SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5724 

3 more reviews
Viewed 487 times 
Reviewed by:HistoryStudent
photo

 
 
About HistoryStudentstar
Member since: 10/11/07
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 6)
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 10:04 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
unfinishedprojects said... (3/25/08 2:36 PM) Reply
Just wondering if you're wearing a corset with it? That would make a significant difference in the fit.
HistoryStudent said... (3/25/08 1:19 PM) Reply
Hi Andee, I hear what you are saying. It was mostly the huge amount of ease that appeared inaccurate to me. Thanks for your comment.
Andee said... (3/25/08 7:29 AM) Reply
I acutaly know the person who designed this pattern and it couldn't be more acurate! She has spent countless hours handling and measuring many gowns from this period as well as reading many sewing and fashion books from this period. This dress I believe is from the 1860s not the 50s. NOW, Simplicity sometimes has to modify things slightly to conform with their standards, such as the fit. They change her size 10 into an 8 because they feel it is too tight, but let me assure you, this dress is correct for the Civil War period.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 1:04 AM) Reply
History Student, your thumbnail photo does not enlarge. If you're able to fix the photo link, I'd love to see your beautiful costume. -Lily
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress

photo
by: Campbell

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Details Express Shirt (Size 1X-4X)

Islander Sewing Systems Details Express Shirt (Size 1X-4X)

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa-Swing Variations Expansion Pack

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa-Swing Variations Expansion Pack

Pattern Details