SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2978 (Donna Karan)

5 more reviews
Viewed 899 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 12:11 PM
Last Updated:3/25/08 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AlexaNJ said...
Great work! I'm currently sewing this dress so it's fun to see how others have made it. I had the same issue with the top casing - after I stitched it, it turned out that my top casing was too small, so I just used 1/2 elastic in all 3 waist casings. No biggie - but I'm glad to see I'm not the only one!
6/28/10 2:00 PM
Nancywin said...
We are just going to have to get you blogging girl, so we can see all of your progress. Another great creations!
3/25/08 11:29 PM
Kbenco said...
This "half muslin" looks lovely on you. It was interesting to see how this dress looks in a slightly heavier fabric, and helpful to know that the sewing process requires fortitude! I think it would look great in a blouse as well, and hope you post a photo of it if you make one. Thank you for your review.
3/25/08 7:50 PM
inkstain said...
Would that I needed something to give my hips an illusion of volume, but my appetite does that without the help of Vogue. Lovely dress and great tights--I like designer fashions worn with a sense of whimsy and originality. Thanks for a great review and helpful tips on the sleeves.
3/25/08 4:30 PM
staging lady said...
Your dress looks wonderful and so much detailed info is good too. Love your cat!
3/25/08 1:24 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you again everyone, and Stitchcakes, thank you for saying that, I love to see your version in which case I may change my mind and want to sew this again, and Lily, thank you for lovely comments, you are the goddess! yorkshire lass, I only checked John Lewis and couldn't see any as far as I noticed but will look for it in other shops too, thank you for your advice and congratulations for wool contest , by the way!
3/25/08 10:41 AM
yorkshire lass said...
I think the dress looks lovely on you. I like the colour too. Sorry you didn't enjoy the process. The review is wonderful in its detail though. And you can get no-roll elastic, in the UK. Just PM me if you can't get it locally and I will look up the name of the place I got mine from.
3/25/08 5:25 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, I can envision the process you were feeling while making this pretty dress. Boring? Yes. Uncertain? Yes. But you certainly have made a lovely dress and no, it is not too young for you, at all. You look beautiful, Lily
3/24/08 7:01 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Looking at the fabric requirement, I can see where this would look like a tent right up to the final elastic insertion and take miles of stitching! But, I too am more interested now in the pattern. I think instead of being put off by your review, I am just steeled for the tedious process! I could use the stitching practice anyway. :-) This looks great!
3/24/08 9:45 AM
Athene said...
I like your version much more than the pattern envelope. To me its different and interesting.
3/23/08 11:31 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the great review! I think it looks great.
3/23/08 6:50 PM
emo said...
I think this looks great!
3/23/08 4:05 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute comfy-looking dress!!!
3/23/08 3:21 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you everyone, and maryfrana, thank you for saying that " you are even more interested", I thought this review sounds a bit too negative and would put people off from this pattern which I didn't mean. And thank you for mentioning my cat CarolynGM, he is lovely but just not interested in my creation at all....
3/23/08 3:14 PM
CatMukai said...
I love your sense of humor about this being the most boring pattern ever! It turned out great though!
3/23/08 2:59 PM
Beek said...
A very stylish dress to add to your collection! I have this pattern and after seeing it made up, I am inspired to sew it. So, in my opinion, I think it's great!
3/23/08 2:38 PM
Vivienne said...
Pretty dress and I bet the soft cotton will be very comfortable if it gets warm in the summer.
3/23/08 2:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress turned out really nice, despite the boring process. It's very flattering on you. Cute kitty too.
3/23/08 2:03 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very nice dress, and I prefer your version to Vogue's.
3/23/08 1:20 PM
maryfrana said...
A gorgeous dress! And thank you for the long and detailed review. Oddly I am even more interested in this dress than before though I take your word for it that it is boring to make!
3/23/08 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

McCall's 9651

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1179

photo
by: Westy85

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

More Info