SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-103 (Knit Twist front dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 796 times 
Reviewed by:twinks99
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About twinks99star
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/08 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/31/08 1:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow 1/2 a day? - great job and very brave to choose this unusual pattern as your first BWOF! I love this pattern and I love your version, I'm still deciding if it would work on me, but I think for 1/2 a days work I should just try a quick muslin.
3/31/08 4:00 AM
Lori V said...
Your dress looks wonderful.
3/31/08 5:06 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, I can't believe you don't love this version!! This was the dress that made me buy this issue, but I haven't yet made it up. Your version is pushing me over the edge...
3/31/08 6:22 AM
lmg said...
Wow, this looks great! How wide is that collar on you?
3/31/08 7:35 AM
Vivienne said...
I can't beleive that's a muslin! Way too cute to be a muslin. I'm very intruiged by the bright yellow version.
3/31/08 9:05 AM
michellep74 said...
Great-looking dress! I actually really like the red and black fabric--it looks a lot nicer than what you'd typically find at JoAnn's. Congrats on your first BWOF!
3/31/08 11:55 AM
causticmuse said...
Hurray! Congrats on finishing your first BWOF project. Now I feel like my Xmas subscription present to you wasn't wasted. ;)

Great job on the wearable muslin! I think it turned out VERY well.
3/31/08 5:00 PM

twinks99 said...

3/31/08 5:11 PM
twinks99 said...
squirrellypoo, I LOVED this dress from the minute I clapped eyes on it in the magazine...but I want it in a loud/bright spring color! The red/black was the cheapest knit I could find to mock it up in, and I figured it would be bonus if I wore it. =) Allie, the actual sewing was only about a 1/2 day, including my screw up, and trying to figure out the drape. I was much slower on the initial pattern tracing/ cutting/marking since this was my first BWOF. I still think this one is doable start to finish if in a full day. lmg, My knit was pretty stretchy, and I lightly stretched the collar as I was serging it too. I can pull it off one shoulder (though the other side rides up), similar to the photo in the magazine. caustic, thanks again for the subscription!
3/31/08 5:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a gorgeous dress that would make a super impact! Wonderfully crafted!
4/1/08 12:18 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Striking dress, twinks, and you've sewn it beautifully. I do like the fabric and hope you'll wear it at least once, before you make up all your preferred versions. I think this would be quite flattering on you. Now that you have BWOF, the sky's the limit. Lovely, Lily
4/1/08 12:18 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I second the 'oh, just wear it' crew :-). Won't keep you from wearing it in some loud color too. You're quite right about the twist being in the right place for pooch camouflage, and I adore the neckline. Looks really fabulous.
4/2/08 2:04 AM
carolineG said...
Looks beautiful! I hope you wear it, and do post if you make another...
4/14/08 1:45 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Amazing dress. And I love that fabric too.
7/17/08 2:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now