SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2008-407 (Hooded Jacket)

Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews: 45 (patterns: 38)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:3/24/08 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said... (5/4/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Looks great one you, and so comfy.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 0:42 AM) Reply
The modifications and alterations you made to this pattern have, in my opinion, greatly enhanced the style of this lovely sweater jacket. It carries quite a nice bit of attitude, as well. Altogether, a smashing piece. -Lily
SarahSM said... (3/24/08 5:20 PM) Reply
Fuzzygalore: I guess I'm doing my part to fight back against the return of the 80s!
michellep74 said... (3/24/08 11:54 AM) Reply
I've been wanting to make this, too. Thanks for the detailed review--I really like your version!
Sherril Miller said... (3/24/08 10:59 AM) Reply
Oh yeah, you whipped that pattern into shape and it's fantastic. I'm not sure you would have the sizing problems either if you had used a more tightly woven knit and had been able to put in the darts, along with your usual changes. What you did turn out with is just as wonderful, though.
Sic said... (3/24/08 8:32 AM) Reply
Awesome sweater jacket!
blue mooney said... (3/24/08 8:32 AM) Reply
Love that fabric you chose. This pattern is on my short list. Glad you made it work for you, and thanks for reviewing!
fuzzygalore said... (3/24/08 4:05 AM) Reply
I don't think there is inconsistency from Burda here - the 80s are coming back, Burda is proposing a jacket that has that sort of dropped shoulder and looser fit (you -must- drop the armholes and add bust room in dropped shoulders or you have a straight jacket). So if you don't like that style, you should pick another one to sew :-). Your very loose fabric choice probably emphasized the dropping of the shoulders. But I like the results a lot on you, and I wish I could handle sweater knit that well :-).
Athene said... (3/24/08 2:26 AM) Reply
This is a great sweater jacket. I went to your blog and saw the rest of the pictures. Beautiful pictures, great review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Simplicity 1370

photo
by: chuichoy

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-119

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details