SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2007-4 (Flared Skirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews: 113 (patterns: 103)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 227 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/08 7:11 AM
Last Updated:3/27/08 7:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Matilda_z said... (3/15/10 2:23 PM) Reply
Wonderful review and very helpful. I really like the changes you made to the pattern: zipper placement, ribbon, and less flare. You made the pattern you own, which is what it's all about, isn't it? Thank you!
Roxxygrl said... (5/1/08 3:45 AM) Reply
Beautiful fabric and construction. I am thinking this magazine is going to have to go in my wishlist very soon. Thanks for the review.
OP Gal said... (3/28/08 5:11 AM) Reply
Pretty skirt. I love the ribbon on the hem. I'll have to remember that detail and try it on a skirt. It probably wouldn't work on a skirt that was too flared--better with a straighter hem, I'd guess.
Annette1 said... (3/28/08 0:14 AM) Reply
This is just as cute as it can be. It makes me happy just looking at it. :o) Your work is flawless, as usual.
CarolynGM said... (3/27/08 8:13 PM) Reply
Gorgeous fabric for a beautifully made skirt. Well done!
Heatherrique said... (3/27/08 4:40 PM) Reply
Groovy skirt and wonderfully constructed!
sewsue said... (3/27/08 3:59 PM) Reply
Nice skirt, and thansk for the detailed review.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/27/08 3:28 PM) Reply
Any time I see a garment in the Review Gallery with this colorway, I always think, "I'll bet that's Belinda's." And so it was! You own this colorway, and each shade of it is too flattering to your coloring. Love what you've done to the skirt w/the ribbon; I'm a rectangle on lower body and this style skirt works well on me, too. Beautiful addition to your wardrobe. -Lily
pterion said... (3/27/08 11:11 AM) Reply
Beautiful skirt, Belinda. I'm going to steal your idea for the waist finish if I make this one, as I tried petersham for one of OW's other skirt patterns and didn't care for it.
wvsher said... (3/27/08 11:06 AM) Reply
Your skirt looks great; love the fabric. The ribbon placement the pattern suggests doesn't even look good on the model! lol Your placement is much better.
Grammy Gin said... (3/27/08 10:19 AM) Reply
Very lovely skirt. Good review, too! Looks so summery & fresh! ; )
Stephenie said... (3/27/08 9:44 AM) Reply
I really like this skirt. I find the contour waists to be more flattering for my body type. Thanks for the very informative review!!
Nancywin said... (3/27/08 9:31 AM) Reply
very pretty!
gatorgirl4325 said... (3/27/08 9:17 AM) Reply
I love this skirt - the fabric is just perfect!
Debbie Cook said... (3/27/08 8:50 AM) Reply
Love, love this fabric! The skirt is very cute too. ;-)
Beek said... (3/27/08 8:06 AM) Reply
Very creative touch by relocating the ribbon trim to the hemline. I have always loved skirts with those wide yokes. So flattering!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

StyleArc Trixi Knit Wrap Dress

photo
by: DD1104

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Pattern Details
Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details