SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3538 (Project Runway Jackets)

25 more reviews
Viewed 2168 times 
Reviewed by:lcavagnolo
photo

 
 
About lcavagnolostar
MI USA
Member since: 12/1/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 9:52 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 10:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nienna said...
Your jacket is so cute! Thanks for letting us know about a pattern that actually has good instructions.
3/24/08 10:12 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Tres chic! Very couture-looking. Nice to know this pattern has bagged lining instructions. I might try it just for that. Well, and the really cute jacket that results! Nice work.
3/24/08 10:24 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Very cute jacket! I keep thinking I'd like to make a jacket in this style and I really like your version. Nice job! Thanks for the tip on the bagged lining too.
3/24/08 10:37 PM
Tiner W said...
That is a stunning jacket! I love your modifications.
3/24/08 10:42 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Impressive and inspiring! Please model for us once you've applied the patch pockets. Super job!
3/24/08 10:48 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is absolutely fabulous!
3/24/08 11:37 PM
Sic said...
Awesome and accurate knock-off!
3/24/08 11:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A really excellent first review of your beautiful jacket that emulates a RTW jacket. In fact, I like your jacket better as your buttons have more panache than the inspiration garment. Superb workmanship. I look forward to seeing many more of your lovely creations in the future. -Lily
3/25/08 1:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute jacket! I love this!
3/25/08 4:51 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous jacket. Love the ruffled collar
3/25/08 5:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. Love the ruffles! Great knockoff of the Fiona jacket. Your topstitching looks fantastic. Love the fabric choice as well.
3/25/08 5:27 AM
jlg said...
Wow, I love what you did with this pattern. This is adorable.
3/25/08 5:29 AM
Beek said...
This jacket is so "current". I really like the cut, the ruffle and the fabric you've selected. I am sure you will get a lot of mileage out of this and compliments!
3/25/08 8:51 AM
Babe B said...
Ah-Dorable!
3/25/08 9:05 AM
LindsayT said...
Trés snazzola!
3/25/08 9:15 AM
meli88a said...
I really like what you did with the collar - I would not have seen past the envelope picture to envision it with the ruffles. Your version is adorable!
3/25/08 9:45 AM
So So said...
Great jacket! Love your version. Sounds a great pattern considering it includes lining (bagging instructions)& finishing details.
3/25/08 1:55 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful knock-off. Awesome jacket. I want one too.
3/25/08 5:26 PM
Lori V said...
Excellent knock-off and review. Your changes to this pattern are amazing.
3/25/08 10:35 PM
cecelia said...
Your jacket is adorable--love it!
3/29/08 5:33 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Great jacket! I really like the asymmetry of the ruffle on one side of the jacket. Great job!
4/1/08 2:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket! I like the ruffle you added. I'd buy your version before I bought the J.Crew jacket.
4/6/08 7:44 PM
jartayne said...
How did you add the ruffles? What were the measurements? And what other adjustments did you make to make it look like the Fiona jacket.
4/10/08 8:13 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Jartayne: The ruffles were basted to the front and neckline before the bagged lining was stitched on. Without having the original to check their scale, I just made the ruffle strip to a height I found flattering. Other than that, the sleeve bands and buttonholes were the only other pattern modifications I had to make. I never did get around to adding the pockets!
4/14/08 12:36 PM
meggy said...
WOW, your jacket is absolutely gorgeous!
4/15/08 8:11 PM
Tany said...
I'm speachless, you did an outstanding job!!!!
4/16/08 4:33 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Awesome!!! You are a great seamtress/designer
4/23/08 3:43 PM
AmyABQ said...
Great job, love the look
4/24/08 12:00 PM
Dei said...
I so want that jacket! You can do so many things with just that one piece. Excellent job.
4/30/08 8:09 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely work and fabric here. Easy?! Doesn't look like an easy pattern for beginners to me! :) Thanks for a good review.
4/30/08 12:42 PM
Agent Amy said...
Love, love, love your jacket! Even better than the "originals". Great design, fabric selection, techniques, and execution. A+++ Way to go!
4/30/08 6:29 PM
akilcoyne said...
Super cute!!
4/30/08 8:23 PM
Tina D. said...
Awesome jacket!!
7/10/08 1:43 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I was looking at reviews for this pattern because it's in my que right now - WOW, your version is awesome! I may make one just like yours - so chic. I hope you've been getting lots of wear from it.
7/15/08 1:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2563

photo
by: sdelano

Review
Other OOP Antoinette

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now