SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5724 

2 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:HistoryStudent
photo

 
 
About HistoryStudentstar
Member since: 10/11/07
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 6)
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 10:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said... (3/25/08 2:36 PM) Reply
Just wondering if you're wearing a corset with it? That would make a significant difference in the fit.
HistoryStudent said... (3/25/08 1:19 PM) Reply
Hi Andee, I hear what you are saying. It was mostly the huge amount of ease that appeared inaccurate to me. Thanks for your comment.
Andee said... (3/25/08 7:29 AM) Reply
I acutaly know the person who designed this pattern and it couldn't be more acurate! She has spent countless hours handling and measuring many gowns from this period as well as reading many sewing and fashion books from this period. This dress I believe is from the 1860s not the 50s. NOW, Simplicity sometimes has to modify things slightly to conform with their standards, such as the fit. They change her size 10 into an 8 because they feel it is too tight, but let me assure you, this dress is correct for the Civil War period.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 1:04 AM) Reply
History Student, your thumbnail photo does not enlarge. If you're able to fix the photo link, I'd love to see your beautiful costume. -Lily
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 3392-1007

photo
by: cln

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details