Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2978 (Donna Karan) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 898 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 12:11 PM
Last Updated:3/25/08 10:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
A gorgeous dress! And thank you for the long and detailed review. Oddly I am even more interested in this dress than before though I take your word for it that it is boring to make!
3/23/08 1:15 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very nice dress, and I prefer your version to Vogue's.
3/23/08 1:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress turned out really nice, despite the boring process. It's very flattering on you. Cute kitty too.
3/23/08 2:03 PM
Vivienne said...
Pretty dress and I bet the soft cotton will be very comfortable if it gets warm in the summer.
3/23/08 2:20 PM
Beek said...
A very stylish dress to add to your collection! I have this pattern and after seeing it made up, I am inspired to sew it. So, in my opinion, I think it's great!
3/23/08 2:38 PM
CatMukai said...
I love your sense of humor about this being the most boring pattern ever! It turned out great though!
3/23/08 2:59 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you everyone, and maryfrana, thank you for saying that " you are even more interested", I thought this review sounds a bit too negative and would put people off from this pattern which I didn't mean. And thank you for mentioning my cat CarolynGM, he is lovely but just not interested in my creation at all....
3/23/08 3:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute comfy-looking dress!!!
3/23/08 3:21 PM
emo said...
I think this looks great!
3/23/08 4:05 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the great review! I think it looks great.
3/23/08 6:50 PM
Athene said...
I like your version much more than the pattern envelope. To me its different and interesting.
3/23/08 11:31 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Looking at the fabric requirement, I can see where this would look like a tent right up to the final elastic insertion and take miles of stitching! But, I too am more interested now in the pattern. I think instead of being put off by your review, I am just steeled for the tedious process! I could use the stitching practice anyway. :-) This looks great!
3/24/08 9:45 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, I can envision the process you were feeling while making this pretty dress. Boring? Yes. Uncertain? Yes. But you certainly have made a lovely dress and no, it is not too young for you, at all. You look beautiful, Lily
3/24/08 7:01 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I think the dress looks lovely on you. I like the colour too. Sorry you didn't enjoy the process. The review is wonderful in its detail though. And you can get no-roll elastic, in the UK. Just PM me if you can't get it locally and I will look up the name of the place I got mine from.
3/25/08 5:25 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you again everyone, and Stitchcakes, thank you for saying that, I love to see your version in which case I may change my mind and want to sew this again, and Lily, thank you for lovely comments, you are the goddess! yorkshire lass, I only checked John Lewis and couldn't see any as far as I noticed but will look for it in other shops too, thank you for your advice and congratulations for wool contest , by the way!
3/25/08 10:41 AM
staging lady said...
Your dress looks wonderful and so much detailed info is good too. Love your cat!
3/25/08 1:24 PM
inkstain said...
Would that I needed something to give my hips an illusion of volume, but my appetite does that without the help of Vogue. Lovely dress and great tights--I like designer fashions worn with a sense of whimsy and originality. Thanks for a great review and helpful tips on the sleeves.
3/25/08 4:30 PM
Kbenco said...
This "half muslin" looks lovely on you. It was interesting to see how this dress looks in a slightly heavier fabric, and helpful to know that the sewing process requires fortitude! I think it would look great in a blouse as well, and hope you post a photo of it if you make one. Thank you for your review.
3/25/08 7:50 PM
Nancywin said...
We are just going to have to get you blogging girl, so we can see all of your progress. Another great creations!
3/25/08 11:29 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Great work! I'm currently sewing this dress so it's fun to see how others have made it. I had the same issue with the top casing - after I stitched it, it turned out that my top casing was too small, so I just used 1/2 elastic in all 3 waist casings. No biggie - but I'm glad to see I'm not the only one!
6/28/10 2:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6922
photo
Review by ginnie.wis... on 8/26/10
Read Review

Burda 6908 Pattern
Burda 6908 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6762 Pattern
New Look 6762 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 2063 Roos patterns
photo
Review by Tini on 3/31/05
Read Review

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us