SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-127 (Jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/08 0:23 AM
Last Updated:3/12/08 7:26 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Becky Coleman said...
They look super! Figure-hugging and comfortable. Great job.
3/12/08 7:41 AM
squirrellypoo said...
These look great! It's so worth it when you finally get a great fitting pair that make YOU feel like a million dollars! I use a BWOF pattern as my TNT jeans/trousers pattern, too.
3/12/08 9:00 AM
Sewing Jane said...
You are so lucky! Those jeans look really great. In answer to your question about scooping the back some more, try folding some length out of the leg between the upper thigh and the knee. To me, they look just a little long there. You should be really proud of them.
3/12/08 9:47 AM
Patti B said...
Amazing jeans! Great job. I agree with Jane to try folding out some of the back thigh length, but, really, if you found jeans in RTW that fit like these, you'd buy every pair!
3/12/08 8:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I have an odd shaped yoke too for my TNT jeans pattern. The yoke is a great fitting tool and I'm glad you got these to work. Now you can make a ton in interesting colors.
3/13/08 8:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, Juliette, these jeans look wonderful on you. I'm no fitting expert and so cannot comment on potential tweakings, but I really love the way they fit you. Make many, many more. -Lily
3/14/08 1:16 AM
jhansby said...
I'm working on my own jeans and checking out reviews...this is a nice pattern!! You review is asking about the wrinkles that appear in the back?....I just took Peggy Sagers' seminar at Puyallup and she covered this very thing (I have the same problem). It's caused by the crotch line curve being too long. If you make a horizontal pleat in your pattern starting at CB and going to nothing at the side seam this will fix it. You may then have a curve like a "wedgie" that is too high, so then you drop your crotch depth line. It was pretty cool to see her pull people from the audience and fix this issue on so many.
3/27/08 11:05 PM
juliette2 said...
jhansby, thank you very much for that fitting tip! I'll try it next time I make these jeans. It sounds like the right solution!
4/28/08 8:48 AM
ignutzz said...
Well, I'm inspired! I have the exact same fitting issues that you do and finding pants or jeans that fit well is impossible. The one fit suggestion I would make is to add a bit of width from the widest part of your hip on down. Pants look best on pear figures when they hang straight down from the hip (but that doesn't necessarily mean you have to do super wide legs, just give the illusion) because it deemphasizes the hip curve.
11/6/08 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

McCall's 8574

photo
by: Trinity.

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 190109-1001

photo
by: GwenH

Review
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now