Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-127 (Jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 689 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/08 0:23 AM
Last Updated:3/12/08 7:26 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Becky Coleman said...
They look super! Figure-hugging and comfortable. Great job.
3/12/08 7:41 AM
squirrellypoo said...
These look great! It's so worth it when you finally get a great fitting pair that make YOU feel like a million dollars! I use a BWOF pattern as my TNT jeans/trousers pattern, too.
3/12/08 9:00 AM
Sewing Jane said...
You are so lucky! Those jeans look really great. In answer to your question about scooping the back some more, try folding some length out of the leg between the upper thigh and the knee. To me, they look just a little long there. You should be really proud of them.
3/12/08 9:47 AM
Patti B said...
Amazing jeans! Great job. I agree with Jane to try folding out some of the back thigh length, but, really, if you found jeans in RTW that fit like these, you'd buy every pair!
3/12/08 8:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I have an odd shaped yoke too for my TNT jeans pattern. The yoke is a great fitting tool and I'm glad you got these to work. Now you can make a ton in interesting colors.
3/13/08 8:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, Juliette, these jeans look wonderful on you. I'm no fitting expert and so cannot comment on potential tweakings, but I really love the way they fit you. Make many, many more. -Lily
3/14/08 1:16 AM
jhansby said...
I'm working on my own jeans and checking out reviews...this is a nice pattern!! You review is asking about the wrinkles that appear in the back?....I just took Peggy Sagers' seminar at Puyallup and she covered this very thing (I have the same problem). It's caused by the crotch line curve being too long. If you make a horizontal pleat in your pattern starting at CB and going to nothing at the side seam this will fix it. You may then have a curve like a "wedgie" that is too high, so then you drop your crotch depth line. It was pretty cool to see her pull people from the audience and fix this issue on so many.
3/27/08 11:05 PM
juliette2 said...
jhansby, thank you very much for that fitting tip! I'll try it next time I make these jeans. It sounds like the right solution!
4/28/08 8:48 AM
ignutzz said...
Well, I'm inspired! I have the exact same fitting issues that you do and finding pants or jeans that fit well is impossible. The one fit suggestion I would make is to add a bit of width from the widest part of your hip on down. Pants look best on pear figures when they hang straight down from the hip (but that doesn't necessarily mean you have to do super wide legs, just give the illusion) because it deemphasizes the hip curve.
11/6/08 2:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by Knitz on 5/15/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4643
photo
Review by jessika on 3/5/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us