SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2978 (Donna Karan)

5 more reviews
Viewed 899 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 12:11 PM
Last Updated:3/25/08 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
A gorgeous dress! And thank you for the long and detailed review. Oddly I am even more interested in this dress than before though I take your word for it that it is boring to make!
3/23/08 1:15 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very nice dress, and I prefer your version to Vogue's.
3/23/08 1:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress turned out really nice, despite the boring process. It's very flattering on you. Cute kitty too.
3/23/08 2:03 PM
Vivienne said...
Pretty dress and I bet the soft cotton will be very comfortable if it gets warm in the summer.
3/23/08 2:20 PM
Beek said...
A very stylish dress to add to your collection! I have this pattern and after seeing it made up, I am inspired to sew it. So, in my opinion, I think it's great!
3/23/08 2:38 PM
CatMukai said...
I love your sense of humor about this being the most boring pattern ever! It turned out great though!
3/23/08 2:59 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you everyone, and maryfrana, thank you for saying that " you are even more interested", I thought this review sounds a bit too negative and would put people off from this pattern which I didn't mean. And thank you for mentioning my cat CarolynGM, he is lovely but just not interested in my creation at all....
3/23/08 3:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute comfy-looking dress!!!
3/23/08 3:21 PM
emo said...
I think this looks great!
3/23/08 4:05 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the great review! I think it looks great.
3/23/08 6:50 PM
Athene said...
I like your version much more than the pattern envelope. To me its different and interesting.
3/23/08 11:31 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Looking at the fabric requirement, I can see where this would look like a tent right up to the final elastic insertion and take miles of stitching! But, I too am more interested now in the pattern. I think instead of being put off by your review, I am just steeled for the tedious process! I could use the stitching practice anyway. :-) This looks great!
3/24/08 9:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, I can envision the process you were feeling while making this pretty dress. Boring? Yes. Uncertain? Yes. But you certainly have made a lovely dress and no, it is not too young for you, at all. You look beautiful, Lily
3/24/08 7:01 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I think the dress looks lovely on you. I like the colour too. Sorry you didn't enjoy the process. The review is wonderful in its detail though. And you can get no-roll elastic, in the UK. Just PM me if you can't get it locally and I will look up the name of the place I got mine from.
3/25/08 5:25 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you again everyone, and Stitchcakes, thank you for saying that, I love to see your version in which case I may change my mind and want to sew this again, and Lily, thank you for lovely comments, you are the goddess! yorkshire lass, I only checked John Lewis and couldn't see any as far as I noticed but will look for it in other shops too, thank you for your advice and congratulations for wool contest , by the way!
3/25/08 10:41 AM
staging lady said...
Your dress looks wonderful and so much detailed info is good too. Love your cat!
3/25/08 1:24 PM
inkstain said...
Would that I needed something to give my hips an illusion of volume, but my appetite does that without the help of Vogue. Lovely dress and great tights--I like designer fashions worn with a sense of whimsy and originality. Thanks for a great review and helpful tips on the sleeves.
3/25/08 4:30 PM
Kbenco said...
This "half muslin" looks lovely on you. It was interesting to see how this dress looks in a slightly heavier fabric, and helpful to know that the sewing process requires fortitude! I think it would look great in a blouse as well, and hope you post a photo of it if you make one. Thank you for your review.
3/25/08 7:50 PM
Nancywin said...
We are just going to have to get you blogging girl, so we can see all of your progress. Another great creations!
3/25/08 11:29 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Great work! I'm currently sewing this dress so it's fun to see how others have made it. I had the same issue with the top casing - after I stitched it, it turned out that my top casing was too small, so I just used 1/2 elastic in all 3 waist casings. No biggie - but I'm glad to see I'm not the only one!
6/28/10 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 2945

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
Vogue Patterns 8718

photo
by: irem

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now