Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6609 (Wardrobe Pattern) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1434 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/08 10:59 PM
Last Updated:1/17/10 5:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Pants    Skirts    Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Sherrill, this is a very beautiful, reversible jacket. You've used both of my favorites colors for Summer, and your alterations provide a marvelous fit. Thanks so much for reference to K Fasanella's reversible bagging technique. Absolutely lovely, Lily
4/1/08 11:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a fabulous jacket, great colours and love the reversability. Thanks so much for this review all the tips are so helpful
4/1/08 11:30 PM
Laurasews said...
I think you have a great outfit. I would be very pleased with the fit...much better that you could get from RTW.
4/1/08 11:38 PM
moushka said...
Sherrill, Fantastic looking outfit on you. Black and white are so "your colours," you lucky Winter. I like the length on you with the sleeves turned up. The whole outfit looks very classic and chic. Wear it with pride. Sue
4/1/08 11:46 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the shape of the jacket and the colors. The brown and green together is just gorgeous. It's just genius that the jacket is reversible! It fits so well and the colors look wonderful on you. It's a beautiful spring ensemble. Thanks for the review. I'm going to be thinking about reversible garments now, I just know it.
4/1/08 11:48 PM
SueV said...
Very nice! Love the color!
4/2/08 0:19 AM
Patti B said...
Nicely done, Sherril. It looks very nice on you and reminds me of a favorite saying, "Don't throw away the good in search of the perfect." Isn't it the puzzle solving aspect of sewing that keeps us sewing?
4/2/08 0:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
Congratulations on bagging the lining! You did a great job because the jacket looks wonderful! It's so pretty and summery, and it looks great on you!
4/2/08 0:29 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket! I absolutely love both sides of this--that shade of green is one of my favorite colors! Wear it with the sleeves folded up--it looks great with the contrast showing off.
4/2/08 0:45 AM
Annette1 said...
Sherril, this is just lovely, both sides. I'm having trouble deciding which side I like the best. :o) I love that, with your expert fitting techniques, you have a jacket that looks to be very comfortable yet not sloppy. I hate sloppy. :o) I really think you've found yourself a new TNT here! (You sure do have pretty hair.) I know what you mean about shoulder pads for a reversible garment. I did finally run across a really wimpy pair somewhere along the line that I was eyeing, thinking it might work in a reversible garment. I haven't actually tried it yet though. They were so flat and unshapely, I thought it just migiht be a possibility. On the other hand, they were so flat and unshapely, I wasn't sure it would make much difference anyway. :o( At any rate, thanks fo rthe great review! My machine goes into the shop tomorrow, and I'm already breaking out into hives, so your review was a nice diversion for me -- ha!
4/2/08 2:02 AM
Athene said...
You look lovely in your outfit. The reversible jacket is beautiful and you will be able to get so much wear out of it this summer.
4/2/08 2:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice reversible jacket.
4/2/08 5:24 AM
Linda G said...
Very interesting with the reversible jacket. You will get a lot of wear out of this outfit.
4/2/08 6:08 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great idea to make this reversible and you did a wonderful job doing so. I love the green side since green is my favorite color, but the white is very summery and fresh looking too. I think the fit is great so stop complaining. (Kidding!!!) :)
4/2/08 6:33 AM
carolynw said...
Thjis is absolutely lovely and I have to disagree with you re the length - it is dead spot on! I just love the finished garment and may try a reversible soon - as far as shoulder pads - I think it's either the Sewing Place or CJ Patterns that has some you attach to your bra strap - have never seen/tried them but they may work or you may be able to make them yourself.
4/2/08 8:56 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You look great--sleek and sophisticated!
4/2/08 9:04 AM
cecelia said...
Sherril, the jacket looks terrific--nice job. Did you know Palmer/Pletsch have a new FBA? I saw it in Spring 2008 "Sewing Today." They call it the "Y" FBA, but your pivot/slide seems to have worked well for you.
4/2/08 9:38 AM
mastdenman said...
Cute outfit. You look great in it.
4/2/08 9:41 AM
Irene Q said...
What a great jacket - or should I say jackets! :-) You're going to be wearing this all time. I know it's frustrating to have to start from scratch with all your alterations after losing weight, but this came out wonderful! Two years ago you would have thought it was perfect. :-)
4/2/08 11:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I think you're being too picky about the fit! Love both sides of this, and I'll go on the record to say I think the length is fine - and both colors are so flattering!
4/2/08 11:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking jacket!
4/2/08 11:38 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sherrill - this is fantastic! I love that its reversible. I love the colors you choose and I love how it looks on you! Simply fantastic!
4/2/08 12:49 PM
Stephenie said...
Your jacket looks great! It completes the outfit. What a great idea, to make it reversible!
4/2/08 2:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful jacket Sherril - I really like both sides, and the colors look fabulous on you!
4/2/08 3:15 PM
Larkin said...
Thanks for all the detail on this review - your jacket looks wonderful!
4/2/08 8:01 PM
jhansby said...
great jacket & outfit!
4/2/08 11:32 PM
merry-one said...
Your outfit looks wonderful. I like the combination of patterns, sleek but fun.
4/3/08 5:35 PM
AnneM said...
Love the jacket! It was worth your patience.
7/19/08 7:44 PM
Andreahg said...
Is the print jacket a new one? I love both versions of this jacket!
1/17/10 6:47 PM
sewing for fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous print jacket. I did not see the fit problems you mentioned, but I know how critical the sewer's eye can be :)
1/17/10 7:27 PM
Christas said...
This is a beautiful jacket and it looks great on you! I am enjoying your sewing projects so much.
1/17/10 7:57 PM
4u2cme said...
Very nice.
1/18/10 1:58 AM
moonchild61 said...
Great jackets; they look nice on you!
1/19/10 6:57 PM
nothy lane said...
This cardigan is beautiful on you! I love when my UFOs work out...
2/16/14 9:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us