SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> New York Pattern 546 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1154 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:10 AM
Last Updated:5/25/03 2:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I have several of these patterns and have not had the courage to attempt them as the alteration would be much more significant for me.
5/25/03 3:21 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Margaret, this is a gorgeous dress! Congratulations on figuring it all out! I haven't sewn with any true vintage patterns; was the pattern paper itself very fragile and hard to handle?
5/25/03 9:39 AM
Barbara H said...
Margaret - beautiful! This looks like it was a labor of love given the details involved. The wide belt looks great as do the details at the shoulder!
5/25/03 1:17 PM
Julia Graham said...
Margaret, I too own several vintage patterns with that sort of instructions -- in a couple cases, no instructions at all -- and pictures that I like enough to make it worth the effort... eventually. Congrats on finishing this! Sounds laborious but looks distinctive and pretty.
5/25/03 4:55 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Congratulations on a brilliant job - what an unusual, lovely dress. It looks like it would be a very flattering fit too - I love those long, lean 30's dresses. I admire your intelligent use of resources to fill in the details - you are a truly accomplished dressmaker!
5/25/03 8:43 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks so much, everyone! Lisa, yes, the pattern paper was fragile, especially along its fold lines. It was definitely necessary to copy it onto other material -- and I would have felt very bad using the pattern directly even if it would have worked (and I usually don't bother to trace off modern patterns at all). I forgot to mention it in the review, but this pattern is not printed; instead all the pieces are cut to shape and the paper has perforations for the markings -- usual, I think, until the 1940s. This actually made it easier to trace because I could just (carefully) transfer markings through the holes. Georgene, good luck; I think you must have far more fitting expertise than I do, so hopefully it won't be too difficult whenever you want to make those patterns.
5/26/03 1:26 AM
Ann C said...
Thank you for your informative review. I have always wondered what it would be like to sew a vintage pattern. Would someone mind telling me about sources for these patterns? Thanks in advance.
5/26/03 12:56 PM
Margaret said...
I would recommend Patterns from the Past, www.oldpatterns.com; it is easy to order from them, the service is very good, and the prices are pretty good too. There is also www.thebluegardenia.com; their patterns are more expensive, but maybe more interesting (as in more designer patterns, more older patterns, etc.) and their service is good too (you can't order completely online though).
5/26/03 11:57 PM
Ann C said...
Thanks, I'll check them out.
5/27/03 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Stretch & Sew 1276

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Simplicity 4437

photo
by: amandolin

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now