SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5724 

2 more reviews
Viewed 443 times 
Reviewed by:HistoryStudent
photo

 
 
About HistoryStudentstar
Member since: 10/11/07
Reviews written: 13
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 10:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 10:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
Just wondering if you're wearing a corset with it? That would make a significant difference in the fit.
3/25/08 2:36 PM
HistoryStudent said...
Hi Andee, I hear what you are saying. It was mostly the huge amount of ease that appeared inaccurate to me. Thanks for your comment.
3/25/08 1:19 PM
Andee said...
I acutaly know the person who designed this pattern and it couldn't be more acurate! She has spent countless hours handling and measuring many gowns from this period as well as reading many sewing and fashion books from this period. This dress I believe is from the 1860s not the 50s. NOW, Simplicity sometimes has to modify things slightly to conform with their standards, such as the fit. They change her size 10 into an 8 because they feel it is too tight, but let me assure you, this dress is correct for the Civil War period.
3/25/08 7:29 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
History Student, your thumbnail photo does not enlarge. If you're able to fix the photo link, I'd love to see your beautiful costume. -Lily
3/25/08 1:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6518

photo
by: MissZuriB

Review
Other GertiesBook

photo
by: redrosie

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now