Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8305 (unsuccessful pants) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 752 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 10:02 PM
Last Updated:3/23/08 10:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
You put so much work into these pants - its too bad that they did not work out as well for you as the other items from this pattern. These seem to be very form fitting pants but you have the figure for it. I can see that they are tight across the abdomen and then baggy in the crotch. I know that stretch wovens can be very tricky to sew with and some seem to stretch out of shape very quickly once the garment is on and being worn. Thank you for the very thorough review.
3/24/08 1:55 AM
creative1 said...
I feel your pain, as I was in your shoes a few times. Cotton/spandex stretch wovens are not stable fabrics. Look for poly/ nylon and/or viscose lycras, may be just a bit of cotton in it. With the right fabric the stretchy pants allow you to have more youthful look, as they can be made tighter than pants made of wovens.
3/24/08 6:09 AM
AuntieShel said...
Loved your conclusion to this review, but, honestly, I don't think these pants are as bad as you think they are. I have similar pants fit issues and don't even bother with trying to make them anymore. Your perseverance is to be commended. I think that the stretch woven is truly the culprit here--it's supposed to be so fabulous, but as you pointed out, it's hard to get a correct fit because of the bagginess after the article is worn. Loved your contrast ankle slit finish. Thanks for reviewing.
3/24/08 9:11 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for reviewing - it's been my experience that big 4 pants patterns do NOT fit me in the crotch at all. And thanks again for being so specific about your likes/dislikes ... very useful information!
3/24/08 1:13 PM
Nancywin said...
Isn't it a shame when you put so much work into something and then it turns out to be a disappointment? Your workmanship looks great on these, b ut I agree in that they are not right for your shape (and now I know not to try this style at all!) Thanks for reviewing them anyway.
3/24/08 1:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stretch woven pants are comfortable, but in my experience with variations of this type fabric, the stretch portion can most unexpectedly produce some weird fitting "pulls". When I make stretch woven pants, I hold my breath until the last stitch wondering whether I have a success or failure. Nevertheless, your pants look quite attractive with your jacket coverup. -Lily
3/24/08 11:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
The pants look fabulously made so I'm sorry they didn't work out for you. As others have stated, finding the right stretch woven for pants can be tricky.
3/25/08 5:07 PM
Nezbine said...
Thanks for the very helpful review. I think both the fabric and pattern may be suspect in this case. You have a great figure and will look very nice in the right stretch-woven pattern. I have this pattern & will try it first in some thrift-store fabric. Thanks for the heads up.
9/25/08 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by loti on 9/16/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 6857-1006
photo
Review by Liana on 8/6/09
Read Review

McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us