SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lazy Girl Designs> 211 (Wonder Wallet)

15 more reviews
Viewed 878 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/08 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
This is the first review I've written with clickable links, and it was a bit of a challenge to get all the photos and links uploaded correctly. But after a dozen edits, I think everything's been fixed.
3/27/08 1:31 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I love that you used Ultrasuede for your Wonder Wallet. It looks wonderful and yes, it's great to daily use something you made with your own hands. Don't fill it with TOO many credit cards, or you'll be so broke, your next one will have be made with recycled cotton. Fabulous little bag; I love it. -Lily
3/27/08 3:54 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a convenient, sweet little wallet, Nancy! It must feel good to pull it out when you need it and know that you made such a beautiful handy thing yourself. This is a VERY thorough review--you've covered ALL the pluses and minuses. Love your label--thanks for all the informative links! Carla
3/27/08 9:38 PM
Pam Z said...
Thanks for the very helpful review. I appreciate your links to fabric & notion sources.
3/27/08 9:55 PM
Peggym said...

3/28/08 8:03 AM
Peggym said...
What an excellent review. Thanks. Love your wallet.
3/28/08 8:04 AM
Stitchcakes said...
This wallet is new to me, so thanks for reviewing! My husband just gave me a nylon bag last night to recycle, and a wallet would be perfect....
3/28/08 10:09 AM
Shoshana said...
I have made many of these for friends and family. I was annoyed by round corners and square corners on the same item. I decided to make the outer flap from two pieces of material and round the corners to match the bottom corners. I am much happier with the look.
3/28/08 11:35 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for all your kind comments, and I'm very glad you found the links useful. As far as the corners go, I'm really a squared corner kind of gal...LOL. The next time I make this wallet I'm going to try to fan or bell out the pattern in some way at the corners to see if the extra space yields a 90 degree angle. I didn't include this idea in my review because I doubt it will work. After all, if it were this simple, the person who designed the pattern would have figured it out. But I do plan to try my whacky idea and will let you know how it turns out.
3/28/08 12:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your cute little wallet!! Thanks for the tip on where to buy the Ultrasuede. I have been wanting to make a smaller wallet out of Ultrasuede for years!
3/28/08 10:52 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nancy -- So glad to see you CAN sew through 10 thicknesses of ultrasuede and make it look this good, not being a fan of bags, wallets, or purses made from quilting cotton, though they are easier to stitch, no doubt. I'm going to try it! Might add a clear vinyl pocket on the outside, similar to a zippered purse I made from an internet pattern--Like you, I think it's fun to experiment. Also, thanks for the link to Heirloom Labels -- Just what I've been looking for.
6/1/10 3:31 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
This is a great review!
4/2/11 2:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Manequim Magazine 04-2012-216

photo
by: evyline

Review
Other Dressmaker's Guide

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now