SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2975 (Vogue Wardrobe)

12 more reviews
Viewed 907 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/08 4:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
very pretty! i usually wear black with red, but now you have me thinking about pairing red with brown. nice combination.
3/16/08 4:23 AM
bluenines said...
very nice jacket, love the plaid trim thank you for a great review!
3/16/08 6:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an outstanding review! Your alterations worked well as the jacket looks like a perfect fit.
3/16/08 7:35 AM
cindy-lou said...
Beautifully inspiring! I love what you have done here. Thanks for the wonderful review!
3/16/08 7:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, you've done a superb job with this jacket! It is absolutely gorgeous! I always love the different accents you add to your sewing to give each garment a really individual look. You are a very creative sewist! Once again, your review is fantastic and so wonderfully detailed and helpful. Great work!
3/16/08 8:08 AM
Marji said...
I too like this version. At first glance I thought the ruffle was probably one of those plaid taffeta's, was really surprised to hear that it is a flannel. It lays really nicely. I like the button loops underneath and think they probably will make the closure more secure. What a great idea to make the sleeves on the bias.
3/16/08 8:35 AM
marjenann said...
Annette, please stop this "gorgeousness". I may have to come out there and steal this one!! That double crepe really made a spectacular jacket! I want it, I need it! Annette
3/16/08 9:10 AM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--love the lines of the jacket, and your work is impeccable! Very helpful review! I AM buying this pattern (regardless of fasting resolutions)!
3/16/08 9:18 AM
Kay Y said...
Lovely jacket and very helpful review with photos. I may have to buy this pattern...
3/16/08 9:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Love the vibrant red and the stunning style of this jacket, Annette! I also adore either collar on you! So versatile!
3/16/08 10:18 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice work! I'm a sucker for red jackets. Every woman needs at least one, right?
3/16/08 10:25 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful review and it looks so professional. Love the color red!
3/16/08 10:44 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Reading your exquisite review is like following the cogitations of a Jacket Genius. Coco Chanel had nothing on you ... well, maybe she would have sewn the flannel ruffle right side up the first time. The jacket itself? I'm deeply in covetous love with it. Marjenann and I come from the same general area; maybe we could carpool on a joint heist and set up a shared custody arrangement. Brava, Annette! I bow to Greatness. -Lily
3/16/08 12:27 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great! What a wonderful review full of helpful tips including new fitting standards. "Your jacket looks wonderful, BUT can you play pool in it?" :D
3/16/08 2:17 PM
Sigrid. said...
Oh, those ruffles are gorgeous. I'm going to do that sometime (or try to be first to steal this beautiful jacket from you before the other two ladies do!). Very helpful review.
3/16/08 2:33 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the leather toggles!
3/16/08 2:45 PM
HeyJane said...
Amazing review. I will be shamelessly copying your ruffling ideas for a vogue 7975. Your coat is absolutely beautiful.
3/16/08 3:41 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You look great in this Annette! Great review, as usual....nicely done details - you know what to use & where to spice up any pattern....you are so very creative! ;) T-E-R-R-I-F-I-C !
3/16/08 4:14 PM
sewbehind said...
I like the way you added your own spin to this jacket. Great colour and like the toggles.
3/16/08 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great jacket and wonderful review. Your Flickr album is great too! Thanks
3/16/08 5:54 PM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks gorgeous, and this is a great, very helpful review. I was most interested to read about your sleeve heading, with your clear pictures, as I have just eased a jacket sleeve with a bias strip, then basted in separate headings, following the instructions in a jacket making book, in which the author is not nearly as good at explanations. Your one step process looks much easier, and I will try it next time. Thank you
3/16/08 7:57 PM
Margie T said...
Great review! Beautiful jacket!
3/17/08 0:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. So much detailed work. It all paid off.
3/17/08 6:01 AM
ITAdmin said...
Another great review and jacket. I especially like the ruffle.
3/17/08 6:23 AM
Karine said...
I love brown and red, too, and your jacket is exceptional. The ruffle and toggle really make it unique and designer-esque! Thanks for the detailed review - very informative.
3/17/08 9:36 AM
Peggy L said...
I love the red and brown together. Another winning jacket!!!
3/17/08 12:42 PM
Birgitte said...
Okay, you are now officially my Jacket Hero. So meticulous, so sublime... Your review is a "How To Make A Jacket, A-Z, That Will Make Heads Turn".
3/17/08 5:29 PM
Winifred said...
Lovely jacket and lively colour. Beautiful execution tho' perhaps not the toggles for me.
3/17/08 8:02 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Wow! Your jacket is beautiful! Love the plaid trim and toggles. Great review. I wouldn't have given this one a second look from the picture on the envelope, but your right the back details are very interesting. Lesson: Always look at the line drawing, too!
3/21/08 12:22 PM
sewbright said...
Great Job!
5/14/08 5:03 PM
Mufffet said...
I am in love with this jacket...it is a knockout. :) I think it looks terrific on you, and I saw the darker grey kacet as well and it is just lovely. :) Great reviews too.
6/3/08 9:39 AM
Aunt Gail said...
i have viewed this so often...and never leave a note so this time I shall. Tne plaid trim and the jacket are jus tfine, fine things ..it is making me want to delve STRAIGHT back into sewin. Those toggle cosure are absoluely precios. thanks for sharing it with us.
2/6/09 7:54 AM
cheesemonkey said...
Your modifications, plus the crepe fabric (as opposed to the misguided gabardine they used in the photo) make this jacket fabulous! You are a genius.
3/3/09 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 2401

photo
by: Peggysclos...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: jlg

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now