Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2975 (Vogue Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 906 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/08 4:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
very pretty! i usually wear black with red, but now you have me thinking about pairing red with brown. nice combination.
3/16/08 4:23 AM
bluenines said...
very nice jacket, love the plaid trim thank you for a great review!
3/16/08 6:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an outstanding review! Your alterations worked well as the jacket looks like a perfect fit.
3/16/08 7:35 AM
cindy-lou said...
Beautifully inspiring! I love what you have done here. Thanks for the wonderful review!
3/16/08 7:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, you've done a superb job with this jacket! It is absolutely gorgeous! I always love the different accents you add to your sewing to give each garment a really individual look. You are a very creative sewist! Once again, your review is fantastic and so wonderfully detailed and helpful. Great work!
3/16/08 8:08 AM
Marji said...
I too like this version. At first glance I thought the ruffle was probably one of those plaid taffeta's, was really surprised to hear that it is a flannel. It lays really nicely. I like the button loops underneath and think they probably will make the closure more secure. What a great idea to make the sleeves on the bias.
3/16/08 8:35 AM
marjenann said...
Annette, please stop this "gorgeousness". I may have to come out there and steal this one!! That double crepe really made a spectacular jacket! I want it, I need it! Annette
3/16/08 9:10 AM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--love the lines of the jacket, and your work is impeccable! Very helpful review! I AM buying this pattern (regardless of fasting resolutions)!
3/16/08 9:18 AM
Kay Y said...
Lovely jacket and very helpful review with photos. I may have to buy this pattern...
3/16/08 9:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Love the vibrant red and the stunning style of this jacket, Annette! I also adore either collar on you! So versatile!
3/16/08 10:18 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice work! I'm a sucker for red jackets. Every woman needs at least one, right?
3/16/08 10:25 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful review and it looks so professional. Love the color red!
3/16/08 10:44 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Reading your exquisite review is like following the cogitations of a Jacket Genius. Coco Chanel had nothing on you ... well, maybe she would have sewn the flannel ruffle right side up the first time. The jacket itself? I'm deeply in covetous love with it. Marjenann and I come from the same general area; maybe we could carpool on a joint heist and set up a shared custody arrangement. Brava, Annette! I bow to Greatness. -Lily
3/16/08 12:27 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great! What a wonderful review full of helpful tips including new fitting standards. "Your jacket looks wonderful, BUT can you play pool in it?" :D
3/16/08 2:17 PM
Sigrid. said...
Oh, those ruffles are gorgeous. I'm going to do that sometime (or try to be first to steal this beautiful jacket from you before the other two ladies do!). Very helpful review.
3/16/08 2:33 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the leather toggles!
3/16/08 2:45 PM
HeyJane said...
Amazing review. I will be shamelessly copying your ruffling ideas for a vogue 7975. Your coat is absolutely beautiful.
3/16/08 3:41 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You look great in this Annette! Great review, as usual....nicely done details - you know what to use & where to spice up any pattern....you are so very creative! ;) T-E-R-R-I-F-I-C !
3/16/08 4:14 PM
sewbehind said...
I like the way you added your own spin to this jacket. Great colour and like the toggles.
3/16/08 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great jacket and wonderful review. Your Flickr album is great too! Thanks
3/16/08 5:54 PM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks gorgeous, and this is a great, very helpful review. I was most interested to read about your sleeve heading, with your clear pictures, as I have just eased a jacket sleeve with a bias strip, then basted in separate headings, following the instructions in a jacket making book, in which the author is not nearly as good at explanations. Your one step process looks much easier, and I will try it next time. Thank you
3/16/08 7:57 PM
Margie T said...
Great review! Beautiful jacket!
3/17/08 0:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. So much detailed work. It all paid off.
3/17/08 6:01 AM
ITAdmin said...
Another great review and jacket. I especially like the ruffle.
3/17/08 6:23 AM
Karine said...
I love brown and red, too, and your jacket is exceptional. The ruffle and toggle really make it unique and designer-esque! Thanks for the detailed review - very informative.
3/17/08 9:36 AM
Peggy L said...
I love the red and brown together. Another winning jacket!!!
3/17/08 12:42 PM
Birgitte said...
Okay, you are now officially my Jacket Hero. So meticulous, so sublime... Your review is a "How To Make A Jacket, A-Z, That Will Make Heads Turn".
3/17/08 5:29 PM
Winifred said...
Lovely jacket and lively colour. Beautiful execution tho' perhaps not the toggles for me.
3/17/08 8:02 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Wow! Your jacket is beautiful! Love the plaid trim and toggles. Great review. I wouldn't have given this one a second look from the picture on the envelope, but your right the back details are very interesting. Lesson: Always look at the line drawing, too!
3/21/08 12:22 PM
sewbright said...
Great Job!
5/14/08 5:03 PM
Mufffet said...
I am in love with this jacket...it is a knockout. :) I think it looks terrific on you, and I saw the darker grey kacet as well and it is just lovely. :) Great reviews too.
6/3/08 9:39 AM
Aunt Gail said...
i have viewed this so often...and never leave a note so this time I shall. Tne plaid trim and the jacket are jus tfine, fine things ..it is making me want to delve STRAIGHT back into sewin. Those toggle cosure are absoluely precios. thanks for sharing it with us.
2/6/09 7:54 AM
cheesemonkey said...
Your modifications, plus the crepe fabric (as opposed to the misguided gabardine they used in the photo) make this jacket fabulous! You are a genius.
3/3/09 12:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-01
photo
Review by Deepika on 7/14/11
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2445 loungepants
photo
Review by JuliaS on 1/11/07
Read Review

Butterick 5814 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5814 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5416 Pattern( Size 1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 5416 Pattern( Size 1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us