SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8305 (unsuccessful pants)

31 more reviews
Viewed 753 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 197
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 196
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 10:02 PM
Last Updated:3/23/08 10:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
You put so much work into these pants - its too bad that they did not work out as well for you as the other items from this pattern. These seem to be very form fitting pants but you have the figure for it. I can see that they are tight across the abdomen and then baggy in the crotch. I know that stretch wovens can be very tricky to sew with and some seem to stretch out of shape very quickly once the garment is on and being worn. Thank you for the very thorough review.
3/24/08 1:55 AM
creative1 said...
I feel your pain, as I was in your shoes a few times. Cotton/spandex stretch wovens are not stable fabrics. Look for poly/ nylon and/or viscose lycras, may be just a bit of cotton in it. With the right fabric the stretchy pants allow you to have more youthful look, as they can be made tighter than pants made of wovens.
3/24/08 6:09 AM
AuntieShel said...
Loved your conclusion to this review, but, honestly, I don't think these pants are as bad as you think they are. I have similar pants fit issues and don't even bother with trying to make them anymore. Your perseverance is to be commended. I think that the stretch woven is truly the culprit here--it's supposed to be so fabulous, but as you pointed out, it's hard to get a correct fit because of the bagginess after the article is worn. Loved your contrast ankle slit finish. Thanks for reviewing.
3/24/08 9:11 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for reviewing - it's been my experience that big 4 pants patterns do NOT fit me in the crotch at all. And thanks again for being so specific about your likes/dislikes ... very useful information!
3/24/08 1:13 PM
Nancywin said...
Isn't it a shame when you put so much work into something and then it turns out to be a disappointment? Your workmanship looks great on these, b ut I agree in that they are not right for your shape (and now I know not to try this style at all!) Thanks for reviewing them anyway.
3/24/08 1:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stretch woven pants are comfortable, but in my experience with variations of this type fabric, the stretch portion can most unexpectedly produce some weird fitting "pulls". When I make stretch woven pants, I hold my breath until the last stitch wondering whether I have a success or failure. Nevertheless, your pants look quite attractive with your jacket coverup. -Lily
3/24/08 11:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
The pants look fabulously made so I'm sorry they didn't work out for you. As others have stated, finding the right stretch woven for pants can be tricky.
3/25/08 5:07 PM
Nezbine said...
Thanks for the very helpful review. I think both the fabric and pattern may be suspect in this case. You have a great figure and will look very nice in the right stretch-woven pattern. I have this pattern & will try it first in some thrift-store fabric. Thanks for the heads up.
9/25/08 5:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now