SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Indygo Junction> IJ604 (Mismatched Medley)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1741 times 
Reviewed by:Modiste Madness
photo

 
 
About Modiste Madnessstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/03 6:06 PM
Last Updated:2/10/09 11:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NancyDaQ said...
I have seen this pattern made up many times--lots of cute piecing ideas. However, I have not tried it because so many of them fit really badly--the "stick out" issue is a common one. Sounds like you had some fitting issues too, and it's great you were able to solve them and make the concept work for you. I like the fabrics and colors you used for your version, very nice combo.
5/23/03 6:29 PM
AnneM said...
I just love your closure idea. It works really well with this pattern and your fabrics. Your review is just full of inspirational ideas.
5/23/03 6:31 PM
mamafitz said...
kathy -- it looks great and those colors are so you. i can't wait to see it for real.
5/23/03 7:45 PM
Karen Easter said...
Kathy, I agree with the others -- the colors are great together, and the closures are really creative and fun!
5/23/03 9:55 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks everyone. I had the most fun making this of anything I have made for a long time. It was a blast to tinker and experiment. By the way, Mamafitz was my inspirational friend who wondered what it looked like in Dupioni. Check out her review if you want to see some wonderful garments.
5/24/03 2:33 AM
CatherineN said...
Those buttonholes are so clever and attractive!
5/24/03 3:40 AM
Mini said...
I like your button tabs, and the color combo too. This is a really fun pattern, and it's a hoot to sew. I reviewed this a while back, but then sort of forgot about it. I have lots of dupioni scraps saved up, so I am going to do another soon.
5/24/03 3:24 PM
mamafitz said...
LOL -- duppioni, my favorite fabric. i think i wonder what just about every pattern looks like in duppioni, don't i?
5/24/03 11:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your sewing fits into my category of "Someday, I wish!" Very creative all the way around.
5/30/04 4:02 PM
DonnaMeeks said...
After reading the review, I will probably sew the jacket - I have had the pattern but put it aside.
10/12/04 8:01 PM
Northwind said...
Thank you for your review, esp. concerning size. Could not view your photo.
2/8/09 5:48 AM
carolynw said...
Thisis lovely - I love the way you have placed the fabrics
2/9/09 9:50 AM
Ody said...
Very interesting review, and I love the jacket. The button hole treatments are superb and you should have linked them in your review. That jacket has great details I would like to incorporate.
2/9/09 10:45 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Very artsy!! Great job.
2/9/09 7:36 PM
Irene said...
Kathy, many thanks for updating your links. You are so creative and the the jacket is gorgeous. What a wonderful inspiration!
2/10/09 2:30 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful!! :)
2/10/09 3:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Very creative! Great closures.
2/10/09 4:09 PM
cboots said...
Beautiful jacket. I love your fabric choices, and the custom closures are genius!
2/10/09 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6571

photo
by: loti

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now