Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-103 (Knit Twist front dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 793 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:twinks99
photo
Friend of PR
About twinks99star
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/08 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/31/08 1:43 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow 1/2 a day? - great job and very brave to choose this unusual pattern as your first BWOF! I love this pattern and I love your version, I'm still deciding if it would work on me, but I think for 1/2 a days work I should just try a quick muslin.
3/31/08 4:00 AM
Lori V said...
Your dress looks wonderful.
3/31/08 5:06 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, I can't believe you don't love this version!! This was the dress that made me buy this issue, but I haven't yet made it up. Your version is pushing me over the edge...
3/31/08 6:22 AM
lmg said...
Wow, this looks great! How wide is that collar on you?
3/31/08 7:35 AM
Vivienne said...
I can't beleive that's a muslin! Way too cute to be a muslin. I'm very intruiged by the bright yellow version.
3/31/08 9:05 AM
michellep74 said...
Great-looking dress! I actually really like the red and black fabric--it looks a lot nicer than what you'd typically find at JoAnn's. Congrats on your first BWOF!
3/31/08 11:55 AM
causticmuse said...
Hurray! Congrats on finishing your first BWOF project. Now I feel like my Xmas subscription present to you wasn't wasted. ;)

Great job on the wearable muslin! I think it turned out VERY well.
3/31/08 5:00 PM

twinks99 said...

3/31/08 5:11 PM
twinks99 said...
squirrellypoo, I LOVED this dress from the minute I clapped eyes on it in the magazine...but I want it in a loud/bright spring color! The red/black was the cheapest knit I could find to mock it up in, and I figured it would be bonus if I wore it. =) Allie, the actual sewing was only about a 1/2 day, including my screw up, and trying to figure out the drape. I was much slower on the initial pattern tracing/ cutting/marking since this was my first BWOF. I still think this one is doable start to finish if in a full day. lmg, My knit was pretty stretchy, and I lightly stretched the collar as I was serging it too. I can pull it off one shoulder (though the other side rides up), similar to the photo in the magazine. caustic, thanks again for the subscription!
3/31/08 5:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a gorgeous dress that would make a super impact! Wonderfully crafted!
4/1/08 12:18 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Striking dress, twinks, and you've sewn it beautifully. I do like the fabric and hope you'll wear it at least once, before you make up all your preferred versions. I think this would be quite flattering on you. Now that you have BWOF, the sky's the limit. Lovely, Lily
4/1/08 12:18 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I second the 'oh, just wear it' crew :-). Won't keep you from wearing it in some loud color too. You're quite right about the twist being in the right place for pooch camouflage, and I adore the neckline. Looks really fabulous.
4/2/08 2:04 AM
carolineG said...
Looks beautiful! I hope you wear it, and do post if you make another...
4/14/08 1:45 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Amazing dress. And I love that fabric too.
7/17/08 2:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 7607
photo
Review by yummymummy... on 7/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Melly & Me
photo
Review by Stacy Sews on 4/10/09
Read Review

Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us