SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 (Misses' Lined jackets/coats)

63 more reviews
Viewed 1609 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 199 people
patterns reviewed: 355
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/25/08 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Beautiful trench! Thank you for the extra tips like binding the edge of the front facing, I'll make a note of it! So Pretty!
4/5/08 10:48 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I am interested in making this for my daughter in a fun color. Maybe one for me too!
3/29/08 11:44 AM
Lori V said...
Thank you all for the very kind comments. I appreciate it so much.
3/29/08 0:39 AM
CynthiaSue said...
burberry trench! love the color. great job.
3/28/08 6:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a smashing trench for your daughter, Lori! Love the colors, love the details ... well, just love it. It has such panache and attitude; just perfect for an 18yr old daughter. -Lily
3/27/08 12:48 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful trench coat Lori!
3/26/08 11:09 PM
EveS said...
I just love the colors, Lori! Such bold topstitching requires perfection and you've definitely pulled it off...thanks for the inspiration!
3/26/08 8:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It looks great, Lori!
3/26/08 7:13 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great trench - love the colors!
3/26/08 3:55 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow! What a lucky daughter she is! I LOVE your choice of aqua topstitching on orange colour, only experience sewers can chose and use that! I personally would love this jacket with wrinkle effect and hope your daughter like it in that way? And beautiful collars too, lovely!
3/26/08 2:23 PM
MissCelie said...
This, is a stunning an fabulous trench. That color is to die for. In fact, my friend just bought one very similar for $600 from Yansi Fugel. You my friend, are a rockstar!
3/26/08 1:37 PM
born2bead said...
Love the color and your contrasting topstitching really sets it off! Well done!
3/26/08 1:24 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is beautiful! The color is so SPRING!
3/26/08 1:24 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a great trench!!!
3/26/08 12:25 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful jacket, Lori. What a wonderful gift for your daughter. I love the color and style. Wow!
3/26/08 11:53 AM
Markie1 said...
Wow Lori, this is wonderful! Your work is inspiring, precise and fun! I want to say more, but I am getting dressed to go to Joanns to GET THAT PATTERN!!! As always, a wonderful garment brought to us by LoriV.
3/26/08 11:41 AM
Annette1 said...
What a fantastic jacket! I know your daughter has to LOVE it. The color is so unusual for a trench that it really makes it special, as does your workmanship. As for the wrinkles, I doubt SHE'LL care :o), and you can just think of them as status wrinkles, just like linen. :o) Beautiful!
3/26/08 11:17 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great-looking coat. As many others have said, I love the colors.
3/26/08 11:13 AM
pterion said...
Fabulous work (as always)!
3/26/08 10:26 AM
susinok said...
This jacket is my next project, in bright red! Thank you for your detailed review, and I LOVE the orange jacket!
3/26/08 10:22 AM
Beek said...
You're daughter's jacket is gorgeous! Perhaps you will inspire her to sew! What fun you'll have!
3/26/08 9:58 AM
tashainflorence said...
Love the contrasting topstitching, love the fabric, love the review. Thanks!
3/26/08 9:52 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful trench jacket.
3/26/08 9:45 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
GREAT jacket, very timeless and casual.
3/26/08 9:41 AM
meli88a said...
so cute! i like the color, topstitching on the buttons and belt!
3/26/08 9:07 AM
nellc said...
This is a lovely trench coat, I like the topstitching detail on the belt and covered buttons.
3/26/08 8:48 AM
Riordan said...
Very pretty trench coat! Wonderful topstitching and great detail!
3/26/08 8:41 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice! I have this pattern cut out-yes, it takes a very long time-but have not started sewing it yet. Maybe your review will get me excited enough to get going on it.
3/26/08 8:24 AM
Tiner W said...
What a fabulous trench! The topstitching is gorgeous!
3/26/08 8:16 AM
mssewcrazy said...
The coat is beautiful and the topstitching on belt and buttons is a wonderful touch.This is very inspiring!
3/26/08 8:09 AM
CarolynGM said...
Luscious color combination. Very classy looking jacket.
3/26/08 8:06 AM
squirrellypoo said...
fabulous jacket and I love your colour choices! I've got this pattern on order for myself so I'm glad to hear the instructions are so good!
3/26/08 6:46 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a great looking jacket! The extra touches look great.
3/26/08 6:08 AM
jlg said...
This looks great. You did a fabulous job.
3/26/08 5:32 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Love it! I wouldn't mind one for myself. :)
3/26/08 3:56 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great trench, love the color. Must take the plunge and make one myself.
3/26/08 3:47 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love it! thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention.
3/26/08 1:59 AM
JMarie1962 said...
What a cute, cute jacket! I have this pattern and am dying to find fabric to make it too. I like the details you've added - the turquoise button holes, the covered buttons... makes this jacket really special for your daughter :) Great review!
3/26/08 1:54 AM
morzel said...
Beautiful trench! Just what´s in fashion right now. As I eyed that pattern already, I find your details very interesting. Great work!
3/26/08 1:34 AM
Jennifer Young said...
Lori, what a beautiful coat! I like how you simplified the design (no epaulets) and will do the same on mine. Thanks for reviewing this!
3/25/08 11:30 PM
cmarie12 said...
The trench is made in a beautiful color and it is fantastic! This is a very thorough and complete review...thanks for taking the time. This pattern is on my list of to-dos so I appreciate all of the helpful information!
3/25/08 11:27 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great trench!!!
3/25/08 11:22 PM
Michelle L said...
The aqua top stitching is such a gorgeous touch! I have this pattern at home and haven't found just the right fabric for it yet. But you have inspired me to give it a shot!!
3/25/08 11:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136A

photo
by: tsedai

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now