SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3385 

13 more reviews
Viewed 726 times 
Reviewed by:avancleve
photo

 
 
About avanclevestar
AZ USA
Member since: 7/11/07
Reviews written: 17
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 1:03 PM
Last Updated:4/1/08 1:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
It looks like this pattern is for a woven. It sounds like you used a knit. When I use a knit for a woven pattern, I usually size down several sizes because the knit is so much stretchier. You may want to try it again with the smallest size in the envelope.
4/1/08 1:18 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You ended up with a very cute top! I've had this pattern in my cupboard for ages, but have never made it. Good to know there's added ease for wovens (or in your case, too much for 2-way stretch). Thanks for your review on this top.
4/1/08 2:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Adding the elastic to the front and gathering it a bit greatly improved the fit of the front and took nothing away from the style. With your adjustments, this top looks very cute on you. -Lily
4/1/08 3:19 PM
wvsher said...
Yes, patterns for wovens are sized differently than patterns for knits, so the issue may not be the pattern, though I see the pattern did not work for a couple of other reviewers as well. I can see why you used a knit, as the style seems to cry out for one. In any case, you ended up with a smashing looking top despite the difficulties! Thanks for the review.
4/1/08 4:23 PM
EveS said...
I love your top...a great summery look! Great save!
4/1/08 4:29 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Like your top. It fits well and the fabric makes it unique.
4/2/08 8:44 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great looking top - I love the printed fabric with this look.
4/11/08 9:15 PM
JTink said...
You ended up with a nice look. Yep the fabric is what caused your problems. I just finished this in a cotton. Because I wanted it longer and loose in the hips, I had to allow. I also had to make adjustments in the armhole and neck line(neck to big, arm too tight). I have to make a lot of adjustments to most of my patterns, so none of this was unusual for me. It turned out to be a good pattern to work with. One other thing, I didn't add the tie back strings(at age 53, I feel they are a bit young). I just made some small darts in the back of the pattern to take in the fullness.
5/22/08 11:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6208

photo
by: Clareew

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 244038-1005

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review