SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 (Misses' Lined jackets/coats)

62 more reviews
Viewed 1604 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 351
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 350
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/25/08 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
The aqua top stitching is such a gorgeous touch! I have this pattern at home and haven't found just the right fabric for it yet. But you have inspired me to give it a shot!!
3/25/08 11:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great trench!!!
3/25/08 11:22 PM
cmarie12 said...
The trench is made in a beautiful color and it is fantastic! This is a very thorough and complete review...thanks for taking the time. This pattern is on my list of to-dos so I appreciate all of the helpful information!
3/25/08 11:27 PM
Jennifer Young said...
Lori, what a beautiful coat! I like how you simplified the design (no epaulets) and will do the same on mine. Thanks for reviewing this!
3/25/08 11:30 PM
morzel said...
Beautiful trench! Just whatīs in fashion right now. As I eyed that pattern already, I find your details very interesting. Great work!
3/26/08 1:34 AM
JMarie1962 said...
What a cute, cute jacket! I have this pattern and am dying to find fabric to make it too. I like the details you've added - the turquoise button holes, the covered buttons... makes this jacket really special for your daughter :) Great review!
3/26/08 1:54 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love it! thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention.
3/26/08 1:59 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great trench, love the color. Must take the plunge and make one myself.
3/26/08 3:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Love it! I wouldn't mind one for myself. :)
3/26/08 3:56 AM
jlg said...
This looks great. You did a fabulous job.
3/26/08 5:32 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a great looking jacket! The extra touches look great.
3/26/08 6:08 AM
squirrellypoo said...
fabulous jacket and I love your colour choices! I've got this pattern on order for myself so I'm glad to hear the instructions are so good!
3/26/08 6:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Luscious color combination. Very classy looking jacket.
3/26/08 8:06 AM
mssewcrazy said...
The coat is beautiful and the topstitching on belt and buttons is a wonderful touch.This is very inspiring!
3/26/08 8:09 AM
Tiner W said...
What a fabulous trench! The topstitching is gorgeous!
3/26/08 8:16 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice! I have this pattern cut out-yes, it takes a very long time-but have not started sewing it yet. Maybe your review will get me excited enough to get going on it.
3/26/08 8:24 AM
Riordan said...
Very pretty trench coat! Wonderful topstitching and great detail!
3/26/08 8:41 AM
nellc said...
This is a lovely trench coat, I like the topstitching detail on the belt and covered buttons.
3/26/08 8:48 AM
meli88a said...
so cute! i like the color, topstitching on the buttons and belt!
3/26/08 9:07 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
GREAT jacket, very timeless and casual.
3/26/08 9:41 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful trench jacket.
3/26/08 9:45 AM
tashainflorence said...
Love the contrasting topstitching, love the fabric, love the review. Thanks!
3/26/08 9:52 AM
Beek said...
You're daughter's jacket is gorgeous! Perhaps you will inspire her to sew! What fun you'll have!
3/26/08 9:58 AM
susinok said...
This jacket is my next project, in bright red! Thank you for your detailed review, and I LOVE the orange jacket!
3/26/08 10:22 AM
pterion said...
Fabulous work (as always)!
3/26/08 10:26 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great-looking coat. As many others have said, I love the colors.
3/26/08 11:13 AM
Annette1 said...
What a fantastic jacket! I know your daughter has to LOVE it. The color is so unusual for a trench that it really makes it special, as does your workmanship. As for the wrinkles, I doubt SHE'LL care :o), and you can just think of them as status wrinkles, just like linen. :o) Beautiful!
3/26/08 11:17 AM
Markie1 said...
Wow Lori, this is wonderful! Your work is inspiring, precise and fun! I want to say more, but I am getting dressed to go to Joanns to GET THAT PATTERN!!! As always, a wonderful garment brought to us by LoriV.
3/26/08 11:41 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful jacket, Lori. What a wonderful gift for your daughter. I love the color and style. Wow!
3/26/08 11:53 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a great trench!!!
3/26/08 12:25 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is beautiful! The color is so SPRING!
3/26/08 1:24 PM
born2bead said...
Love the color and your contrasting topstitching really sets it off! Well done!
3/26/08 1:24 PM
MissCelie said...
This, is a stunning an fabulous trench. That color is to die for. In fact, my friend just bought one very similar for $600 from Yansi Fugel. You my friend, are a rockstar!
3/26/08 1:37 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow! What a lucky daughter she is! I LOVE your choice of aqua topstitching on orange colour, only experience sewers can chose and use that! I personally would love this jacket with wrinkle effect and hope your daughter like it in that way? And beautiful collars too, lovely!
3/26/08 2:23 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great trench - love the colors!
3/26/08 3:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It looks great, Lori!
3/26/08 7:13 PM
EveS said...
I just love the colors, Lori! Such bold topstitching requires perfection and you've definitely pulled it off...thanks for the inspiration!
3/26/08 8:29 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful trench coat Lori!
3/26/08 11:09 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a smashing trench for your daughter, Lori! Love the colors, love the details ... well, just love it. It has such panache and attitude; just perfect for an 18yr old daughter. -Lily
3/27/08 12:48 PM
CynthiaSue said...
burberry trench! love the color. great job.
3/28/08 6:23 PM
Lori V said...
Thank you all for the very kind comments. I appreciate it so much.
3/29/08 0:39 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I am interested in making this for my daughter in a fun color. Maybe one for me too!
3/29/08 11:44 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful trench! Thank you for the extra tips like binding the edge of the front facing, I'll make a note of it! So Pretty!
4/5/08 10:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
brerrabbit.com 5919

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now