant, chic. (Send your first one to CharityAK and we'll demand a fashion show.) Truly, this one is superb! -Lily
3/11/08 0:45 AM
Kbenco said...
This version is a wonderful save, and I am really glad you have a nice garment from a pattern that started out as a "terrible" ranking. It is clever of you to try a knit, I would not have thought of a knit skirt if the pattern had not suggested it first.
3/11/08 5:31 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow, that is way better. I'm glad the story had a happy ending! (apart from the MCHammer songs)
3/11/08 6:09 AM
HeyJane said...
I already don't trust pattern makers' instructions. Now I can add I don't trust their fabric suggestions, either. What a great skirt when you did it your way, excellent !!
3/11/08 10:06 AM
Athene said...
I love the knit skirt.
3/11/08 3:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Perfect! I like your first skirt too, but this one is really sleek looking. It ends at just the right spot on your leg, too. Beautiful!
3/11/08 6:19 PM
anetJay said...
you're hilarious and your skirt is very cool !! love it :)
3/27/08 4:05 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice in your new fabric. And I love that fabric. As for that 1st version: well, sometimes the pattern designers don't know what they are talking about when they recommend a fabric!
5/9/08 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3788 easy tank tops
photo
Review by onebyone on 8/26/10
Read Review

Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LJ Designs 791 Sassy Jacket
photo
Review by Patti B on 3/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us