SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-127 (Jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:juliette2
photo

 
 
About juliette2star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/18/03
Reviews written: 60
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/08 0:23 AM
Last Updated:3/12/08 7:26 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ignutzz said...
Well, I'm inspired! I have the exact same fitting issues that you do and finding pants or jeans that fit well is impossible. The one fit suggestion I would make is to add a bit of width from the widest part of your hip on down. Pants look best on pear figures when they hang straight down from the hip (but that doesn't necessarily mean you have to do super wide legs, just give the illusion) because it deemphasizes the hip curve.
11/6/08 2:48 PM
juliette2 said...
jhansby, thank you very much for that fitting tip! I'll try it next time I make these jeans. It sounds like the right solution!
4/28/08 8:48 AM
jhansby said...
I'm working on my own jeans and checking out reviews...this is a nice pattern!! You review is asking about the wrinkles that appear in the back?....I just took Peggy Sagers' seminar at Puyallup and she covered this very thing (I have the same problem). It's caused by the crotch line curve being too long. If you make a horizontal pleat in your pattern starting at CB and going to nothing at the side seam this will fix it. You may then have a curve like a "wedgie" that is too high, so then you drop your crotch depth line. It was pretty cool to see her pull people from the audience and fix this issue on so many.
3/27/08 11:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, Juliette, these jeans look wonderful on you. I'm no fitting expert and so cannot comment on potential tweakings, but I really love the way they fit you. Make many, many more. -Lily
3/14/08 1:16 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I have an odd shaped yoke too for my TNT jeans pattern. The yoke is a great fitting tool and I'm glad you got these to work. Now you can make a ton in interesting colors.
3/13/08 8:01 PM
Patti B said...
Amazing jeans! Great job. I agree with Jane to try folding out some of the back thigh length, but, really, if you found jeans in RTW that fit like these, you'd buy every pair!
3/12/08 8:36 PM
Sewing Jane said...
You are so lucky! Those jeans look really great. In answer to your question about scooping the back some more, try folding some length out of the leg between the upper thigh and the knee. To me, they look just a little long there. You should be really proud of them.
3/12/08 9:47 AM
squirrellypoo said...
These look great! It's so worth it when you finally get a great fitting pair that make YOU feel like a million dollars! I use a BWOF pattern as my TNT jeans/trousers pattern, too.
3/12/08 9:00 AM
Becky Coleman said...
They look super! Figure-hugging and comfortable. Great job.
3/12/08 7:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Lynne Skirt

photo
by: SueT

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
New Look 6104

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review