SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3538 (Project Runway Jackets)

25 more reviews
Viewed 2168 times 
Reviewed by:lcavagnolo
photo

 
 
About lcavagnolostar
MI USA
Member since: 12/1/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 9:52 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 10:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
I was looking at reviews for this pattern because it's in my que right now - WOW, your version is awesome! I may make one just like yours - so chic. I hope you've been getting lots of wear from it.
7/15/08 1:50 PM
Tina D. said...
Awesome jacket!!
7/10/08 1:43 PM
akilcoyne said...
Super cute!!
4/30/08 8:23 PM
Agent Amy said...
Love, love, love your jacket! Even better than the "originals". Great design, fabric selection, techniques, and execution. A+++ Way to go!
4/30/08 6:29 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely work and fabric here. Easy?! Doesn't look like an easy pattern for beginners to me! :) Thanks for a good review.
4/30/08 12:42 PM
Dei said...
I so want that jacket! You can do so many things with just that one piece. Excellent job.
4/30/08 8:09 AM
AmyABQ said...
Great job, love the look
4/24/08 12:00 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Awesome!!! You are a great seamtress/designer
4/23/08 3:43 PM
Tany said...
I'm speachless, you did an outstanding job!!!!
4/16/08 4:33 PM
meggy said...
WOW, your jacket is absolutely gorgeous!
4/15/08 8:11 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Jartayne: The ruffles were basted to the front and neckline before the bagged lining was stitched on. Without having the original to check their scale, I just made the ruffle strip to a height I found flattering. Other than that, the sleeve bands and buttonholes were the only other pattern modifications I had to make. I never did get around to adding the pockets!
4/14/08 12:36 PM
jartayne said...
How did you add the ruffles? What were the measurements? And what other adjustments did you make to make it look like the Fiona jacket.
4/10/08 8:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket! I like the ruffle you added. I'd buy your version before I bought the J.Crew jacket.
4/6/08 7:44 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Great jacket! I really like the asymmetry of the ruffle on one side of the jacket. Great job!
4/1/08 2:47 PM
cecelia said...
Your jacket is adorable--love it!
3/29/08 5:33 PM
Lori V said...
Excellent knock-off and review. Your changes to this pattern are amazing.
3/25/08 10:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful knock-off. Awesome jacket. I want one too.
3/25/08 5:26 PM
So So said...
Great jacket! Love your version. Sounds a great pattern considering it includes lining (bagging instructions)& finishing details.
3/25/08 1:55 PM
meli88a said...
I really like what you did with the collar - I would not have seen past the envelope picture to envision it with the ruffles. Your version is adorable!
3/25/08 9:45 AM
LindsayT said...
Trés snazzola!
3/25/08 9:15 AM
Babe B said...
Ah-Dorable!
3/25/08 9:05 AM
Beek said...
This jacket is so "current". I really like the cut, the ruffle and the fabric you've selected. I am sure you will get a lot of mileage out of this and compliments!
3/25/08 8:51 AM
jlg said...
Wow, I love what you did with this pattern. This is adorable.
3/25/08 5:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. Love the ruffles! Great knockoff of the Fiona jacket. Your topstitching looks fantastic. Love the fabric choice as well.
3/25/08 5:27 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous jacket. Love the ruffled collar
3/25/08 5:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute jacket! I love this!
3/25/08 4:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
A really excellent first review of your beautiful jacket that emulates a RTW jacket. In fact, I like your jacket better as your buttons have more panache than the inspiration garment. Superb workmanship. I look forward to seeing many more of your lovely creations in the future. -Lily
3/25/08 1:08 AM
Sic said...
Awesome and accurate knock-off!
3/24/08 11:47 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is absolutely fabulous!
3/24/08 11:37 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Impressive and inspiring! Please model for us once you've applied the patch pockets. Super job!
3/24/08 10:48 PM
Tiner W said...
That is a stunning jacket! I love your modifications.
3/24/08 10:42 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Very cute jacket! I keep thinking I'd like to make a jacket in this style and I really like your version. Nice job! Thanks for the tip on the bagged lining too.
3/24/08 10:37 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Tres chic! Very couture-looking. Nice to know this pattern has bagged lining instructions. I might try it just for that. Well, and the really cute jacket that results! Nice work.
3/24/08 10:24 PM
nienna said...
Your jacket is so cute! Thanks for letting us know about a pattern that actually has good instructions.
3/24/08 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now